Help with dual conversion (OTA pipes, etc) - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2005-2010 V6 Mustang

Join Mustang Evolution Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-21-2015, 06:52 PM   #1
Region: Other
Help with dual conversion (OTA pipes, etc)

Hey everyone. I have been googling info on this on and off for a few months now and have finally realized that I just need to reach out and ask for help. There are so many conversions on YT, I don't understand why I am having such a hard time

So, I've got an 07 v6 with the stock single Y-exhaust, and I'd like to do a true dual conversion. Under no circumstance do I want to use an X pipe, even though that would make acquiring the pieces A LOT easier. I am trying to find a street legal H pipe, and OTA pipes in 2.5" Now, I know I could just buy a catback system that includes the OTA pipes, but none of them come with the mufflers I want, and it still leaves me without the H pipe.

All of the H pipes I find seem to be for off road use (making me remove my cats) and my plan is to install this with my stock cats still on the car, so I only need that "H" piece, not the H pipe with the long arms attached to it. ( JBA 6675SH 2.5" Stainless Steel Exhaust Mid H-Pipe for Mustang GT 05-10: Automotive correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't this item considered "off road" and intendeds to remove my cats?)

As for the OTA pipes -- Are those not for sale or something? I have searched and searched and can only locate a PYPES model on late model restoration's website, I am concerned about fitment and quality. Is this a legit concern? Apparently "tousley ford parts" sold them but the site has undergone a name change and they don't even have an "exhaust" section anymore as far as I can see.