Mach1 questions - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-29-2012, 12:24 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxwilly387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 80
Mach1 questions

Anybody know if throttle bodie and bigger maf on mach1 would be any good? I know a lot of people said dont waste the money on my old gt when it was stock but heard mach1 with the 32v it helps with a tune. Just wanting alittle more info from people who deal with these a lot. Thanks any info is much aprectiated
Mxwilly387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2012, 02:44 PM   #2
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
IMO it would help only if you had headers and an off road mid pipe setup. You'd definitely need a tune and possibly larger injectors. You need the exhaust upgrades because you'll be bringing in more air. I think this would be such a minimal gain for the cost. Plus, I hear the stock MAF is good up to ~400HP, but I don't know the exact HP limit.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 06:57 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxwilly387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure
IMO it would help only if you had headers and an off road mid pipe setup. You'd definitely need a tune and possibly larger injectors. You need the exhaust upgrades because you'll be bringing in more air. I think this would be such a minimal gain for the cost. Plus, I hear the stock MAF is good up to ~400HP, but I don't know the exact HP limit.
I'm just lacking headwrs on that, I have magnaflow from manifold back now. Sounds good, you think headers would make a good difference in sound and performance? I'm sure not much on performance cause you can't really feel 5hp or whatever it is
Mxwilly387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2012, 07:11 PM   #4
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mxwilly387 View Post

I'm just lacking headwrs on that, I have magnaflow from manifold back now. Sounds good, you think headers would make a good difference in sound and performance? I'm sure not much on performance cause you can't really feel 5hp or whatever it is
From what most people have said, it's worth the trouble unless you install long tube headers. Unfortunately for you is you would have to get a new mid pipe setup that fits long tubes. I still have stock manifolds and have never installed headers, so I couldn't say how hard it is. It looks like it's a PITA, lol. Nah, I don't think you can feel 5hp. I think with you'd feel the low end grunt from long tubes though.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxwilly387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

From what most people have said, it's worth the trouble unless you install long tube headers. Unfortunately for you is you would have to get a new mid pipe setup that fits long tubes. I still have stock manifolds and have never installed headers, so I couldn't say how hard it is. It looks like it's a PITA, lol. Nah, I don't think you can feel 5hp. I think with you'd feel the low end grunt from long tubes though.
I may hold off on that stuff for now just focused on getting motor back together but thanks for the info for sure. Would you are anybody else know a link for the main bolt kit for my 03 Mach 1 preferably ARP. I know it's like 30 bolts or something but I havnt had any luck finding anything I don't want to stud it
Mxwilly387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:24 PM   #6
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mxwilly387 View Post
I may hold off on that stuff for now just focused on getting motor back together but thanks for the info for sure. Would you are anybody else know a link for the main bolt kit for my 03 Mach 1 preferably ARP. I know it's like 30 bolts or something but I havnt had any luck finding anything I don't want to stud it
Ain't studding it the best? I mean if your at that point and your waiting to get a kit, maybe go ahead and get the best? Here is some ARP stud kits for a 4 bolt setup. I think that's what the Mach 4.6L 4v's are.

http://www.summitracing.com/search/P...?Ns=Rank%7cAsc
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:37 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxwilly387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

Ain't studding it the best? I mean if your at that point and your waiting to get a kit, maybe go ahead and get the best? Here is some ARP stud kits for a 4 bolt setup. I think that's what the Mach 4.6L 4v's are.

http://www.summitracing.com/search/P...?Ns=Rank%7cAsc
Which kit do I need both? Top or bottom

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-313268251.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	257.7 KB
ID:	70559
Mxwilly387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:26 PM   #8
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mxwilly387 View Post

Which kit do I need both? Top or bottom
I think I would call them up when your ready to order. They should be able to tell you what you'll need. You may not need everything that comes with the more expensive kit. Also, to confirm with them, that the kit is indeed for the DOHC engine. I wish I could tell you myself, I just don't know for sure.
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:31 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mxwilly387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azure

I think I would call them up when your ready to order. They should be able to tell you what you'll need. You may not need everything that comes with the more expensive kit. Also, to confirm with them, that the kit is indeed for the DOHC engine. I wish I could tell you myself, I just don't know for sure.
Thanks a lot boss. And I'd rather you be honest then give me the run around and I pay for useless stuff lol.
Mxwilly387 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:09 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
MachMan1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 366
Adding say a accufab twin throttle body, with a jlt rai, or a cai whichever you prefer, with a tune and you will see nice gains in throttle response.
MachMan1017 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:56 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.