Max speed on a 2013 v6? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 12-17-2012, 04:03 AM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to mustangSAAN
Max speed on a 2013 v6?

Does anybody know what the max speed on a 2013 Mustang V6?
__________________
MUSTANG SAAAAN!! ;)
mustangSAAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2012, 07:36 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
13savage6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Washington
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by mustangSAAN View Post
Does anybody know what the max speed on a 2013 Mustang V6?
115 mph stock
13savage6 is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 08:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
My 12 can go 125 stock? I thought the 2013 foxed the driveshaft problems.
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2012, 09:03 AM   #4
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Really? I thought all '11^ V6's were governed at 115mph? Did you buy it new? My '11 F150 is governed at 95mph. I was like wtf? Lol
primer2tone is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:06 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
Hmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,312
Send a message via AIM to Hmiller
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning View Post
My 12 can go 125 stock? I thought the 2013 foxed the driveshaft problems.
I heard the drive shaft problem was with the 11-12 and it was fixed when the 13 came out ....


Hmm I have a 13 want me to go test it for you? Hehe just kidding

Here's a link...
http://m.jalopnik.com/5869650/why-do...keep-exploding
__________________
VOTE For MOTM!!!!!!
Hmiller is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:12 AM   #6
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hmiller View Post

Hmm I have a 13 want me to go test it for you? Hehe just kidding

Here's a link...
http://m.jalopnik.com/5869650/why-do...keep-exploding
Get a tune on your '13 and then test the driveshaft at top speed. Lol, jk don't.
primer2tone is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:13 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
Hmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,312
Send a message via AIM to Hmiller
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

Get a tune on your '13 and then test the driveshaft at top speed. Lol, jk don't.
Hmmmmm .......
__________________
VOTE For MOTM!!!!!!
Hmiller is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:17 AM   #8
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hmiller View Post

Hmmmmm .......
But do get a tune! That would be good.
primer2tone is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:17 AM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
Hmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,312
Send a message via AIM to Hmiller
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

But do get a tune! That would be good.
yeah I do need one ... One day I will haha
__________________
VOTE For MOTM!!!!!!
Hmiller is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 10:50 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlackedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 744
Driveshaft issue was not fixed on the 13s...same cheap ole' driveshaft. If you want to go triple digit speeds, get a aluminum/carbon fiber driveshaft first.
__________________
2012 V6 Performance Package
BlackedStang is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 11:47 AM   #11
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedStang View Post
Driveshaft issue was not fixed on the 13s...same cheap ole' driveshaft. If you want to go triple digit speeds, get a aluminum/carbon fiber driveshaft first.
Maybe just the early '13's...I heard the latter released '13's had a new once piece driveshaft. Not sure if they are rated though for any higher speeds.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 12:09 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
wheelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 1,187
I believe the 13's are still two-piece, but lighter.
wheelman is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 12:23 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 4
Send a message via Skype™ to mustangSAAN
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
Really? I thought all '11^ V6's were governed at 115mph? Did you buy it new? My '11 F150 is governed at 95mph. I was like wtf? Lol
Yes brand new!
__________________
MUSTANG SAAAAN!! ;)
mustangSAAN is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 03:54 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
Really? I thought all '11^ V6's were governed at 115mph? Did you buy it new? My '11 F150 is governed at 95mph. I was like wtf? Lol
My speedo will read 120 and the needle will be between the 120 and the tick mark so really 123ish. The shaft in my yer range will snap at 135 speed wise but any amount of force on it for an extended time will snap it
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 08:11 PM   #15
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,225
The governor is still on the stock tune, we hit it on the dyno doing some testing this past Saturday.

But the 2013 driveshaft is different. No longer the two piece with center carrier bearing. It is a one piece aluminum, looks very similar to the Shaftmasters 4" I had on my 2006. My car was built in June 2012 - but when I asked the parts guy at the dealership to look it up to confirm, he did say there is a note about early build and later build 2013's - and the 2011-12 has a different part number and the pictures on their locator show different driveshafts.
JimC is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 08:43 PM   #16
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
I wonder if those one piece shafts will fit the '11 & '12 V6 and if they're cheaper then buying an aftermarket one?
primer2tone is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 08:52 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
I wonder if those one piece shafts will fit the '11 & '12 V6 and if they're cheaper then buying an aftermarket one?
I think so. But my question is, can you bury the needle like the GT. that's one big kicker for me to make a switch when I can afford it
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 08:57 PM   #18
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning View Post

I think so. But my question is, can you bury the needle like the GT. that's one big kicker for me to make a switch when I can afford it
You could sinks a shat load of money into it and make it faster or you could trade up.

