2005 Mustang v6 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-01-2014, 08:14 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mansfield
Region: Texas
Posts: 2
2005 Mustang v6

Just replaced all the spark plugs. idle is at a steady 900. For some reason, rather I'm in reverse or drive she shakes like crazy and hesitates when trying to accelerate. other than a vacuum leak, what else could this possibly be?
Dash_Jetson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2014, 02:57 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raymore
Region: Missouri
Posts: 98
Do you have any mods done to the car? Any engine lights come on?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Mustang_2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 05:11 AM   #3
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,225
Double check and make sure you have the wires going to the correct spark plugs.

Then, make sure your wires are properly seated on the plug. When you installed the new plugs did you start them in by hand first, and then use the wrench? If not, you may have cross threaded a plug. Can you hear any hissing type sounds?
JimC is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2014, 07:37 AM   #4
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mansfield
Region: Texas
Posts: 2
yes, i have an engine light on. took the car up to Autozone to get checked out, they said either spark plugs or vacuum leak.

---------- Post added at 07:37 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:35 AM ----------

No, not getting a hissing sound, she's just really shakey, sounds and feels like the car wants to turn off.
Dash_Jetson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 12:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Mustang_2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Raymore
Region: Missouri
Posts: 98
I would recheck all the plug wires first and if they are all good then pull the plugs and check them.


Sent from my SPH-L900 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Mustang_2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2014, 03:13 PM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,225
If you have a CEL what code was brought up? That will pinpoint the issues

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
JimC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:06 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
cj92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: duncan
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 60
Way kind of plugs did you use I got some from Autozone for my f150 they sold me the wrong ones they ended up being to short made it run like ****

Sent from my glade plugin
cj92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 11:19 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Lmo36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Greenwood
Region: Indiana
Posts: 141
Is it manual?
__________________
Current Vehicle: 2012 Black Mustang 3.7 with a k&n 69 typhoon sieries CAI Ford racing Strut tower brace Forgestar f14s on the way 😈 | Past vehicles Ford ranger | 2001 Jeep Wranger | 2007 White v6 mustang |

Lmo36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:46 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
jek57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New York
Posts: 500
I would start with the plug wires sounds like you have them crossed up .Did u take one off at a time when u changed your plugs? Easy to do been there done that before
jek57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2014, 05:20 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
themauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 11
Make sure they're gapped to spec too, sometimes they will not fire correctly
themauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 10:02 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
LivelyMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kenosha
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by themauler View Post
Make sure they're gapped to spec too, sometimes they will not fire correctly

I didn't think you had to gap your plugs?
LivelyMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:06 PM   #12
Registered User
Newbie
 
themauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: California
Region: California
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by LivelyMustang View Post
I didn't think you had to gap your plugs?

In theory they should come gapped already, but often they can get a little bit off set by the time you install them
themauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 02:04 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
LivelyMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kenosha
Region: Wisconsin
Posts: 156
Hmm. Never knew. Thank for that info
LivelyMustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Tags
2005 mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



11:33 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.