Replacing my gauge cluster - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-19-2012, 09:13 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
angelofrat42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 252
Replacing my gauge cluster

Finally decided to drop my mustang off at the dealership and let them replace my gauge cluster. Gonna be around $800 rpm gauge was broken
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1392266786.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	339.2 KB
ID:	69139  
angelofrat42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2012, 09:44 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
05MUSTANG4.0L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 729
Why why why why, it cost only $7 to fix it......
05MUSTANG4.0L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
angelofrat42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05MUSTANG4.0L
Why why why why, it cost only $7 to fix it......
I went to four different garages. The entire computer fried and they have to replace the entire cluster. One of the managers had the same issue with his car and they all told me to go to the dealership. Garages don't send away work to a dealership
angelofrat42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-19-2012, 01:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
05MUSTANG4.0L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 729
I don't mean to burst your bubble , theres another thread about this subject in here idk if u know about it.all it is is that the stepper motors from the cluster just went out and u can find them new on ebay for $7-$10 each & you can install them yourself in less than an hr

---------- Post added at 01:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:23 PM ----------

My car was flooding inside everytime it rained for about a year wetting all my fuse inside the car but I don't think is even possible to fry the whole computer
05MUSTANG4.0L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 01:49 PM   #5
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Virginia
Posts: 18
The DIY talks about replacing your stepper motors for 6-7 dollars a peice vice replacing your entire cluster for a million dollars.
jaymjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2012, 02:01 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: California
Posts: 157
If it's an 05, 06 or early 07 the steppers may be getting burnt by your alternator giving out a higher than normal voltage.

I had my alternator replaced and haven't had any issues with my gauges in the last 3 months.
sixty4half is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
kirpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Elk river
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 179
I spent 100 dollars and sent the cluster from my 05 to get rebuilt. Its not the computor. Its the step ups. My temp didnt work and my mph was off by alot. Its not the computer. Sorry to say you got screwed. And mine wasnt because of the altenator. I had to replace it the year before. The clusters are known to go bad.
kirpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
05MUSTANG4.0L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirpy
I spent 100 dollars and sent the cluster from my 05 to get rebuilt. Its not the computor. Its the step ups. My temp didnt work and my mph was off by alot. Its not the computer. Sorry to say you got screwed. And mine wasnt because of the altenator. I had to replace it the year before. The clusters are known to go bad.
Really just a $100, where?
05MUSTANG4.0L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:18 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
kirpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Elk river
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 179
Your local parts store. I went to auto value. Lifetime warranty. To replace it you just pull straight out on the chrome trim. Its 4the screws and a wire clip. Then reverse order.
kirpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:41 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
angelofrat42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Arizona
Posts: 252
I didn't get it done yet and I'm in az so where would you guys suggest I go to get the supplies to do this?
angelofrat42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 04:46 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
kirpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Elk river
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 179
Ebay if you want to try it tourself. Or go to your local parts store and have then get a rebuilt and you swap it with yours. What is alot cheaper.
kirpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:33 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.