Mpg just went to crap. - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-16-2013, 09:13 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Mpg just went to crap.

My mpg has been a rough 30-34 ever since I got it. Ever since the last oil change, I've only gotten 16-22. What gives? Anyone experience a drastic drop in mpg?
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2013, 09:27 AM   #2
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
One heck of a drop

I would say the brand gas you use probably went from summer blend to winter blend along with the cold weather your car probably runs richer then in the summer. The computer does this. It will adjust for a richer mixture when the temperture goes down. Even here in Florida the gas company's have their summer blend and winter blend. My car went from 25/27MPG down to 22/25MPG since the winter blend. I'm sure you and I and not only Mustang owners notice this. Also, this is not a new thing, the gas companies have been doing this for years.

Check it out >http://auto.howstuffworks.com/fuel-e...mmer-fuel1.htm

Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:11 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning View Post
My mpg has been a rough 30-34 ever since I got it. Ever since the last oil change, I've only gotten 16-22. What gives? Anyone experience a drastic drop in mpg?
Reset the mpg while on the freeway on cruise control at 60-65mph depending on ur speed limit and then drive 8-12miles. That should fix it and don't drive it hard for acouple more miles in the city after this aswell

---------- Post added at 09:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

Reset the mpg while on the freeway on cruise control at 60-65mph depending on ur speed limit and then drive 8-12miles. That should fix it and don't drive it hard for acouple more miles in the city after this aswell
My car started telling me I was getting 13mpg once and I was like wtf!!
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2013, 11:40 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Gtzzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Myrtle Beach
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,417
ouch
__________________

"Slimer" 2013 V6 Premium 6MT
"What you have here sir, is a class 5 full roaming vapor, a real nasty fella!" Ray Stanz (Dan Akroyd) in Ghostbusters
Gtzzoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 11:43 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
2Greeny7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 776
Send a message via Skype™ to 2Greeny7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie948 View Post
I would say the brand gas you use probably went from summer blend to winter blend along with the cold weather your car probably runs richer then in the summer. The computer does this. It will adjust for a richer mixture when the temperture goes down. Even here in Florida the gas company's have their summer blend and winter blend. My car went from 25/27MPG down to 22/25MPG since the winter blend. I'm sure you and I and not only Mustang owners notice this. Also, this is not a new thing, the gas companies have been doing this for years.

Check it out >http://auto.howstuffworks.com/fuel-e...mmer-fuel1.htm

Ronnie
You sir just solved my problems! Thank you!
__________________
2001 V6
CAI, SF3/X3 Tuner, 4.10 Gears, Auburn lim-slip
GT4 Rims (Summer), Stock Rims (Winter)
2 Subs, New speakers all around
1 Great Car 1 Happy Kid
July '12 Mustang of the Month
2Greeny7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:21 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
mpachal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 22
when my car was new it seemed the dash computer was accurate to the gas I was putting in. for the last several fills the dash has read way more fule used than I am putting in. not sure why but it's obvious that the car is understating the MPG.
mpachal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:25 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
UltArc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning
My mpg has been a rough 30-34 ever since I got it. Ever since the last oil change, I've only gotten 16-22. What gives? Anyone experience a drastic drop in mpg?
How accurate is your car to the actual mpg? Do you use any other instruments?
__________________
2012 Mustang EPA: 19/29
2012 AeroStang: 40/46

My sponsor, Tokkyo Nutrition, offers 50% off your entire order with the code "PowerHouse"
UltArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:58 PM   #8
Legacy Member
Legacy
 
lowflyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 19,890
Send a message via AIM to lowflyn
The computer read is inaccurate...do it the old fashion way.
__________________
"I'm not driving too fast...just flying too low"
Mine:
-03 SB Cobra vert- 2552 of 5082 Born 02/25/03
Our's:
90 7up vert - new project-07 DSG Focus -DD
335
lowflyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:06 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
mpachal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 22
the dash usualy reads 13 L/100km and my actual is closer to 11.5. thats just using my KM driven with how many L of fuel it takes to fill. it's been consistant over 5 fills.
mpachal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:58 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
Mine has always been off, saying I use more than I do. However, I'm getting 2mpg less due to winter blend and engine warm ups. I've noticed this with EVERY vehicle I've owned. It's completely normal.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by mpachal View Post
when my car was new it seemed the dash computer was accurate to the gas I was putting in. for the last several fills the dash has read way more fule used than I am putting in. not sure why but it's obvious that the car is understating the MPG.
My car does this too.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:34 PM ----------

I may also add that I use only shell 87 octane. I use what is said on the oil cap 5w-20 also. My computer is reset every two tanks and it currently reads 16 mpg city driving lately. And our highway is limited to 45 mph(speed trap). Another thing is that my last check engine light was a fuel sensor. Ever since it tripped its all went to hell. Also when I drop to 35 miles or so to E and full up, it trips the check engine light every time.

---------- Post added at 08:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by UltArc View Post

How accurate is your car to the actual mpg? Do you use any other instruments?
By accurate you mean old school way? Idk how to do it that way. I usually have been looking at my miles till empty and how many miles I drive and that's how I can tell its off. Then again that theory is off too since the miles till E changes by 5-15. But when it says 16-22 ill go through a tank in 3 days. 30-34 ill go maybe 2 weeks if running all the way down to E
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:42 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
If your light is a fuel level sensor, it might use that to help calculate mpg somehow. Use the pump + calculator method.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:47 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
UltArc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning

My car does this too.

