Running Lean - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-21-2012, 09:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joe_Roma5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saint Paul
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 137
Running Lean

I bought a "no tune required" cai from AM about 3 months ago and just recently my check engine light came on. I had it diagnosed and apparently I am running lean. Any ideas how to fix this?
__________________
'06 4.0 V6 custom x pipes, cai, screamin demon coil pack, 10mm live wires spark plug wires, NGK iridium plugs, 93 octane bama tune
Joe_Roma5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-22-2012, 02:33 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Call AM and see what they say. I've seen here on the forum that they are really helpful.
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 08:38 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
do you ever hear marbles bouncing around (detonation) check your plugs for signs of the white part being messed up (busted up/missing). That can be a sign of detonation.

If your 05-09 has never had the plugs done they CAN Break off so FYI research that before you try to pop them out.
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-26-2012, 02:05 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joe_Roma5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saint Paul
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 137
well i asked AM and they said, will all the info given, that it coulld have been just a fluke since i had replaced my battery and that the computer might have rebooted and just needed to familiarize itself with the cai and dual exhaust. thank god for technology heehee
__________________
'06 4.0 V6 custom x pipes, cai, screamin demon coil pack, 10mm live wires spark plug wires, NGK iridium plugs, 93 octane bama tune
Joe_Roma5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 11:01 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
That's good news. While putting on the CAI did you do a idle reset?
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:21 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joe_Roma5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saint Paul
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 137
would i really need to with a no tune required intake? and if so, how would i go about doing an idle reset?
__________________
'06 4.0 V6 custom x pipes, cai, screamin demon coil pack, 10mm live wires spark plug wires, NGK iridium plugs, 93 octane bama tune
Joe_Roma5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:43 AM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Dako1994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 18
Yeah you need to do the idle reset since the CAI takes in more air than the ECM is programmed to withstand without throwing the lean codes compared to the stock intake. To do the idle reset, unplug the negative cord on the battery and let the car sit for a while. Some say let is sit for 5 minutes and others say for a few hours, just preference I guess. But after that time, hook the negative cord back up to the battery and start the car with all accessories off (radio, A/C, lights, etc) and let the engine reach full operating temperature. After it has reached the temperature, let the car sit at idle for 1 minute with all the accessories off. Then let the car idle for 1 minutes with the A/C on max. After that take the car for at least a 10 mile drive if not longer so that the ECM can relearn your driving habits and then your good to go! If you need to double check while doing it, it tells you how to do it in your owner's manual in the section about changing your battery. Hope this helps
Dako1994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:16 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
dolfin13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_Roma5
I bought a "no tune required" cai from AM about 3 months ago and just recently my check engine light came on. I had it diagnosed and apparently I am running lean. Any ideas how to fix this?
Mine also did that but then i got the tuner. Now it dosent come on anymore. When i had called am on the issue. They told me they advertise what the manufacturer says. I was pissed. But i was gonna get the tuner anyway. So it worked out

---------- Post added at 10:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:14 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dako1994
Yeah you need to do the idle reset since the CAI takes in more air than the ECM is programmed to withstand without throwing the lean codes compared to the stock intake. To do the idle reset, unplug the negative cord on the battery and let the car sit for a while. Some say let is sit for 5 minutes and others say for a few hours, just preference I guess. But after that time, hook the negative cord back up to the battery and start the car with all accessories off (radio, A/C, lights, etc) and let the engine reach full operating temperature. After it has reached the temperature, let the car sit at idle for 1 minute with all the accessories off. Then let the car idle for 1 minutes with the A/C on max. After that take the car for at least a 10 mile drive if not longer so that the ECM can relearn your driving habits and then your good to go! If you need to double check while doing it, it tells you how to do it in your owner's manual in the section about changing your battery. Hope this helps
I tried that a couple times with mine it didnt work
dolfin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 01:13 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Joe_Roma5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Saint Paul
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 137
Meh. I'll probably just sell it and go buy a tune required cai and tuner combo.
__________________
'06 4.0 V6 custom x pipes, cai, screamin demon coil pack, 10mm live wires spark plug wires, NGK iridium plugs, 93 octane bama tune
Joe_Roma5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 02:24 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_Roma5
Meh. I'll probably just sell it and go buy a tune required cai and tuner combo.
Joe I think you can still put a tune on a non tune required CAI. The BBK CAI that I have is a non tune CAI but you can put a tune on it.
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 07:52 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
dolfin13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Slider View Post
Joe I think you can still put a tune on a non tune required CAI. The BBK CAI that I have is a non tune CAI but you can put a tune on it.
I bought the bbk cai also it said didnt need a tune, but it did, now my check engine light dosent come on
dolfin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:22 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
I did the idle reset after I installed mine. That way the computer would learn the new intake
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:31 PM   #13
Lorraine's driver

Regular
 
ab_mach1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indianapolis
Region: Indiana
Posts: 7,863
Idle Re-Learn

Disconnect NEG from battery for 30min

Reconnect and start car, let idle as eng gets to operating temp. Let it idle a little over a minute

Turn on A/C to MAX, let idle little over a minute, turn off A/C

Then drive the car for at least 10 miles
__________________
Instagram: @ab_mach1
ab_mach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:03 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.