Mustang Evolution Forum banner

RPM rise and dive

2K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  JokerS197 
#1 ·
06 Mustang 5-speed

Just today coming from work I was at a stop , rpm was at normal then it just dove to almost 0 then back to normal then again 4-5 times , it was soooo close to shutting off if I hadn’t given it gas as it fell. As rpms were falling I also felt the car vibrating. I had an 05 before that showed the same symptom so my guess is that it’s one of those common s197 issues ,like the hand brake not working on most. Had to sell my 05 beacause of this issue , don’t wanna sell my 06 ....could it be bad spark plugs, plug wires, fuel filter, injectors, or fuel pump?? I would think it’s a bad IAC or MAF but I’m still new to this style so idk if these have those .
Thanks.

#4 ·
Thanks for the replies, not sure of it’s history I just had it for about a week now. It’s at 159k and all I’ve done to it is an oil and filter change....I did notice a small lil pool of fuel on passenger side injector might be a bad o-ring , but I doubt that’s the issue since my previous one did the same thing

Attachments

#6 ·
Since you don't know the maintenance history of the car, it is possible that the problem could be caused by a maintenance item such as the spark plugs or fuel filter, a dirty MAF sensor, etc. Typically, a problem with one of those parts will be accompanied by a diagnostic trouble code.
Your engine doesn't have a IAC valve to control the idle. The idle speed is controlled by the throttle body on all of the 05-present Mustangs. Your symptoms are consistent with the early signs of a failing throttle body... And maybe a dozen other possible problems that could also be the cause.
Without a code to point you in the right direction, it makes accurately diagnosing the stalling problem more difficult.