0 to 60 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-08-2014, 03:21 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 342
0 to 60

Hi guys,

Today I was testing the track apps and I am getting 6.9 Secs from 0 to 60, my car is Auto.

Is that normal? to get 6.9 secs? I also red that depending on where you live you might get lower or higher numbers, is that true?

if so I live in Miami Florida.

Thank you guys
Ranger052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2014, 04:15 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fenderfreak145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Washington DC
Region: Virginia
Posts: 133
What gears do you have?

Also how hot was it?
__________________
2016 Black GT PP
Fenderfreak145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 05:46 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 342
I have standard gears and here in miami is like 85 i believe
Ranger052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-08-2014, 10:47 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
13 stang22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: fort worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,006
it is. you probably have 2.73. switch to 4.10s and a tune and it'll blow your mind how much is locked away. before my procharger I was doing 4.6 sec 0-60 with full bolton.
13 stang22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 10:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 342
Oh ok now I have peace of mind

Thank you so much!!!!
Ranger052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 07:16 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
willb2305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LA county
Region: California
Posts: 149
Since you live in florida because of the hotter temps and humidity there you will usually get slower 0-60 and 1/4 mile times then in other states. And as 13stang stated new gears either 373 or 410 gears and a tune are the best mods for our car. The better tuners seem to be MPT and Lund. Bama Performance is a good tuner too but not as aggressive as mpt or lund tunes.
__________________
2012 V6
AirRaid CAI, BBK Ceramic LT Headers, BBK Catted X Pipe, Borla ATAK, MPT 93/97 Tune, Steeda LCA's and UCA, Steeda Relocation Brackets, 373 gears, WaveTrac LSD, Dynotech Driveshaft. Prothane Motor Mounts, Whiteline adjustable panhard bar & brace.Ground Control Coilovers with Koni's custom valved. Coming soon Circle D 3800 Stall and Lone Wolf Intake Manifold.
willb2305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 09:03 AM   #7
Registered Member

Regular
 
Cise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Texas
Posts: 503
Stang what tune did you run?
Cise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 12:49 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
13 stang22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: fort worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,006
MPT was my favorite and I had all of them except STeeda
13 stang22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 03:22 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
sunnytan06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 233
I heard steeda is more of a safe tune.
I don't have a track app on my stang. Do you guys use any phone app or something to track your 0-60?
sunnytan06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 04:56 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
willb2305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LA county
Region: California
Posts: 149
With the diablosport trinity and sct tuner they both allow you to track your 0-60 times.
__________________
2012 V6
AirRaid CAI, BBK Ceramic LT Headers, BBK Catted X Pipe, Borla ATAK, MPT 93/97 Tune, Steeda LCA's and UCA, Steeda Relocation Brackets, 373 gears, WaveTrac LSD, Dynotech Driveshaft. Prothane Motor Mounts, Whiteline adjustable panhard bar & brace.Ground Control Coilovers with Koni's custom valved. Coming soon Circle D 3800 Stall and Lone Wolf Intake Manifold.
willb2305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 04:57 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
willb2305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LA county
Region: California
Posts: 149
Steeda and Bama are more of a safe tune. If you want a more aggressive tune and want the full potential of your car unleashed MPT and Lund are the way to go.
__________________
2012 V6
AirRaid CAI, BBK Ceramic LT Headers, BBK Catted X Pipe, Borla ATAK, MPT 93/97 Tune, Steeda LCA's and UCA, Steeda Relocation Brackets, 373 gears, WaveTrac LSD, Dynotech Driveshaft. Prothane Motor Mounts, Whiteline adjustable panhard bar & brace.Ground Control Coilovers with Koni's custom valved. Coming soon Circle D 3800 Stall and Lone Wolf Intake Manifold.
willb2305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:26 PM   #12
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
I'm getting 5.9 in my completely stock automatic with the 2.73.

I have an OBDII reader that streams to my iPhone and an app that records a bunch of performance stuff.
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:27 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by VIG View Post
I'm getting 5.9 in my completely stock automatic with the 2.73.

I have an OBDII reader that streams to my iPhone and an app that records a bunch of performance stuff.
Where are you located? what city?
Ranger052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:28 PM   #14
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
Sorry, forgot to mention. Wilmington, DE
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:29 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 342
it could be because is cold there?
Ranger052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:34 PM   #16
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
It's been pretty consistent for me since summer. I can't really get a good reading in the winter though because when I try a 0-60 I wind up spinning the tires on launch, so that messes up my times.
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 10:35 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by VIG View Post
It's been pretty consistent for me since summer. I can't really get a good reading in the winter though because when I try a 0-60 I wind up spinning the tires on launch, so that messes up my times.
I gonna have to find someone here in Miami and do some comparisons lol
Ranger052 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 08:38 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
GT500 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by VIG View Post
I'm getting 5.9 in my completely stock automatic with the 2.73.

I have an OBDII reader that streams to my iPhone and an app that records a bunch of performance stuff.