---------- Post added at 08:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:34 PM ----------

I may also add that I use only shell 87 octane. I use what is said on the oil cap 5w-20 also. My computer is reset every two tanks and it currently reads 16 mpg city driving lately. And our highway is limited to 45 mph(speed trap). Another thing is that my last check engine light was a fuel sensor. Ever since it tripped its all went to hell. Also when I drop to 35 miles or so to E and full up, it trips the check engine light every time.

---------- Post added at 08:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 PM ----------



By accurate you mean old school way? Idk how to do it that way. I usually have been looking at my miles till empty and how many miles I drive and that's how I can tell its off. Then again that theory is off too since the miles till E changes by 5-15. But when it says 16-22 ill go through a tank in 3 days. 30-34 ill go maybe 2 weeks if running all the way down to E
Lol, its simple!

Miles per gallon!

Miles divided by gallons.

I drove 478.2739miles.
I refilled with 15.345 gallons.
Miles per gallon
478.2739 / 15.345 = 31.168061 miles per gallon.

Ah, and my scanguage said 30.6 mpg, while the car said 29.6. So both were off, as usual, and the sg was closer.
__________________
2012 Mustang EPA: 19/29
2012 AeroStang: 40/46

My sponsor, Tokkyo Nutrition, offers 50% off your entire order with the code "PowerHouse"
UltArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 05:06 AM   #14
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
I reset my MPG every time I refuel. This gives the best accurate readings.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:23 AM   #15
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
Only one way to get best average MPG

First ==Fill your tank setting odometer to zero

Second== drive at least 300 or more miles

Third== Fill the tank leaving the odometer alone

forth== drive another 200 or 300 miles

Fill the tank and write down your exact milage.

Add the gallons for both fill ups together.

Then devide the total miles you went BY the combined gallons of gas you used.

Now you have the true Miles per gallon your car gets.

This is the tried and true method that people have been using for a million or so years. Check this MPG against your dash readout and I'm sure they will be different.

Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:27 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
thejohncarlson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 276
I reset the average mpg in the computer every time I fill up. I also track my mileage manually using an iPhone app.

The computer has been dead on every tank since I started doing it this way.
thejohncarlson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:27 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie948 View Post
First ==Fill your tank setting odometer to zero

Second== drive at least 300 or more miles

Third== Fill the tank leaving the odometer alone

forth== drive another 200 or 300 miles

Fill the tank and write down your exact milage.

Add the gallons for both fill ups together.

Then devide the total miles you went BY the combined gallons of gas you used.

Now you have the true Miles per gallon your car gets.

This is the tried and true method that people have been using for a million or so years. Check this MPG against your dash readout and I'm sure they will be different.

Ronnie
Lol "millions of years" :p
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 03:29 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
UltArc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronnie948
First ==Fill your tank setting odometer to zero

Second== drive at least 300 or more miles

Third== Fill the tank leaving the odometer alone

forth== drive another 200 or 300 miles

Fill the tank and write down your exact milage.

Add the gallons for both fill ups together.

Then devide the total miles you went BY the combined gallons of gas you used.

Now you have the true Miles per gallon your car gets.

This is the tried and true method that people have been using for a million or so years. Check this MPG against your dash readout and I'm sure they will be different.

Ronnie
Yepp lol

I don't add two and then divide, but I keep track of every tank. So if one tank of 400 miles is 20 mpg, and the next tank of 400 miles is 40 mpg, it balances out and makes sense. Drastic example, but that is the purpose of it. On ecomodder, people get real particular and always use the same pump,so on. I just always use autofill on the pump, and get the cheapest fuel.
__________________
2012 Mustang EPA: 19/29
2012 AeroStang: 40/46

My sponsor, Tokkyo Nutrition, offers 50% off your entire order with the code "PowerHouse"
UltArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 06:32 PM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by UltArc View Post

Yepp lol

I don't add two and then divide, but I keep track of every tank. So if one tank of 400 miles is 20 mpg, and the next tank of 400 miles is 40 mpg, it balances out and makes sense. Drastic example, but that is the purpose of it. On ecomodder, people get real particular and always use the same pump,so on. I just always use autofill on the pump, and get the cheapest fuel.
I use the same station and gas. I auto fill then if possible round to the nearest quarter.
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 04:43 AM   #20
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitelightning View Post
I use the same station and gas. I auto fill then if possible round to the nearest quarter.
When I used a SCANGUAGE-II in my F150 (plugged into the OBD-II connector), they too recommended you use the same station, the same pump, and fuel the same time of day (temperature) to get the best, accurate readings. Not sure though how much difference it would make.

I'm happy with what the built in device provides. Resetting it every tank full works
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 07:41 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Whitelightning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tuscaloosa
Region: Alabama
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
When I used a SCANGUAGE-II in my F150 (plugged into the OBD-II connector), they too recommended you use the same station, the same pump, and fuel the same time of day (temperature) to get the best, accurate readings. Not sure though how much difference it would make.

I'm happy with what the built in device provides. Resetting it every tank full works
I always fuel up around 7:30ish am coming into work (different town) or when I get home at around 6. In the summer I paid nearly 1-2 more deepening but that was in the middle of the day on a road trip. In the winter I would think whenever since its 33 to 65 in Alabama.
__________________
Any Speed over 55 mph may kill you... that's why i drive 60
Whitelightning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



05:03 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.