3.73 Ford Racing gears - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-22-2012, 03:40 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
3.73 Ford Racing gears

Okay I'm sure there is a thread about this somewhere, but I've got my own questions about this. I want to put 3.73 gears in my car. I know it will give better acceleration off the line and kinda kill my mpg but I didn't buy a mustang to get mpg. wondering what else ill really need to get, what would be best to upgrade at the smell time and everything

---------- Post added at 03:40 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:40 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_tyler_r
Okay I'm sure there is a thread about this somewhere, but I've got my own questions about this. I want to put 3.73 gears in my car. I know it will give better acceleration off the line and kinda kill my mpg but I didn't buy a mustang to get mpg. wondering what else ill really need to get, what would be best to upgrade at the smell time and everything
same time****
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2012, 04:17 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
13stang901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 36
You'll have to recalibrate your speedo after the install.
I've always had tuners for my mustangs so it was an easy fix.
Gotta do my 2013 soon and the 3.73 is my favorite.
13stang901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 04:22 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
If you have an auto then you also need a tune or you can seriously screw up your transmission. I read that somewhere but there were other people saying the same thing. I know I would tune if going with gears. Also, I would source a place to do the install and get a quote. Make sure to install that tune before you start up for the first time. Ford also recommends 5min regular of idle and 5min of idle with AC on Max to let the computer learn. I would buy a Bama tune then get gears. The Bama tune will give instant gratification till you get the gears installed. Once your ready to do the gears Bama can get u a tune for it since you will have free tunes for life....

Win
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-22-2012, 04:34 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx
If you have an auto then you also need a tune or you can seriously screw up your transmission. I read that somewhere but there were other people saying the same thing. I know I would tune if going with gears. Also, I would source a place to do the install and get a quote. Make sure to install that tune before you start up for the first time. Ford also recommends 5min regular of idle and 5min of idle with AC on Max to let the computer learn. I would buy a Bama tune then get gears. The Bama tune will give instant gratification till you get the gears installed. Once your ready to do the gears Bama can get u a tune for it since you will have free tunes for life....

Win
greatest response ever! haha. so, should I just wait and get headers put on the same time I get the gears so they can tune it all at once?
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 05:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
nosympathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: none
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_tyler_r View Post
greatest response ever! haha. so, should I just wait and get headers put on the same time I get the gears so they can tune it all at once?
Well if you do American Muscle's Bama tunes, they offer free tunes for life, so you can request new tunes everytime you change something on your car.

They are pretty awesome. They give you a Race, Performance, Street tune. Last time I got tunes I got 2 different styled race tunes and a street tune. So they definitely do accomodate!
__________________
MustangEvolution ROCKS MY SOCKS!!!
nosympathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:03 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosympathy

Well if you do American Muscle's Bama tunes, they offer free tunes for life, so you can request new tunes everytime you change something on your car.

They are pretty awesome. They give you a Race, Performance, Street tune. Last time I got tunes I got 2 different styled race tunes and a street tune. So they definitely do accomodate!
sounds like a good way to go
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:06 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
It wouldn't hurt but it's not necessary. You could save the $ by installing the long tubes yourself, it's not that hard really. You will need to make sure the long tube's will bolt to your stock exhaust though. Also, with your free tunes for life you don't need to worry about getting the tune done all at once. Pay to have the 3.73's put in and load that tune(Bama will give it to you, just ask). Then when you are ready, talk to Bama and tell them what you plan to add long tubes. They might want to see the data log's from your current tune, no big deal, it's for the best anyways and will keep your car safe. Once they see your tune they will make adjustments as needed and add in parameters for the long tubes... And there you have it, most cost effective and technically the right way to do it... In my opinion at least.
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 06:16 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx
It wouldn't hurt but it's not necessary. You could save the $ by installing the long tubes yourself, it's not that hard really. You will need to make sure the long tube's will bolt to your stock exhaust though. Also, with your free tunes for life you don't need to worry about getting the tune done all at once. Pay to have the 3.73's put in and load that tune(Bama will give it to you, just ask). Then when you are ready, talk to Bama and tell them what you plan to add long tubes. They might want to see the data log's from your current tune, no big deal, it's for the best anyways and will keep your car safe. Once they see your tune they will make adjustments as needed and add in parameters for the long tubes... And there you have it, most cost effective and technically the right way to do it... In my opinion at least.
I have borla catback and I'm getting borla headers to finish the exhaust. and yeah I think I'll go about it that way. if I order the gears from AM, do I need to get all the extra options from AM? like the little drop down menus they have when you are looking at the gears
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:20 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
nosympathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: none
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_tyler_r

