Mach 1 cold air kits - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-16-2012, 10:18 AM   #1
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Mach 1 cold air kits

I have a JLT cold kit that came with the car when purchased. This kit does not include the shaker in the system. I've been thinking about this since I bought the car, how can this JLT kit provide cooler air than the stock setup that includes the shaker? I still have the original setup and plan to switch back to see what I can see. I need to get a stock air filter. What do you guys think? Yeah, there might be more horsepower on the dyno, but that would not include air flowing in the shaker as you move forward. That would surely account for more cold air in the system.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2012, 10:34 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
Re: Mach 1 cold air kits

the stock system is just basically a way of getting colder air into the intake

the air has to come in prep MAF so its metered, the JLT wont do this and it makes more power anyway so thats why it doesnt use the stock intake setup, it wont help hp/tq anyway. There is no RAM air effect from the factory, its just cooler air~ the JLT that goes in the fender will do the same thing, the one that stays in the engine bay will be a bit warmer but with the shield it wont be a huge difference. The end result will be more power with the JLT anyway. Just do not have any air post metering.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 10:47 AM   #3
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV
the stock system is just basically a way of getting colder air into the intake

the air has to come in prep MAF so its metered, the JLT wont do this and it makes more power anyway so thats why it doesnt use the stock intake setup, it wont help hp/tq anyway. There is no RAM air effect from the factory, its just cooler air~ the JLT that goes in the fender will do the same thing, the one that stays in the engine bay will be a bit warmer but with the shield it wont be a huge difference. The end result will be more power with the JLT anyway. Just do not have any air post metering.
Looks like its the same MAF, its just moved out of the engine compartment and closer to the filter in the fender. Its a B to get too Gotta unplug it and twist it around to get out of the fender. They did not use the screen from the original setup that set in front of the MAF. You think JLT had its own screen. The only difference I can see is maybe the JLT has a slightly larger diameter and straight shot to the intake than the factory setup. I know it's not Ram air, but you'll be moving so the air should be much colder than in the fender, right.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-16-2012, 12:26 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
stampde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manalapan
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 1,880
Re: Mach 1 cold air kits

i have the JLT Mach 1 specific kit that uses the shaker , I think they offered it both ways ....
__________________
2011 GT Auto
stampde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:09 PM   #5
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by stampde
i have the JLT Mach 1 specific kit that uses the shaker , I think they offered it both ways ....
Yup, I saw that on the web after seeing you're post. I may try the one that uses the shaker. I see they have a cheaper setup that replaces the stock box with their shield to connect your shaker. Thanks for the tip. I'm gonna install the stock setup in my car tonight and drive it for a few days and see if I can tell the difference.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 11:49 AM   #6
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Re: Mach 1 cold air kits

Switched back to the stock intake setup that uses the shaker hood. I went ahead and bought a new K&N filter for the stock setup. So far, I can't tell the difference between the JLT that doesn't use the shaker and the stock setup w/K&N filter. I'm not hating on CAI's, just really want to use the shaker hood so its not just "sitting there" when I open up the hood. I'll probably look into the new JLT setups for Mach's stampde mentioned.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 01:25 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
Switched back to the stock intake setup that uses the shaker hood. I went ahead and bought a new K&N filter for the stock setup. So far, I can't tell the difference between the JLT that doesn't use the shaker and the stock setup w/K&N filter. I'm not hating on CAI's, just really want to use the shaker hood so its not just "sitting there" when I open up the hood. I'll probably look into the new JLT setups for Mach's stampde mentioned.
I'm not positive but you may be able to just cut the current jlt and use the k&n filter. the shaker is mostly for looks and the shield hole for the shaker inlet does not hold well. I wish I could use a strut bar with the jlt tho...
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:13 AM   #8
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Well, decided to switch back to see if I could tell the difference. I guess I was a little too sporty with it cause I broke the pipe! It looks like it is basically PVC and the elbow was just glued butt to butt. I figured it would have been fused by some heat method. Should I try and glue it back together or lump it? Looks like I'll need to repaint it if I do repair it.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:21 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mezmer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Kansas
Posts: 230
Re: Mach 1 cold air kits

