Temperature Problem - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-02-2013, 06:37 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Temperature Problem

Ok so I focused on the temp gauge for the past week.

Twice this week (while on the highway) the temperature gauge has gone all the way to the red-zone (as in max) and then has gone back down to the middle a few seconds later.

Both times I've been cruising at around 100km/h, so nothing crazy.

You guys have been talking about the thermostat housing but my car is only at 40,000 miles (like 60,000 km).

So I'm thinking of replacing the housing, is there anything else I should replace?
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2013, 06:47 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
Ok so I focused on the temp gauge for the past week.

Twice this week (while on the highway) the temperature gauge has gone all the way to the red-zone (as in max) and then has gone back down to the middle a few seconds later.

Both times I've been cruising at around 100km/h, so nothing crazy.

You guys have been talking about the thermostat housing but my car is only at 40,000 miles (like 60,000 km).

So I'm thinking of replacing the housing, is there anything else I should replace?
Replace the thermostat while you're in there. Are you losing coolant? If not the housing is likely fine and only the thermostat might be the problem. My housing bought it at 90,000 km's but I do lots of highway. Had the thermostat done at the same time rather than having to go in twice.
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 06:50 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
There is some leakage from here, just around the cap.


Name:   images.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  30.0 KB
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-02-2013, 06:57 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
There is some leakage from here, just around the cap.
Hmmm...if that's your only leak then the housing is fine. Likely a thermostat and flush and fill will be good. Sounds like the coolant is boiling over.

---------- Post added at 07:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:55 PM ----------

BTW... Your engine bay looks like you could eat off of it. Nice and clean!
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Hahah thank you.

And thanks for the info. So, thermostat replace, flush & fill. My stupid hood also has a paint bubble which means I'll have to replace it soon-ish.

Costs are adding up :{
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
My hood had several paint bubbles on the inside at the front. When I took the paint off the metal was fine, so I just painted over it. Yeah, with cars costs do add up! I don't mind the cost of mods, it's the repairs that bug me!!
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
+1. Plus I want to get a Cobra or a Ram hood anyways. Not sure which[ATTACH]Click image for larger version

Name:	yhst-131964867535317_2272_587168152.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	68.9 KB
ID:	121751[/ATTACH] though.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yhst-131964867535317_2272_435028371.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	121750  
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:19 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
I was looking at hoods on AM. Cirvini makes a really nice ram air with an optional ram air fitting to the air box. About $1,000 for both unpainted. It sounds expensive but a stock Ford hood is around $800, so it's not that bad. Plus it'll never rust!
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:22 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Right and right. I would rather get mine painted from Cervinis tho. Pretty sure the shops around here cut corners whenever they can. Sucks that AM can't paint hoods.

And you mean this? Cervini's Mustang Concept Hood - Unpainted (05-09) 1176 - Free Shipping!

It's pretty nice, but too similar to our stock hoods in my opinion. Need some height to it!
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
Right and right. I would rather get mine painted from Cervinis tho. Pretty sure the shops around here cut corners whenever they can. Sucks that AM can't paint hoods.

And you mean this? Cervini's Mustang Concept Hood - Unpainted (05-09) 1176 - Free Shipping!

It's pretty nice, but too similar to our stock hoods in my opinion. Need some height to it!
Yeah, that's the one. I see what you mean about the similarities. I agree about the paint too. It's tough to find a good shop.
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:31 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
In any case. I'm trying to not drop too much money on the V6 until I can pick-up a GT. Then the REAL FUN begins.
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Oh man yes!!
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:02 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
08Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Georgia
Posts: 2,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
In any case. I'm trying to not drop too much money on the V6 until I can pick-up a GT. Then the REAL FUN begins.
Still got 4 more years with mine til after college!
08Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 10:13 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Billymich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Region: Illinois
Posts: 861
Have you lost any coolant? It may not hurt to verify head gasket integrity
Billymich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:30 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billymich View Post
Have you lost any coolant? It may not hurt to verify head gasket integrity
Well as I stated above its leaking a little. It might be boiling over. There's some dried coolant around the cap.
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 11:56 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
Ok so I focused on the temp gauge for the past week.

Twice this week (while on the highway) the temperature gauge has gone all the way to the red-zone (as in max) and then has gone back down to the middle a few seconds later.

Both times I've been cruising at around 100km/h, so nothing crazy.

You guys have been talking about the thermostat housing but my car is only at 40,000 miles (like 60,000 km).

