Newbie: Is this normal? (Finding first gear & backfiring) - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-03-2012, 10:49 AM   #1
Rim

Region: Virginia
Question Newbie: Is this normal? (Finding first gear & backfiring)

I've had my 2012 V6 Premium manual transmission for a month now (1,500+ miles) and there's a couple of things I've noticed which I'm not sure about.
  1. About a third of the time, when I shift into first gear, I would have to click it in twice (if that makes sense). Before I found that out, I thought I was in first gear after the first click, but it wasn't, as it popped out when I started driving. The rest of the time, I get to first gear on one click. I'm pushing the clutch all the way down. Btw, I've been driving stick for almost 25 years now so I'm not new at driving manual.
  2. Sometimes, when shifting from first to second, it sounds like it backfires or it's revving down hard. Occasionally, it happens from second to third gear, but its mostly from first to second. I've noticed this happens when I shift at a lower rpm, between 2500 and 3000 (because I'm trying not to kill my MPG like I did the first week I owned her). I'm just using 87 octane (because the manual says I can, and yes, I read the whole manual ). Should I try a tank of premium?

Is there something wrong with the car or is it me? Like I said, I've been driving stick for almost 25 years now but they've been on Japanese transmission (97 Toyota Celica and 90 Mitsubishi Mirage). So this is my first experience with a true sports car and an American transmission.

Rim
Rim is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2012, 10:54 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Canada
Dealer time. Sounds broken to me.
Old 03-03-2012, 12:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas