More horse power on my 2008 GT - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-26-2014, 09:38 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Massachusetts
More horse power on my 2008 GT

Hi guys.
I'm looking to build more hp on my 08 GT 4.6.
I've done CAI, cams, cat backs and 3.73 gears. I'm only recording 287 rwhp.
My goal is to eventually get to 600 rwhp. What's my next move?
stanzmustang08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-26-2014, 09:43 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Alabama
Forced induction would be your best bet super or turbo charged pick one or both
Thomas11CS5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 09:46 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Thank you Tom. I'm new at this. I've been told that if you reach a certain hp power point, you have to do work to your block. It may crack.Is that true?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-26-2014, 09:58 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Alabama
Yes to reach 600 rwhp you'll have to have your motor built up grade fuel sys,injectors,have tuned at a Dyno shop, mass air flow sen., and mabe a few other things I left out you May could reach 450 with f/I with low boost and boost a pump and some injectors don't know a whole lot about the 4.6's but you can give hyper motive performance a look jay will point you in the right direction
Thomas11CS5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 10:05 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular

Thanks again! Appreciate the info
Old 01-26-2014, 10:06 PM   #6
Staff
Regular
Staff

Region: New Jersey
Block won't crack, not the modular iron block, not unless you are pushing well past 1,000hp. The internals are the weak point on the modular motor unless you have an 03/04 Cobra or a 5.4L Shelby or something...