Are Foxbody Mustangs good hotrods? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-02-2010, 05:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Are Foxbody Mustangs good hotrods?

are the foxbody 1983- 1992 decent hotrod projects

im just wondering if i can get decent power out of them i see them for sale for like 3k and they got a the 5.0 5 speed GT cars for 3k

Most have VERY little rust but im just wondering if the motors have potential if not would it be good to do a motor swap im hoping to run atleast 12's with the car

how much would i end up spending im currently a student in a auto tech school so i am on a tight budget and can do all the work
jeffery is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-02-2010, 05:51 PM   #2
on
Registered Member
Regular

YES, they do ever tried to catch one?These are perfect cars to hot rod and modify. They came with the 302 and are roller motors and forged innards, I have owned the fox body cars since 96 and my present car is a 90 GT convertible. 243,000 thousand on the stock block and still kicks a_ _. Heads and cam are worth over 150more horse power, go with a stroked 302 to a 347 or use a 351 based block and make a 427. These cars are still around and parts a plenty, getting cheap like a Chevy part. Check out E bay there are 61,177 parts for mustang NOW. OH for the potential how about 8's
on is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Fox body Mustangs are good for racing. I would recommend just finding a 4 cylinder body for your engine. You can find a 4 cylinder for way less. The rear end is pretty good for racing, but a 9 inch rear end will do you better. Also beef up the suspension on the vehicle too. The car is rather light for it's size and running 12's in a 1/4 is no problem.