My car has no VIN number, how do i insure it? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-25-2010, 09:00 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

My car has no VIN number, how do i insure it?

Hey everyone, i just finished restoring a 1968 mustang fastback, when i originally got the car it was only the back part (no front end) I read that the vin number is underneath the front wheel well but i had those bought aftermarket. I am only 17 so i am new to this, how will i be able to get insurance / register the car without a vin? The car has no registration
garren is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2010, 09:32 PM   #2
wu
Registered Member
Regular

Your mustang will have at least two locations for the Vehicle Identification Number. One is behind the windshield on the driver's side. One is on the frame, should be on the drivers side under the wheel well. And I believe there is one on the left frame rail above the axel. Don't quote me on that. The State patrol vehicle inspection office, (might be part of the DMV) should have a listing of where all the VINs would be located for your car. However, just locating one is not going to cut it. You will have to have the car inspected and they might reissue a new VIN or at least put new VIN tags on the car.
wu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 09:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

There are several locations where there could be a VIN number, not just one.

You will need to get the bill of sale for all the parts, and go down to the DMV office, and prove that you built it from scratch. Depending on the state, you may need to register it as a "kit car".
rosswald is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2010, 10:03 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular