Car maintenance - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-02-2014, 12:00 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Virginia
Car maintenance

Okay I wanted to get an input of what you guys do to take care of your car. I'm just starting to learn how to do everything but I've never changed my own oil. I know how to but I've Never done it. I'm going to start doing it though..so I wanted to know how often do you guys change your oil? what do you use? And what are other things that I can do to my car to keep from breaking down! Anything will help.Thank you ahead of time
Tangtang2.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-02-2014, 12:21 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Missouri
I change my oil every 3000 miles. Many people say that's way to soon but I like to keep good clean oil in my car at all times. I use the motorcraft oil filter, wix is good, avoid fram. Then motorcraft 5w20 synthetic.

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Sbales88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 12:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Mexico
change your air filter
clean for MAF
Change your plugs and boots and springs inside the boots
replace your PCV valve
flush and fill your coolant
change your fuel filter
change your oil
change your oil filter
replace your belt

And then you will know the general maintenance on your car is up to date and where your car stands as far as that goes.

From there around every 3000 miles or three months change your oil and oil filter and clean or replace your air filter.

every 50,000 change your fuel filter

and that should be efficient enough to keep your car running strong.