I have borla catback and I'm getting borla headers to finish the exhaust. and yeah I think I'll go about it that way. if I order the gears from AM, do I need to get all the extra options from AM? like the little drop down menus they have when you are looking at the gears
Are you doing the gears yourself? If not I would find a shop that you want to have do it first and see what they offer. Might get a discount that way.

I have a local mustang only shop that did gears, oil, rebuild kit, etc. +labor for 550+tax.

If I had purchased the gears seperetly it would have cost more as they discounted the parts.
__________________
MustangEvolution ROCKS MY SOCKS!!!
nosympathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosympathy

Are you doing the gears yourself? If not I would find a shop that you want to have do it first and see what they offer. Might get a discount that way.

I have a local mustang only shop that did gears, oil, rebuild kit, etc. +labor for 550+tax.

If I had purchased the gears seperetly it would have cost more as they discounted the parts.
yeah there's this place called gearheads in Arlington that is almost all mustangs. I'm gonna get them to do it
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:31 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
It won't mess up you're tranny if you don't tune it
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 01:42 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831
It won't mess up you're tranny if you don't tune it
+1
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:51 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
alrefire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by Venomouz831 View Post
It won't mess up you're tranny if you don't tune it
it'll just shift at random points, and your speedo will be off
alrefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:56 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrefire

it'll just shift at random points, and your speedo will be off
I'm definitely going to tune it lol
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 12:36 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrefire

it'll just shift at random points, and your speedo will be off
Mines didn't when I installed them maybe you got wrong info. What it did do was that my speedo was off
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:39 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
MrMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 730
On a manual,when you re-calibrate your speedo, will the dealer see this? I want to put in 3.73 in the spring but don't want any dealer woes. : )
MrMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 05:00 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMike
On a manual,when you re-calibrate your speedo, will the dealer see this? I want to put in 3.73 in the spring but don't want any dealer woes. : )
Even if they didnt see it they are going to know when they drive it and it goes like a bat out of hell!
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 07:26 PM   #18
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMike
On a manual,when you re-calibrate your speedo, will the dealer see this? I want to put in 3.73 in the spring but don't want any dealer woes. : )
Yes. The dealer may be able to calibrate it
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 07:46 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
MrMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight2012

Even if they didnt see it they are going to know when they drive it and it goes like a bat out of hell!
Lol, I just want them to think its stock and nobodys touched anything.
MrMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:57 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
The dealer will not calibrate anything but 2.93/3.31 gears, because that is all V6s came with from the factory. This had been discussed many times and they don't have optional programming for these vehicles for the other gear ratios. They reflash the whole PCM to a factory config, not alter specific parts.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 09:20 PM   #21
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanguin
The dealer will not calibrate anything but 2.93/3.31 gears, because that is all V6s came with from the factory. This had been discussed many times and they don't have optional programming for these vehicles for the other gear ratios. They reflash the whole PCM to a factory config, not alter specific parts.
Hm...good to know. Sure wish we could just do speedo gears still.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 09:29 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
MrMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanguin
The dealer will not calibrate anything but 2.93/3.31 gears, because that is all V6s came with from the factory. This had been discussed many times and they don't have optional programming for these vehicles for the other gear ratios. They reflash the whole PCM to a factory config, not alter specific parts.
So if I get the 3.73s I would have to flash the pcm therefore possibly voiding my warrenty? There's no alternative?
MrMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:06 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMike

