high cold idle - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-12-2013, 11:03 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
high cold idle

When emissions rolled around I had to take my CAI off, and after putting it back on the stang has been acting weird. On the first start of the day it idles really high at about 1500 instead of 900 rpms, should I take it in to get checked out?
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2013, 11:26 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vicello93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 156
Mine does the same but it was like that with the stock intake.. Maybe the temperature outside it too cold?
Vicello93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 11:28 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
I don't think so, I live in Cali lol
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-12-2013, 11:54 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Vicello93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 156
Lol I live in nj It's cold here
Vicello93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:01 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
The weirdest thing is that today after not starting it all weekend it idled even higher, 1700-1800 rpms before I put it in gear and it died down to 800-900, which is what freaked me out and why I'm asking now lol
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:14 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Are all you sensors plugged in?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:20 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
Ya I believe so, I'll check after class today.

And I forgot to mention the stupidest thing I've ever done lol I went to take off and clean the filter after I put the CAI back on after emissions and I put a towel over the arm to cover it and early the next morning for school my dumb *** starts it with the towel over it thinking I put the filter back on. Would that have clogged anything up that I need to clean??
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:21 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Did you suck the towel in?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:33 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
No it didnt , the towel didn't even move thank god, but could it have gotten debris or clogged something up?
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:37 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Zhim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Richmond
Region: Canada
Posts: 137
did you try a reset? I'm assuming you're running without a tune? Maybe your engine ran rich because it wasn't drawing enough air with the towel over the intake and freaked out for a bit.
Zhim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 08:30 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zhim View Post
did you try a reset? I'm assuming you're running without a tune? Maybe your engine ran rich because it wasn't drawing enough air with the towel over the intake and freaked out for a bit.
No I have a tune, and when I did that it was still stock, it was before I put the tune back on
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:00 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Was it fine with your old air intake?
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:08 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
It was perfectly fine before I had a moron moment and started it with the towel covering the arm and no filter, so I was thinking maybe some debris or something got dirty in there that's messing up the idle at start
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:11 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Tyoung68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: concord
Region: California
Posts: 3,475
Yeah just check all you sensors and make sure theyre all clean
Tyoung68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 09:47 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
Which ones specificly should I check? The MAF and what else is there? Sorry I'm not too savy on much of how the engine works yet, learning in progress lol
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:58 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
I wanna say its temperature outside. I'm down in tx and mine has been doing that too. It'll jump to about 1500 and sit there for a minute of two until it gets warm. I never noticed it until it got cold. I have an all stock engine just new plugs and wires but that wouldn't change it.
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:21 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Atrav83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Colorado
Posts: 474
Ok cool thanks for the help guys
Atrav83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 02:25 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
austinknoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego
Region: California
Posts: 1,147
On cold startups the engine will need to warm up so the idle will be higher. Doesn't it go away in a few seconds?
__________________
65 Mustang coupe
306 H/C/I, holley 4 barrel, T5, Hurst Shifter, Subframe connectors, 8.8 w/ 3.55 posi, 4 piston front disc brakes, SN95 rear disc brakes, shelby drop, 620 springs, Mideye 4.5 Leaf Springs, bilstein shocks.
austinknoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:01 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
No few minutes. Now I didn't notice this until a few weeks ago and my thermostat housing has been cracked for a few weeks. Would that cause other problem?
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



06:08 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.