Transmission shifting - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 04-10-2014, 03:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Florida
Transmission shifting

Ok, so I'm new to Ford and how they do what they do. I've driven many manual trans cars over the years and I'll be honest and say that I never read the owner's manual, so if this info was listed for Chevy, Datsun or Toyota, I never saw it.

I was flipping through the owners manual and came across this:
Manual Transmissions: Using the Clutch
1. Make sure the parking brake is fully set.
2. Press the clutch pedal to the
floor, then put the gearshift lever in
the neutral position.
3. Start the engine.
4. Press the brake pedal and move
the gearshift lever to the desired
gear; position 1 or position R.
5. Release the parking brake, then
slowly release the clutch pedal
while slowly pressing on the
accelerator.

During each shift, the clutch pedal must be fully pressed to the floor.
Make sure the floor mat is properly positioned so it does not interfere
with the full extension of the clutch pedal.
Note: Failure to fully press the clutch pedal to the floor may cause
increased shift efforts, prematurely wear transmission components or
damage the transmission.

Is this really a requirement or just some suggestion that Ford makes? I only apply enough clutch to disengage the gear and shift. All the way to floor sounds like a lot of wasted effort when the clutch engages about 50% out.

Sorry if this sounds like a dumb question, but I've never heard anybody suggest that the clutch HAS to be pushed to the floor each use. Thanks for any feedback.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-10-2014, 03:55 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Colorado