Building a 1970 fastback mustang? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-15-2010, 09:30 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Building a 1970 fastback mustang?

Hi, This winter I would like to restore a 1970 fastback mustang. My grandfather bought all the parts, the body, tires, everything, but then he got sick with Gillian-Berre Syndrome and passed away before he was able to begin working on it. I would like to do this as a tribute to him, and also because I know he would be proud of me if I finished it for him.

The trouble is, I have never built a car before. I have helped repair a car, but never built one from scratch, but I think that since it's a 1970, and therefore non-computerized, I would have an easier time trying to figure it out.

If you've ever built one of these before, was it difficult? And seeing as I'm not too knowledgeable in the car repair department, what manual would you suggest to be the easiest to understand? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Arend is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-15-2010, 09:48 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

If you go to http://www.texasmustang.com or http://www.vamustang.com you'll find copies of the original Ford shop manuals for the various years of the old Mustangs at a reasonable price. They also have wiring diagrams, body and engine books and some real good restoration books. In addition I'd suggest trying to locate a Mustang Owners club in your area. The members are generally glad to lend a hand, advice or expertise. The old ones are easier to work on and you can get a lot of satisfaction from restoring one.
Shanahan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 09:50 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular