New to Mustangs. How Long do they Last? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-07-2016, 10:37 PM   #1

Region: Texas
New to Mustangs. How Long do they Last?

I am new to mustangs, and I want to pick up a used one for the daily commute to work.

How many miles do the engines and transmissions last? What years are good? What years are bad? Etc.?

I am looking at probably buying a 1998 or newer car. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
tbryanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-07-2016, 10:55 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbryanh View Post
I am new to mustangs, and I want to pick up a used one for the daily commute to work.

How many miles do the engines and transmissions last? What years are good? What years are bad? Etc.?

I am looking at probably buying a 1998 or newer car. Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
It honestly depends on what engine, what the previous owners have donenwith it, and how many miles the car has
superdrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2016, 11:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Nevada
As with any other machine, given proper care and maintenance a long time.
There is a local guy who has an originally owned 1967 fastback 289. I have no idea how many miles or what has been done throughout the years but he daily drives it and it still looks and sounds great.
Static_LV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-08-2016, 12:04 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular

May help to be a bit more specific if you want specific answers as far as good and bad years as it's hard to cover 18 years of cars. Are you looking for a 98-04, 05-10, 11-14 ? Manual or auto, v6 or v6, etc.