Personally, I'd trade up.
primer2tone is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 09:04 PM   #19
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post
I wonder if those one piece shafts will fit the '11 & '12 V6 and if they're cheaper then buying an aftermarket one?
Can't tell you on the price. The parts guy said they aren't available yet.
JimC is offline  
Old 12-17-2012, 10:14 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

You could sinks a shat load of money into it and make it faster or you could trade up.

Personally, I'd trade up.
That's what I'm thinking about doing. It's either trade up or get a new edge GT to sink my money in. It'll be the manual so I can choose what I want to drive. Some days I hate auto some days I love it. But the older GT stock can keep up with the v6 but the mods do more
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:34 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoshLSTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
Maybe just the early '13's...I heard the latter released '13's had a new once piece driveshaft. Not sure if they are rated though for any higher speeds.
My 2013 was built on 10/09/2012, and it has a two piece driveshaft. I just had my car up on a lift this weekend to install my Magnaflow's, and was disappointed when I saw the two piece driveshaft.
__________________
2013 Sterling Grey V6 Premium - Ordered: 9/18/2012 Built: 10/09/2012 Arrived: 10/25/2012 Picked up: 10/27/2012
6MT | Pony Pkg | Comfort Pkg | Magnaflow Street Catback | DG Custom Auto Painted Louvers | WeatherTech Floor Liners | Jaeger Brothers Front Splash Guards
JoshLSTV is offline  
Old 12-19-2012, 01:04 PM   #22
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshLSTV View Post
My 2013 was built on 10/09/2012, and it has a two piece driveshaft. I just had my car up on a lift this weekend to install my Magnaflow's, and was disappointed when I saw the two piece driveshaft.
Drat! You'll only get 115 MPH out of it. Don't fret though; that's still enough to get you a hefty speeding ticket!
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 04:34 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoshLSTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisville
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
Drat! You'll only get 115 MPH out of it. Don't fret though; that's still enough to get you a hefty speeding ticket!
Haha, I got a 25 mph over speeding ticket not long after I turned 17, and nowadays I pretty much keep it 10 mph or under over the limit. IMO there's no reason to be going that fast on a public road. I've matured a lot since those days, and I'm only 23 now.

I'm not worried too much about the driveshaft. When my warranty expires I plan to put 3.73 gears in it, and I'll just swap the driveshaft at that point.
__________________
2013 Sterling Grey V6 Premium - Ordered: 9/18/2012 Built: 10/09/2012 Arrived: 10/25/2012 Picked up: 10/27/2012
6MT | Pony Pkg | Comfort Pkg | Magnaflow Street Catback | DG Custom Auto Painted Louvers | WeatherTech Floor Liners | Jaeger Brothers Front Splash Guards
JoshLSTV is offline  
Old 12-20-2012, 06:01 AM   #24
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoshLSTV View Post
My 2013 was built on 10/09/2012, and it has a two piece driveshaft. I just had my car up on a lift this weekend to install my Magnaflow's, and was disappointed when I saw the two piece driveshaft.
I wonder if the difference is you have a manual and I have an automatic? I didn't ask the parts guy about the manual transmission cars. I'll have to ask him on Saturday when I go pick up the part I ordered.
JimC is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 02:02 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
mrkrabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 767
The top speed on the 13' v6 is 113 I believe. If you want to go faster, AM sells a one piece aluminum driveshaft for $700, get that and a tune and you will be good to go. I imagine with those two things you will be able to hit the 140's.

But before doing that, if you don't have the performance package, trade out your tires for z-rated, you don't want a blowout!

Also, I just had this thought, maybe you get the better driveshaft with the Performance package? Next time I'm at my dealer (which will be soon) i'll ask.
mrkrabz is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 02:52 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkrabz View Post
The top speed on the 13' v6 is 113 I believe. If you want to go faster, AM sells a one piece aluminum driveshaft for $700, get that and a tune and you will be good to go. I imagine with those two things you will be able to hit the 140's.

