Newbie to AUTOX and a few Q's - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > Ford Mustang | Wrenching, Care and General Topics > General Mustang Discussion

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-14-2004, 03:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
Newbie to AUTOX and a few Q's

hi my name is tim im a newbie to this site since i spend most of my pc time on LSS.i have a few questions about auto-X.
1. Where can i find out if there are any events in my area?
2. What kind of mods will i need to my car to compete, if none needed then what would you guys reccommend(trying to keep each thing under $500 and will these void my warrenty)(i already have the most basic of basic mods)?
3. Do i need special safety equiptment?
4. Im under 18 would my parent have to accompany me to these events(for liability reasons)?
5. How long does each event typically last(1 day, a few hours, a weekend)?
any help or suggestions are apriciated<-----I cant spell eaither.

In Texas? check out www.lonestarstangs.com
timpryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-14-2004, 04:09 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Iowa
Send a message via AIM to Horse Send a message via Yahoo to Horse
go to www.scca.org, they have a place where you can search for regions near you.

your car is classed, since you have mods, in ESP, which bites, I'd suggest running int he STX class, which is an option street tire class, (no slicks allowed). Suspension is really important. Some Ford C-springs, and some better shocks and struts wouldn't hurt, but aren't required. 17 or 18 inch rims are also nice. Subfram connectors an strut and shocktower braces aren't bad either.
the only thing you NEED is a car that is mechanically sound. The rest is just gravy.