3.73 GEARS - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-14-2013, 11:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
3.73 GEARS

Alright guys and gals is it really woth the $ to put 3.73 gears in my 12 v6 6spd?
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2013, 11:13 PM   #2
ME Bloodhound
Staff
 
Soccerluvr4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sacramento/Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 14,683
YES!!!!!!!!
__________________

Bullitt build paused pending graduation

HID end all thread
Soccerluvr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 11:19 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Venomouz831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Seaside
Region: California
Posts: 8,133
Yup
__________________
)02 Gt, Founder of WE2G
Venomouz831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2013, 11:45 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
sprdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: GTA
Region: Canada
Posts: 148
Yes!! I just put 3.55s in mine and my biggest problem is keeping my foot out of it.
It cost me about a $1000 with parts and labour but, everything costs more here in Canada.Best upgrade I have done.
sprdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 12:05 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprdave View Post
Yes!! I just put 3.55s in mine and my biggest problem is keeping my foot out of it.
It cost me about a $1000 with parts and labour but, everything costs more here in Canada.Best upgrade I have done.
WTF!!!!! It should'nt cost more then 700 and that's even getting it installed by ford!! It costs me 150 for install and 160 for gears and then 90 for install kit with bearing
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 12:51 AM   #6
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
SCCofSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Burbank,Well, Close enough!
Region: California
Posts: 366
My answer is, Most Definitely Yes!

Although, my pony is a 2007 and not a 2012, l absolutely love the difference! I had 3.31 in originally and because either my Carrier and Pinion bearing was going out, l had to purchased a Motive Installation bearing kit and then upgraded to 3.73 gears. I just had them installed this past Friday! I couldn't be any happier. My car was sluggish when accelerating. NOT ANY MORE. It's quicker off the line. I used to say, "Let's Go!" Now I Say, "Let's Went!".

I can tell you that l now am using my 5th gear on the freeway a lot more.
SCCofSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 01:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Schram1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 289
Yes if you dont mind loosing your mpg
__________________
Borla catback s-type Borla Long tube off road x pipe
Jlt carbon fiber intake / BBk TB
J&M panhard bar J&M extreme lower control arm /relo
koni STR.T RTR wheels NT555/ Shelby Baer 6P
DSS Aluminum 3.5/3.73 gears
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1cm4Di-zmZA
Schram1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 09:59 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
A couple Mpg's isn't that big of a deal
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 11:41 AM   #9
Registered User
Newbie
 
Daffire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: outaouais
Region: Canada
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post
WTF!!!!! It should'nt cost more then 700 and that's even getting it installed by ford!! It costs me 150 for install and 160 for gears and then 90 for install kit with bearing
The prices in Canada are crazy compared to the US for the Gears. I also was quoted 1000-1300 from Shops around here. There is such a difference that it might be worth a while to have the gears swapped in the US.....
Daffire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 12:05 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
sprdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: GTA
Region: Canada
Posts: 148
Yes they are!!! We can buy the parts from the US,but by the time we pay duty and shipping on them we are paying 30% more.I'm in Ontario and factor in another 15% combined Fed and Provincial tax.I wouldn't even think about my Ford dealer, labour work is way to costly.
sprdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 12:10 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprdave View Post
Yes they are!!! We can buy the parts from the US,but by the time we pay duty and shipping on them we are paying 30% more.I'm in Ontario and factor in another 15% combined Fed and Provincial tax.I wouldn't even think about my Ford dealer, labour work is way to costly.
You should just make a trip down to the states lol
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 07:28 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013MustangV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: California
Posts: 42
100% fo sho!
2013MustangV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:39 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Marc3.71994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Region: California
Posts: 139
Would 3.55 gears decrease top end speed?
Marc3.71994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:49 AM   #14
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc3.71994 View Post
Would 3.55 gears decrease top end speed?
If you're going from 3.73's to 3.55's? Then no, it'll increase your top speed.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 02:07 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Marc3.71994's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Region: California
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by primer2tone View Post

