New Mustang vs Old Mustang - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-21-2014, 08:50 PM   #1

Region: Iowa
New Mustang vs Old Mustang

Hello I am new to this form and was looking for a little help. Being 17 I have somewhat limited resources for vehicles and have to spend my money wisely. A close friend of my father has a 1966 or 1967 Mustang that is sitting outside that he would sell to me. It has rust and would need new fenders, floor pans, doors, and paint for starters. He wants 1200 dollars. Would I be better of with a newer mustang. I was looking at a 2005 or a 2008 in the price range of 6 to 8 grand. My parents had a 2006 and I loved it, so I know my way around Mustangs. Thanks.
ACMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-21-2014, 08:57 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Maryland
New Mustang vs Old Mustang

If you can get an 05 or 08 for 6000 or 8000 grand that would be the wise thing to do. Does that 66/67 run?

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
dave73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 09:05 PM   #3

Region: Iowa
I ran before harvest when he looked at it last, but unsure if it still does. I do not know what type of engine it has either.
ACMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-21-2014, 09:14 PM   #4
Evolution's Finest
Supporter

Region: Florida
Get the latest one you have $$$$ For.

Believe me when I'm telling you that the older Mustang would be great if you have the know how and tools along with a place you can work on the 65/66 Mustang to get it safe and roadworthy.
A disc brake conversion on the front is a must have.
Probably a new gas tank right away.
A later model fuel pump that ethanol won't eat up as well as rebuilding the carb and using parts and gaskets the ethanol won't destroy.