Clutch, how can i prolong its life? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-14-2012, 09:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Clutch, how can i prolong its life?

This is my first manual, i learned in a friends 03 tiburon 3 weeks after i ordered my stang....i didnt really learn though i was a natural according to him as i never stalled it lol. Anyways im still a newbie though. Ive got just under 4,000kms on my '12 and theyve been a blast, but im curious, what should be a decent life for these clutches, and average cost for parts and labour?

I know how the clutch works but im curious on commom errors new manual drivers make that are bad. One that i did the first week was always have my foot hovering over the clutch just barely pressed...duh. Bad habit that i corrected. I know the true sign of bad driving is the smell of burning clutch....well i dont think i know this smell!?

When i pull into my garage i drive up a slight incline, i dont want to go too fast as its a tight opening, i feather the clutch to gain some momentum, engage it, coast, slowly get some momentum again, then repeat until i am parked. I dont ride the clutch a ton but i have to a little to an extent to get in there. When in the garage i can smell a little bit of a weird smell, it smells more like hot engine than something burning. Ive also been experimenting downshifting on the highway from 6th to 5th to pass, i always keep the exchsnge between 500rpm. In the city i can also downshift in same range but its very rare that i downshift in city.

My main question is, if i dont smell burning from inside the car, and my shifts are smooth...i cant be doing any harm right?

Lastly....what is the best way to do a burnout if i decided to, doing least damage to the car?