Aux Jack Question - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-02-2013, 03:06 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Aux Jack Question

I've notice the 06 mustang does not have an aux jack. Is it possible to install an 07' or above stock radio with the aux jack ? Will it be compatible ?
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2013, 03:19 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
FordAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 776
What you may be able to do is if your vehicle is equipped with xm radio and you dont use it, you can splice an aux into it. Thats how I did it in my 2006 cts
FordAddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 03:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordAddict View Post
What you may be able to do is if your vehicle is equipped with xm radio and you dont use it, you can splice an aux into it. Thats how I did it in my 2006 cts
It's the shaker 500 no XM just stock with 4 speakers
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2013, 12:17 PM   #4
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali_JC View Post
I've notice the 06 mustang does not have an aux jack. Is it possible to install an 07' or above stock radio with the aux jack ? Will it be compatible ?
Good question.. I'd get rid if the HU and buy an after market one

Or get the FRD04 AUX from PAC
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Whoa wait. Does your radio have a AUX button? If so open up your arm rest and you will see the outlet.
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:58 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Jayjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: California
Posts: 458
Good question, my radio does have the aux cable but no where to plug it in. It's a 2006 gt premium with shaker 500
Jayjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:06 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Terminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: California
Posts: 983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Slider View Post
Whoa wait. Does your radio have a AUX button? If so open up your arm rest and you will see the outlet.
They didn't have outlets to plug in an iPod or MP3 player til 2007 I believe
Terminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:08 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
I have a 08. I use the jack in the armrest. I can use it to listen to pandora and I can use it to talk on my phone when it's plugged up. I bought a $3 AUX cable and plugs right into my iPhone
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
So what's the aux button there for ?
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 11:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
For when you plug something up to the jack it will switch from the radio to AUX
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:01 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
That's the thing though. I have an 06 shaker 500 and it has the aux button but no input or wire to be found anywhere.
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:15 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali_JC View Post
That's the thing though. I have an 06 shaker 500 and it has the aux button but no input or wire to be found anywhere.
So it's not in the armrest?
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 01:20 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cali_JC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Indio
Region: California
Posts: 88
Nope all I see is the 12v input
Cali_JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 02:29 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali_JC View Post
Nope all I see is the 12v input
That's where mine is. Right next to it. It's hard to see
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1395478484.jpg
Views:	16508
Size:	23.8 KB
ID:	84040  
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:16 AM   #15
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
It's probably because they used that same stereo in several different models and those may have came with an auxiliary plug in. The mustang didn't so the button is useless. It's like my '08 F150, it's stereo had a "Phone" button and it did jack ****. I think my '11 mustang does too. I don't know... I never cared to press it.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 07:46 AM   #16
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali_JC View Post
Nope all I see is the 12v input
Yep Like I said you will either have to add the aux device, or replace the HU. I went through this on mine still wiring the damn thing m
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:35 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
It's probably because they used that same stereo in several different models and those may have came with an auxiliary plug in. The mustang didn't so the button is useless. It's like my '08 F150, it's stereo had a "Phone" button and it did jack ****. I think my '11 mustang does too. I don't know... I never cared to press it.
True about the phone button. If I press it it says no phone connected when it is. If the phone rings while I'm in AUX mode I can answer my phone and I can hear them thru my speakers
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 10:46 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Seattle
Region: Washington
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Slider View Post
True about the phone button. If I press it it says no phone connected when it is. If the phone rings while I'm in AUX mode I can answer my phone and I can hear them thru my speakers
I do that too, but everyone I talk to says there is a pretty bad echo on their end, obviously from them hearing themselves through the speakers... I'm not quite sure how to deal with that...
Scoobuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 11:14 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Rogue Slider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoobuh View Post
I do that too, but everyone I talk to says there is a pretty bad echo on their end, obviously from them hearing themselves through the speakers... I'm not quite sure how to deal with that...
Turn the volume down a bit on the phone and the echo will go away. It's like when you call into a radio station and they want you to turn down the radio when talking to them. It's the opposite when the phone is plugged in
__________________
Rogue Slider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 12:20 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Seattle
Region: Washington
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Slider View Post
Turn the volume down a bit on the phone and the echo will go away. It's like when you call into a radio station and they want you to turn down the radio when talking to them. It's the opposite when the phone is plugged in
Hmmm, I'll have to try that...
Scoobuh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 03:25 PM   #21
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,223
2007 is the first model year for the Mustang to have the Auxiliary jack. The OP car is a 2006, so no input in the console. You have to add an aftermarket part to get one in 2005 or 2006 Mustangs.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:41 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigRob1127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 77
+1 to what Jim said. If you're going to go through the trouble of installing an aux port to your car, I would recommend just getting an aftermarket head unit which would include an aux port anyways while probably looking better and possibly adding more features.
BigRob1127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:56 PM   #23
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob1127 View Post
+1 to what Jim said. If you're going to go through the trouble of installing an aux port to your car, I would recommend just getting an aftermarket head unit which would include an aux port anyways while probably looking better and possibly adding more features.
^ + 1
I traded a forum member some T-shirts for his aux device because he upgraded his system. Otherwise, I'd have saved up to change the head unit.
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 11:51 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
MTilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Kansas
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cali_JC
That's the thing though. I have an 06 shaker 500 and it has the aux button but no input or wire to be found anywhere.
You should just get a new head unit, or buy a radio tuner for your audio device. There is an AUX port for the 2005-2006 shaker 500 system (I have a 2005 myself) and it is actually located in the back of the head unit. I believe someone has posted about buying a kit that you can hook it up to, but I'd recommend again to buy a new head unit.
__________________

PROJECT "6APPEAL"

Founder of Topeka Mustang Club
MTilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 05:09 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
I have an 08 and I had put a new hu in before I realized that my jack in the the arm rest.... but for you to buy a new hu and the new wires and the holders for hu isnt that exlensive and super easy to install.
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 10:08 AM   #26
Staff
Blogger
Staff
 
99ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Region: Georgia
Posts: 6,120
Send a message via Skype™ to 99ford
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audicrashdummy View Post
I have an 08 and I had put a new hu in before I realized that my jack in the the arm rest.... but for you to buy a new hu and the new wires and the holders for hu isnt that exlensive and super easy to install.
+1 probably easier to install than the PAC
__________________
Check out the Official ME gear page for site t-shirts, decals, and bottle openers: http://www.mustangevolution.com/foru...2/#post1670281
99ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:11 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.