The shaker is only in use when you are going 70 MPH and over. But, I understand the reason you want the shaker to actually be used. I bought the JLT intake that used the shaker for my 04 Mach 1.
__________________
2004 Mustang Mach 1 - SY
Exhaust - Wanna be Flomasters...
JLT Ram Air Intake
SR Performance Short Throw Shifter
Mezmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mezmer
The shaker is only in use when you are going 70 MPH and over. But, I understand the reason you want the shaker to actually be used. I bought the JLT intake that used the shaker for my 04 Mach 1.
I don't think you need that much speed for it to generate decent airflow. I have seen a custom vortech blower and the shaker was redirected to pass more cool air over the intercooler. He gained ~20rw hp on the dyno on a heat soaked run vs heat soaked with a high speed fan blowing into the shaker which was cooling the intercooler. Cool idea! Literally...
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 06:42 PM   #11
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mezmer
The shaker is only in use when you are going 70 MPH and over. But, I understand the reason you want the shaker to actually be used. I bought the JLT intake that used the shaker for my 04 Mach 1.
My throttle response has been pretty sorry and I'm wondering if it was removing the JLT kit or something else. I rarely forget, but yesterday I got out of the whole and as soon as I put it in 2nd and hit the gas it bogged down to nearly a stop. Usually, you'll hear it whimper a bit to keep it from chirping the tires. I'm getting worried I have something else going on. Do you believe switching back to the stock intake setup could make that much of a difference?
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 07:52 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

My throttle response has been pretty sorry and I'm wondering if it was removing the JLT kit or something else. I rarely forget, but yesterday I got out of the whole and as soon as I put it in 2nd and hit the gas it bogged down to nearly a stop. Usually, you'll hear it whimper a bit to keep it from chirping the tires. I'm getting worried I have something else going on. Do you believe switching back to the stock intake setup could make that much of a difference?
Do you have a tune?? The jlt benefits from a few more degrees of timing. My mach never bogs in second. From 1200 rpm up it pulls hard. On quick shifts the car hits really hard. Blows the tires off and in no time I'm grabbing 3rd.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 08:09 PM   #13
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude

Do you have a tune?? The jlt benefits from a few more degrees of timing. My mach never bogs in second. From 1200 rpm up it pulls hard. On quick shifts the car hits really hard. Blows the tires off and in no time I'm grabbing 3rd.
When I bought it, they told me it did. The last mustang I had was an 87 GT, so at the time, I thought it was just something for the gear change. I don't have a tuner yet either.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 08:12 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

When I bought it, they told me it did. The last mustang I had was an 87 GT, so at the time, I thought it was just something for the gear change. I don't have a tuner yet either.
I gotta recommend a tuner. Really sharpens up these engines.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 08:18 PM   #15
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Re: Mach 1 cold air kits

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude View Post
I gotta recommend a tuner. Really sharpens up these engines.
Hopefully I can tune without the old JLT setup. You can see above that it died a horrible death (by me).
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 08:48 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Yeah I saw that. If you van you could try modifying it to something similar to the ram air kit. Its all just pvc.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 08:52 PM   #17
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Re: Mach 1 cold air kits

I've been thinking about it the past few days. If I can find a rubber clamp fitting similar to what is used for these kits that will fit 4" PVC, I should be able to fit the broken parts together. I don't trust re-glueing it. If it broke while I was driving and dind't know it, that mightily.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 12:04 AM   #18
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude
Yeah I saw that. If you van you could try modifying it to something similar to the ram air kit. Its all just pvc.
Okay, got something to hold it together temporarily. See how far this thing is down into the wheel well? Wondered if your was like that? Hopefully this will hold till I get a new kit.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 04:56 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Okay, got something to hold it together temporarily. See how far this thing is down into the wheel well? Wondered if your was like that? Hopefully this will hold till I get a new kit.
Yeah I dont like that at all... mine is all contained under the hood. I cringe to think about a big puddle or something. Here's the jlt ram air I have. And yes that filter is like 12" long. Its a beast.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20120507_035630.png
Views:	440
Size:	475.2 KB
ID:	49487  
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 07:49 AM   #20
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude

Yeah I dont like that at all... mine is all contained under the hood. I cringe to think about a big puddle or something. Here's the jlt ram air I have. And yes that filter is like 12" long. Its a beast.
Ya know, it's funny that was one of the reasons I switched back to the stock setup. I lived with the way she was running but I just had to know it the reason was because of switching back to the stock setup. I took her out for a test drive after the install. Sure seems like it's running better. I got on it from a stop with the traction control on and she didnt bog down like that last time. I'll have to see over the next few days. I didn't drive her into to work this morning cause of the threat of t-storms & rain.