But before doing that, if you don't have the performance package, trade out your tires for z-rated, you don't want a blowout!

Also, I just had this thought, maybe you get the better driveshaft with the Performance package? Next time I'm at my dealer (which will be soon) i'll ask.
Ill push for 150. Mines am auto and the rev limiter stops at 3k @115-120. Not sure exactly because of tire size. It still wants to go for more but the system won't let it. I can run 118mph tires at that speed with not a whole lot of heat or wear. I didn't do it long though, maybe 1/4 mile.
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline  
Old 12-22-2012, 09:31 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black on Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Perry, GA
Region: Georgia
Posts: 7,204
I did over 130 in my stock manual 2011 once.... Before I herd of the driveshaft problems and I guess I was lucky. I have had no problems. I also have the performance pack.
Black on Boss is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 01:18 AM   #28
Registered User
Newbie
 
barthimself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Europe
Posts: 6
Me too,
i have a 2011 v6 aut. and did not know about the driveshaft.
So i removed the limiter and got 245km/u. on the German Autobahn.(153 miles/hour)
But after that i did not do it anymore because the risk of the shaft, so i think a 2013 will go as fast as my 2011 or even more ??
barthimself is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 02:07 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
mrkrabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by barthimself View Post
Me too,
i have a 2011 v6 aut. and did not know about the driveshaft.
So i removed the limiter and got 245km/u. on the German Autobahn.(153 miles/hour)
But after that i did not do it anymore because the risk of the shaft, so i think a 2013 will go as fast as my 2011 or even more ??
You had to have some mods on that. A stock v6 will not go 153.
mrkrabz is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 10:21 AM   #30
Registered User
Newbie
 
barthimself's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Europe
Posts: 6
Sorry to disappoint you, but really, 153 miles/hour=245km/u, just a CAI and speedlimiter removed.
Yes, the v6 is that fast.....
barthimself is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:24 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
mrkrabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by barthimself View Post
Sorry to disappoint you, but really, 153 miles/hour=245km/u, just a CAI and speedlimiter removed.
Yes, the v6 is that fast.....
Did they know you were buying it from Europe? Perhaps they build the European cars a bit different. Anway, a CAI is considered a mod, so you did mod the car. But I don't think a CAI would give you that much of a boost. Like I said, when I take mine into my dealer soon, i'll ask him to explain everything .
mrkrabz is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:27 PM   #32
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkrabz View Post

Did they know you were buying it from Europe? Perhaps they build the European cars a bit different. Anway, a CAI is considered a mod, so you did mod the car. But I don't think a CAI would give you that much of a boost. Like I said, when I take mine into my dealer soon, i'll ask him to explain everything .
215-225hp Fox and SN-95 push rod 5.0L will run 150.. Why wouldn't a 300hp 6 do it?
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:33 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
mrkrabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadsp0t View Post
215-225hp Fox and SN-95 push rod 5.0L will run 150.. Why wouldn't a 300hp 6 do it?
Well, first off how much HP and the size of the engine do not directly correlate to top speed. Also, we were talking about the possibility of the 13' drive shafts being bad, so that's why I am shocked that he could hit the 150's when they are reported to snap in the 130's. That's why I am wondering if they build the European fleet with different performance parts. Or, people who have had their shaft snap just had a lemon. Its one or the other.
mrkrabz is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:36 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkrabz View Post

Did they know you were buying it from Europe? Perhaps they build the European cars a bit different. Anway, a CAI is considered a mod, so you did mod the car. But I don't think a CAI would give you that much of a boost. Like I said, when I take mine into my dealer soon, i'll ask him to explain everything .
All mustangs are built in Michigan I believe.
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline  
Old 12-23-2012, 12:39 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
mrkrabz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning View Post
All mustangs are built in Michigan I believe.
Right, but if he is having it shipped overseas, they would see that. Maybe they build them different on the line. I know that there are a few differences with the tail lights, due to some laws in Europe, so why not change other things.
mrkrabz is offline  
Closed Thread

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:48 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.