So I'm thinking of replacing the housing, is there anything else I should replace?
I would still do the housing even if thats not the problem right now.. its a cheap product that they decided to make out of plastic and then put directly on the engine. Try look under your intake manifold and see if theres coolant there. If there is its the housing thats how I found mine.
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 02:25 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Ok this time it was on max long enough to get the light on >.< The garage will be replacing it this wednesday
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 03:55 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
07 S197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Edgerton
Region: Minnesota
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratstang View Post
I was looking at hoods on AM. Cirvini makes a really nice ram air with an optional ram air fitting to the air box. About $1,000 for both unpainted. It sounds expensive but a stock Ford hood is around $800, so it's not that bad. Plus it'll never rust!
The ford hood won't rust either it's aluminum.
07 S197 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 03:58 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by 07 S197 View Post

The ford hood won't rust either it's aluminum.
Good to know!
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:15 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
So this just happened. Any ideas?
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:16 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1048620999.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	597.3 KB
ID:	124703
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 06:38 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
I googled images of dried coolant on the engine and got this:

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-82470390.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	483.5 KB
ID:	124708

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4027661825.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	461.8 KB
ID:	124709

Maybe your cap is toast.
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:40 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stratstang View Post

I googled images of dried coolant on the engine and got this:

Maybe your cap is toast.
Thanks man. Maybe. It's never been like this. I think it's definitely related to the heat problem I've been having. Last night the high temp light came on, it's was that hot for a couple of seconds
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 08:10 PM   #24
Registered User
Newbie
 
67Stanger09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 10
Hey I have around 45000 miles on my 09 v6 and had to replace my thermostat housing and haven't had any problems since!!
67Stanger09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 09:20 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post

Thanks man. Maybe. It's never been like this. I think it's definitely related to the heat problem I've been having. Last night the high temp light came on, it's was that hot for a couple of seconds
Hey anytime. I'm just guessing it's the cap as the spray seems to radiate out from there. Look at your fuse box on the left of the picture.

There's very little castoff in front of the cap, as if it happened at speed and was forced back toward the firewall.
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 09:55 AM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
Are you sure you coolant is diluted right?
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 12:08 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Correcto. It's being checked out tomorrow morning. Will keep you posted. My engine bay is so ****ing dirty
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 04:31 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Replaced rad cap and topped up coolant. Hopefullyl it's gone now apparently the car has two thermostats, which one should I replace?
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:08 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
Stratstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Oshawa
Region: Canada
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
Replaced rad cap and topped up coolant. Hopefullyl it's gone now apparently the car has two thermostats, which one should I replace?
Hmmm...everything that I've read has no mention of two thermostats.

Found this. Only mentions one.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-55237321.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	125038
Stratstang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:51 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
Replaced rad cap and topped up coolant. Hopefullyl it's gone now apparently the car has two thermostats, which one should I replace?
There's only one...
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 08:13 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Sorry for bumping this, I just wanted to give you guys an update. We replaced to rad cap the last time I went to the shop and they flushed my coolant. I didn't receive an increase in temperature for about 2-3 weeks until today and decided to check under the hood one more time.

It is leaking once again. Now you guys told me to replace to entire housing itself, so I'm going to do just that in a few days.
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 09:59 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post
Sorry for bumping this, I just wanted to give you guys an update. We replaced to rad cap the last time I went to the shop and they flushed my coolant. I didn't receive an increase in temperature for about 2-3 weeks until today and decided to check under the hood one more time.

It is leaking once again. Now you guys told me to replace to entire housing itself, so I'm going to do just that in a few days.
Where is it leaking? Is it dripping down to steering rack? That's hoe I noticed mine then I looked under intake manifold and it was a lake of coolant
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:04 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audicrashdummy View Post
Where is it leaking? Is it dripping down to steering rack? That's hoe I noticed mine then I looked under intake manifold and it was a lake of coolant
It seems to be leaking out of the rad cap and there is sprayed coolant all over the top of the engine compartment.

Something like the attached (its not my engine).Click image for larger version

Name:	engine.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	1.68 MB
ID:	128062
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:09 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Audicrashdummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kustumb View Post

It seems to be leaking out of the rad cap and there is sprayed coolant all over the top of the engine compartment.

Something like the attached (its not my engine).
Definitely replace your thrmostat. I would say its your thermostat not closing to let the coolant cool and its just circulating to quick and overheating
Audicrashdummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2013, 10:14 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Kustumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Victoria, BC
Region: Canada
Posts: 912
I'm thinking I should do the housing as well while I'm at it? Do you have any ideas on the cost I'm looking at? I'm sure I'll find out tomorrow but it'd be nice to have an estimate to compare it to. I checked out another website and they said over $400?
Kustumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:08 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.