HELP! My A/C is freakin out - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-22-2013, 02:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
HELP! My A/C is freakin out

So, im driving to work and reach over to turn down my Air Conditioning. I spin the knob as usual to lower the fan speed and everything just go wacky. my fan go's to full blast on it's own then drops down then up then down. it stoped about 10 seconds later and now I can see two separate temperatures in the top right and left corners of my display. I also lost the outside air temp reading that should have been bottom right. I turned the air back on and it works fine, fan responds as it should, temp controls work, basically everything works as it should minus the random temp's on the top and my missing exterior temp. at no time did this seem to effect any other aspect of my car. I parked at work, turned off the car, pulled the keys out and opened and closed my door to reset everything. started the car back up and everything went back to the way it should be. Only happened this one time but really, what the heck.... any ideas?
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 02:46 PM   #2
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Johnston
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 9
It has something to do with the heat. I left my car parked at rhe beach all day during this past summer and a similar thing happened. It displayed two temp reading which both said 88 (probably for dual zone climate control equipped cars). I don't think theres anything wrong. Mine hasn't done it since.
jazzyfizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 02:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
yea.... thing is, i was driving so the car should not have been all that hot.... then again, i do live in FL. and i think mine showed 88 as well but thats just because it a digital number and an 8 would be full power or full spectrum input. still.... concerning
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 03:56 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
So, im driving to work and reach over to turn down my Air Conditioning. I spin the knob as usual to lower the fan speed and everything just go wacky. my fan go's to full blast on it's own then drops down then up then down. it stoped about 10 seconds later and now I can see two separate temperatures in the top right and left corners of my display. I also lost the outside air temp reading that should have been bottom right. I turned the air back on and it works fine, fan responds as it should, temp controls work, basically everything works as it should minus the random temp's on the top and my missing exterior temp. at no time did this seem to effect any other aspect of my car. I parked at work, turned off the car, pulled the keys out and opened and closed my door to reset everything. started the car back up and everything went back to the way it should be. Only happened this one time but really, what the heck.... any ideas?
Oh yea I can actually turn that feature on/off it's a testing feature for ford.
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 05:48 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
But how did it just get activated randomly? I know you can screw with stuff if you turn your hazards on and off, I can't remember what it was but I did it on accident while screwing around in the driveway one day. Maybe I just so happened to press buttons in some order that put it test mode? Big thing is, I didn't want it to be a warranty issue cuz I'm tuned.
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 06:31 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
But how did it just get activated randomly? I know you can screw with stuff if you turn your hazards on and off, I can't remember what it was but I did it on accident while screwing around in the driveway one day. Maybe I just so happened to press buttons in some order that put it test mode? Big thing is, I didn't want it to be a warranty issue cuz I'm tuned.
I can toggle it on/off pressing the defrost and on button
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
Gtzzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Myrtle Beach
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 1,417
hmmmm.....wish they had just put dual climate control in these things...everybody else has it.....
would have been happier though with 2 different heat seatings on my leather seats.....get warm fast..then downright uncomfortable after 3 mins
__________________

"Slimer" 2013 V6 Premium 6MT
"What you have here sir, is a class 5 full roaming vapor, a real nasty fella!" Ray Stanz (Dan Akroyd) in Ghostbusters
Gtzzoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:31 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
So, im driving to work and reach over to turn down my Air Conditioning. I spin the knob as usual to lower the fan speed and everything just go wacky. my fan go's to full blast on it's own then drops down then up then down. it stoped about 10 seconds later and now I can see two separate temperatures in the top right and left corners of my display. I also lost the outside air temp reading that should have been bottom right. I turned the air back on and it works fine, fan responds as it should, temp controls work, basically everything works as it should minus the random temp's on the top and my missing exterior temp. at no time did this seem to effect any other aspect of my car. I parked at work, turned off the car, pulled the keys out and opened and closed my door to reset everything. started the car back up and everything went back to the way it should be. Only happened this one time but really, what the heck.... any ideas?
Is that what ur talking about?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2532801483.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	467.8 KB
ID:	86946  
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 12:28 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
Yes, but my exterior temp is not lit up at all....
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 04:47 AM   #10
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Is it under warranty? If so and it happens again, take it in for service.

At my dealership, I get free donuts and coffee while I wait! Plus I can drool over the new Mustangs on the lot.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:45 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
yea, it's under warranty but I would have to pull off my exhaust tubes that dump just before the rear axle and put the stock stuff back on. I also have a tune so im kinda up the creek without a paddle...... it is fine now, only did it once so i think im just going to wait it out and see what happens. If it becomes a reoccurring thing I will take it in.
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:11 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
I wouldn't bother with removing any exhaust things. Reflash back to factory tune and take it in when you have to. Play stupid. Stupid people run society and get their way... lol
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:37 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
I was planning on loading stock then putting at least 50 miles on my car so the ECU takes a fresh reading. That will clear out the specifics of the tune from the computer. It will still show that the ECU was connected to and maybe some other things but the majority of the information is overwritten... thats the way I understand it at least, it was that way with my old Chevy.
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 01:55 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
I was planning on loading stock then putting at least 50 miles on my car so the ECU takes a fresh reading. That will clear out the specifics of the tune from the computer. It will still show that the ECU was connected to and maybe some other things but the majority of the information is overwritten... thats the way I understand it at least, it was that way with my old Chevy.
Our newer ECU's take a digital time stamp of when it was tampered with and with what so they can easily see the tune that was loaded and unloaded easy and when
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:07 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
"Im just a dumb kid, whats a tuner?"
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:05 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
aegischief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 492
There is nothing wrong. The system is capable o supporting dual climate control, it's just that our car don't have it.
aegischief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:52 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
MrMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Canada
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanguin View Post
I wouldn't bother with removing any exhaust things. Reflash back to factory tune and take it in when you have to. Play stupid. Stupid people run society and get their way... lol
Lol. +1
MrMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



01:31 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.