If you're going from 3.73's to 3.55's? Then no, it'll increase your top speed.
Alright thanks, Ill stick with my 3.31's
Marc3.71994 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:18 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
$500 plus tax at Steeda. thats gears, install kit, new bearings and labor.... installed and everything. Plus you can rest easy knowing your baby is being taken care of by some of the best. If your in FL thats the best price installed that I was able to find.
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:40 PM   #17
It's not me, it's you.
Regular
Supporter
 
primer2tone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Corpus Christi
Region: Texas
Posts: 6,752
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
$500 plus tax at Steeda. thats gears, install kit, new bearings and labor.... installed and everything. Plus you can rest easy knowing your baby is being taken care of by some of the best. If your in FL thats the best price installed that I was able to find.
That's pretty cool.
primer2tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:10 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
mpachal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 22
I assume the speedo needs to be re-calibrated once the new gears are installed???
mpachal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:15 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
New speedomometer gear is required
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:41 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
mpachal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 22
I might be mistaken but I think my speedo is electronic with no cable??
mpachal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:56 PM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
monkey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprdave View Post
Yes!! I just put 3.55s in mine and my biggest problem is keeping my foot out of it.
It cost me about a $1000 with parts and labour but, everything costs more here in Canada.Best upgrade I have done.
Yup that's Canada for u lol.. Where u live at??
monkey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:10 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
Speed sensors still have gears on them in some vehicles. Most people just get a tuner and retune the computer for the new gears. You can also adjust for tire sizes that way.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:22 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
sprdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: GTA
Region: Canada
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkey13 View Post
Yup that's Canada for u lol.. Where u live at??
I live in Brampton,just outside of the Gta area.
sprdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:47 PM   #24
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
SCCofSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Burbank,Well, Close enough!
Region: California
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2300turboford View Post
New speedomometer gear is required
Say What????

Is this for all mustangs? Or just Auto Trans or just Manual trans?

Because, I was told all I had to do after the install, was to plug in
my Sfx3 Tuner... Dang I knew if I didn't write it down I forget! But it was something, well forget that part, but the last thing, I was to scroll down until I saw rear Axle and then something about input, oh! I remember I was to click on Axle Ratio and then in put 3.73 and press accept or enter.

Perhap I should contact Bama again
SCCofSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:52 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
Crowned1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ntbruncie View Post
Alright guys and gals is it really woth the $ to put 3.73 gears in my 12 v6 6spd?
hellllll yes
Crowned1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:53 PM   #26
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
SCCofSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Burbank,Well, Close enough!
Region: California
Posts: 366
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanguin View Post
Speed sensors still have gears on them in some vehicles. Most people just get a tuner and retune the computer for the new gears. You can also adjust for tire sizes that way.
Whew!!! Okay, I must be in the "most people" category!
SCCofSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:16 PM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
Ntbruncie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: PHOENIX
Region: Arizona
Posts: 997
Wow I can't believe it my local dealer quoted me 500 just for the install
Ntbruncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:05 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
monkey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by sprdave View Post
I live in Brampton,just outside of the Gta area.
Hamilton here.... I work gta area am actually in brampton tomorrow lol
monkey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 12:13 AM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013MustangV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: California
Posts: 42
Jba speedshop in San Diego installed my 3.73. I ended up dropping $775 otd. That included everything (Gear, bearing, fluid, labor, speedometer calibration). They've replaced many 2.73 gears... that is why I got their business. No issues and enjoying the way the car gets off the line now.
2013MustangV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:15 AM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2013MustangV6 View Post
Jba speedshop in San Diego installed my 3.73. I ended up dropping $775 otd. That included everything (Gear, bearing, fluid, labor, speedometer calibration). They've replaced many 2.73 gears... that is why I got their business. No issues and enjoying the way the car gets off the line now.
Holy sh*t buddy u got ripped off
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:34 AM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
wheelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 1,187
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2300turboford View Post

Holy sh*t buddy u got ripped off
Thats actually a pretty average price and he lives in CA.
wheelman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 07:52 AM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
2300turboford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: london
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 2,903
Why installing gears isn't that hard why do they charge so much
__________________
"Racing is life ,anything before or after is just waiting "-the king of cool -Steve McQueen
2300turboford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:34 AM   #33
Moderator Emeritus
Regular
 
deadsp0t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: MidWorld
Region: Other
Posts: 4,786
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2300turboford View Post
Why installing gears isn't that hard why do they charge so much
Putting them in is Ez, doing it RIGHT not so much.
__________________
That's unimpressive
deadsp0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:35 AM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2300turboford View Post
Why installing gears isn't that hard why do they charge so much
Simple job, just time consuming to get it perfect the first time!
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 11:45 AM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: miramar
Region: Florida
Posts: 153
very stupid question .... what does it change when u change from what the stock is to a 3.55 or a 3.73 ? like what does it do to the feel and drive of the car ..?
dozer 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:13 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.