So if I get the 3.73s I would have to flash the pcm therefore possibly voiding my warrenty? There's no alternative?
Yes and Nope
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 11:29 AM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
If you drive a 96-04

http://www.latemodelrestoration.com/...l-Manual-Trans

If you drive a 05-2010

http://www.latemodelrestoration.com/...-M-4209ADPT-AC

This last one is more expensive but there is a model for the 2011 and 2012's. no 2013 yet but I'm sure there working on it.

http://www.autoanything.com/performa...A3757A0A0.aspx


Another option would be to change some gears in your trans. I know that your car uses a gear in the trans to determine speed, so changeling that would give the desired result... I'm not real hip to the parts of a trans, maybe someone else could elaborate here.

You could also contact Bama and see if they can fix it within one of there tunes. That would be the best case if you plan on tuning in the future.
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 11:53 AM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
MrMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx
If you drive a 96-04

http://www.latemodelrestoration.com/...l-Manual-Trans

If you drive a 05-2010

http://www.latemodelrestoration.com/...-M-4209ADPT-AC

This last one is more expensive but there is a model for the 2011 and 2012's. no 2013 yet but I'm sure there working on it.

http://www.autoanything.com/performa...A3757A0A0.aspx

Another option would be to change some gears in your trans. I know that your car uses a gear in the trans to determine speed, so changeling that would give the desired result... I'm not real hip to the parts of a trans, maybe someone else could elaborate here.

You could also contact Bama and see if they can fix it within one of there tunes. That would be the best case if you plan on tuning in the future.
If I leave the speedo as is and just change the gear and pinion how much would it be off? Say doing 100km or miles what would it say I'm doing? Is it a drastic difference or just 5 or so clicks? Btw I have a 13. Thx everyone so far on this matter! You have all been helpful.
MrMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 12:29 PM   #26
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMike

If I leave the speedo as is and just change the gear and pinion how much would it be off? Say doing 100km or miles what would it say I'm doing? Is it a drastic difference or just 5 or so clicks? Btw I have a 13. Thx everyone so far on this matter! You have all been helpful.
The faster you go the more it will be off. Your speedo will be reading faster than you are actually going.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 12:32 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowflyn

The faster you go the more it will be off. Your speedo will be reading faster than you are actually going.
+1 it goes by a certain percentage of being off. therefore if it's 10% off then you'll be going 30 and it shows 33, only a 3 mph difference. However if you're going 70, it'll show 77. 7 mph difference.
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 03:56 PM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
You'll also rack up extra fake miles on your car. Either do it right or leave it alone.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2012, 05:43 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
MrMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanguin
You'll also rack up extra fake miles on your car. Either do it right or leave it alone.
Very good point!
MrMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:10 PM   #30
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
If you have Ford install their racing gears (ratio you want), they will adjust the PCM/ECU to compensate for the change in speedometer readings.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:33 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko
If you have Ford install their racing gears (ratio you want), they will adjust the PCM/ECU to compensate for the change in speedometer readings.
do you know how much they charge?
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:36 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_tyler_r

do you know how much they charge?
A **** load!! Lol prolly like 300-400
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:36 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos

A **** load!! Lol prolly like 300-400
lol like, for gears, install, and everything?
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 05:14 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
nosympathy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: none
Region: Ohio
Posts: 3,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_tyler_r

lol like, for gears, install, and everything?
Try 1200. That is what I was quoted. I laughed my way out of the dealership. Local mustang only shop did it all parts included for 550+tax.
__________________
MustangEvolution ROCKS MY SOCKS!!!
nosympathy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 06:15 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
m_tyler_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Arlington
Region: Texas
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosympathy

Try 1200. That is what I was quoted. I laughed my way out of the dealership. Local mustang only shop did it all parts included for 550+tax.
sounds closer to it lol
__________________
Betty White

2012 V6
m_tyler_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



12:07 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.