Decided I'm gonna get a tuner this summer and push back the short shift until a later time. Seems like a much better idea to assume its not tuned. Thanks for the input!
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2012, 11:19 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Yeah the tuner is a great investment and I love it. Its really useful for a lot of stuff. I love my steeda short throw. Its a great mod too. Easy to do as well...
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 10:14 AM   #22
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
So far, seems like the factory air intake setup was causing the engine to bog. I'm not sure why. I could see it not being as responsive, but bogging down is something different. I'll keep an eye on it in case it's something else.

Appreciate your input DaBlueDude.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2012, 11:33 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
So far, seems like the factory air intake setup was causing the engine to bog. I'm not sure why. I could see it not being as responsive, but bogging down is something different. I'll keep an eye on it in case it's something else.

Appreciate your input DaBlueDude.
Yeah. My car never bogs down. It could be that you need to clean your maf, iac, and pvc valves and check for a vaccume issue. The throttle position sensor on the throttoe body could also be the culprit. When was the last time you had your spark plugs changed? The plugs are SUPER easy on these 4v cars. Took me no more than 20 mins for the whole job yesterday! Beyond that I would say make sure your fuel delivery is good including a new fuel filter, check the injectors (and make sure the epectrical connectors to the injectors are making good contact) in case they are getting clogged aand if that all checks out get the pressure tested to make sure the pump is good. Only other thing would be an exhaust issue. If the car was tuned and the o2 sensors were shut off then you may have clogged cats that are starting to hurt performance.

Beyond all that... I dunno. The intake tube really should not make that much of a difference. It crisped my throttle reaponse up and cleaned up the engine bay and got me a giant filter for underhood, but it made very little difference in terms of power. Mayb 5-10 but nothing you can feel. But easier flowing is good for mileage. I will be opening my exhaust up this summer and I expect that I will gain a couple more mpg on the highway. Currently I'm got 30.3mpg on my last tank of gas [ 80%highway @110-130kph(70-85 ish) 15% city (fairly agressive) and 5% canyon carving/ripping hard on it. ] so I can't complain at all.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 01:50 PM   #24
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Ordered a new cold air kit Thursday. Just don't feel comfortable with the older JLT kit that has the filter really low inside the fender. Being a daily driver, I can't take any chances with rain & puddles, etc. Also, that rubber PVC fitting holding the two broken pieces together is not gonna last forever.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:51 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Kinda jealous. I have the older jlt kit. I wonder if the new cai will allow someone to use a strut bar. Hmmmmm
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:56 PM   #26
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude
Kinda jealous. I have the older jlt kit. I wonder if the new cai will allow someone to use a strut bar. Hmmmmm
I think it said will not work with "most" strut tower braces. It seemed like it dropped down more like the stock setup than my current setup. I'd be helpful if maybe they would list some strut bars it was compatible with.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:08 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
DaBluedude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,996
Yeah. My old mustang had an awesome strut tower bar and I miss it alot. If the new kit allows a strut bar I will be getting the new jlt rai. I want a strut bar to connect to the firewall too. It will make a huge difference on turn in. I'm kinda excited now haha. If you find a couple strut bars that do fit let me know. Id love the steeda one.
__________________
2003 Mach 1
DaBluedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 08:09 PM   #28
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBluedude
Yeah. My old mustang had an awesome strut tower bar and I miss it alot. If the new kit allows a strut bar I will be getting the new jlt rai. I want a strut bar to connect to the firewall too. It will make a huge difference on turn in. I'm kinda excited now haha. If you find a couple strut bars that do fit let me know. Id love the steeda one.
Right on
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:51 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.