Can you give a little more info on the OBDII reader and how it streams to your phone (app, etc)? I want that feature too on my 08. Where can I get one and how much?
GT500 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:22 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
ebgonzalez1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 371
I get smear 5.3 on stock everything except cai but do have a manual and if I would buy better tires I might be able to drop it more

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
"Just a lil Sixxer...."
ebgonzalez1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 09:48 AM   #20
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
0 to 60

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT500 Fan View Post
Can you give a little more info on the OBDII reader and how it streams to your phone (app, etc)? I want that feature too on my 08. Where can I get one and how much?

I bought the Elm327 wireless OBDII reader off of Amazon. You plug it into the OBD port and it connects to your phone via wifi. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00AOI..._26725410_item

You need to buy an app to read the info on your phone. I bought "Dash Command" on the AppStore. I think it was $10.99. It seems to be the most comprehensive OBDII app I've seen.

In total, between the reader and the app, I spent about $35.
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 10:52 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
GT500 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 74
Awesome bud. Thanks! Next purchase.
GT500 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:45 AM   #22
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
No prob! Definitely a fun little toy for car nerds.
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:07 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
sunnytan06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 233
Is it just for data reading?
sunnytan06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 12:16 PM   #24
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnytan06 View Post
Is it just for data reading?

It reads data and you can also check/erase CELs. You can customize what gauges and graphs you want to see.

If you're asking if the app is capable of tuning, it's not.

Here are just a few screen shots from the app.

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1392056122.637311.jpg
Views:	227
Size:	312.3 KB
ID:	147511

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1392056137.761054.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	435.8 KB
ID:	147512

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1392056150.425920.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	369.2 KB
ID:	147513
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 01:21 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
sunnytan06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 233
Thanks. I ordered haha
It looks nice
sunnytan06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:12 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
GT500 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 74
How accurate are the HP and torque readings?
GT500 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:47 PM   #27
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
0 to 60

Apologies for thread hijacking!

It has read up to 320 hp and 290 tq, so it's within the ballpark.

I wouldn't put too much faith into the torque and horsepower numbers though. The only way to get actual numbers is on a dyno.
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:51 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
GT500 Fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 74
Since my car is over that stock, I guess it wouldn't be a smart purchase. Neat though.
GT500 Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 02:53 PM   #29
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT500 Fan View Post
Since my car is over that stock, I guess it wouldn't be a smart purchase. Neat though.

You can adjust all of the parameters. You can set the gauge to go up to 1000 horsepower if you want. All of the gauges can be edited.
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 05:19 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
ArtU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,067
The Android app Torque works wonders as well for reading virtual gauges, GPS tracks, data logging of PIDs, and timings.

The HP and TRQ numbers on phone apps are not going to give you near accurate readings unless you dial in exactly all little parameters, its not a hand held Dyno but I think you get that.

It's like rocket flight simulators, ball park, but flight data is always different once things like wind, temp, humidity, altitude etc all come into play.

Art
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 11:08 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Durham
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 113
Dash Commander is the way to go. The HP and TQ numbers are actually pretty close to what you would pull on a dynojet. I don't know how they do it but it is close. My buddy has it and has used it on his built G35, and his 6.0 turbo diesel F250. The numbers he gets are almost spot on to what he has dynoed and what other people are pulling on dynos with similar mods etc.

We datalogged my car today and I pulled 289hp and 311 tq.
Torch10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 03:11 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: oak hill
Region: West Virgina
Posts: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by VIG View Post
I bought the Elm327 wireless OBDII reader off of Amazon. You plug it into the OBD port and it connects to your phone via wifi. LYL® Elm327 WIFI Wirless OBD2 Car Diagnostic Reader Scanner Scan Tool for Iphone iPad iOS PC:Amazon:Automotive

You need to buy an app to read the info on your phone. I bought "Dash Command" on the AppStore. I think it was $10.99. It seems to be the most comprehensive OBDII app I've seen.

In total, between the reader and the app, I spent about $35.
I went to order this and it said estimated shipping march 26. It had an option for speed shipping of 17-28 days I think is what it says. Boy, that's speedy. I will probably have a tuner by then but it does seem like a cool gadget. If I could get it in a week, I would take it.
Green5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 01:53 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
sunnytan06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 233
How do you connect the obd2 to the phone?
sunnytan06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 01:54 PM   #34
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green5.0 View Post
I went to order this and it said estimated shipping march 26. It had an option for speed shipping of 17-28 days I think is what it says. Boy, that's speedy. I will probably have a tuner by then but it does seem like a cool gadget. If I could get it in a week, I would take it.

Wow, mine arrived in 3 days.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnytan06 View Post
How do you connect the obd2 to the phone?

It connects via wifi.
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 03:21 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
ArtU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,067
Most OBDII connectors connect via BlueTooth.

LYL® Vgate ELM327 v1.5 Bluetooth Mini Small Interface OBD2 Scanner Adapter Torque Android : Amazon.com : Automotive

Also this one

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:44 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.