do you NEED to return to stock before loading new tunes on tuner? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-28-2013, 12:53 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
do you NEED to return to stock before loading new tunes on tuner?

Bama always tells you to return your car to stock before uploading new tunes onto your tuner. Is this just in case something happens to your tuner? that way your car is at least set to stock... or does the tuner know what the last tune loaded was and needs to be set to the stock setting? just curious, I fallow bama's directions pretty much exactly but I dont want to load my stock tune on my car just to put another tune on the tuner that I wont use until I get on the dyno anyhow.... AM staff, what say you?
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2013, 04:25 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
2011 Kona Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
Bama always tells you to return your car to stock before uploading new tunes onto your tuner. Is this just in case something happens to your tuner? that way your car is at least set to stock... or does the tuner know what the last tune loaded was and needs to be set to the stock setting? just curious, I fallow bama's directions pretty much exactly but I dont want to load my stock tune on my car just to put another tune on the tuner that I wont use until I get on the dyno anyhow.... AM staff, what say you?
Prior to loading your new tunes from AM you need to return your car back to its stock mode. Once that's done, connect your performance tuner into the computer, check for updates and after load your tunes onto the tuner. Then upload your new desired tune back into your awesome pony
2011 Kona Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:30 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
I know how to do it, just wondering if returning to stock is really necessary... I guess I'll just keep doing what Bama says and stay safe
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2013, 04:35 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
emery2483's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 367
I mean, I would keep returning it to stock because the tuner could crash and you could possibly loose your stock file somehow? I dunno, just my .02 lol
emery2483 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:35 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
2011 Kona Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Maryland
Posts: 7,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
I know how to do it, just wondering if returning to stock is really necessary... I guess I'll just keep doing what Bama says and stay safe
I would assume it is necessary being that AM says it needs to be done in order to make sure the transfer is completed properly.
2011 Kona Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:37 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
Well, some tuners do partial writes and only modify things needed. If you don't return to stock and the tune you're overwriting modified something the new tune doesn't touch, it may combine them and create issues.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 04:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
redstang10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 54
I'm guessing you need to return the car to stock because before the tuner puts the new tune on the car it saves the current tune as the stock tune. Which means if you didn't return your car to the stock tune first you are going to lose it because the tuner saved whatever was on your car as the stock tune. Just my guess lol.
redstang10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 06:29 AM   #8
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by emery2483 View Post
I mean, I would keep returning it to stock because the tuner could crash and you could possibly loose your stock file somehow? I dunno, just my .02 lol
It has happened in the past that a tune has caused problems, and flashing to another tune without going back to stock tune first caused the engine to not start; now you have a dead vehicle that either has to be towed to a dealership for a complete ECM load, or you call the tech support group of the tuner manufacturer you have to get them to help.

And if this is the case, make sure you plan ahead: are they open on the weekends for help with your dead car?

Follow the directions of the tuner manufacturers: go back to stock prior to installing a new tune.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:10 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
It has happened in the past that a tune has caused problems, and flashing to another tune without going back to stock tune first caused the engine to not start; now you have a dead vehicle that either has to be towed to a dealership for a complete ECM load, or you call the tech support group of the tuner manufacturer you have to get them to help.

And if this is the case, make sure you plan ahead: are they open on the weekends for help with your dead car?

Follow the directions of the tuner manufacturers: go back to stock prior to installing a new tune.

yea. not worth turning my car into a pumpkin over..... I'll just do as suggested
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:37 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlackedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 744
I have never returned my car to stock and have had zero problems.
__________________
2012 V6 Performance Package
BlackedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 09:22 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aruiz42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 411
Maybe Dan from American muscle can chime in... I did it by accident before and haven't had a problem... But I don't want to have problems later...
Aruiz42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 11:18 AM   #12
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
If the manufacturer recommends going back to stock prior to changing to another tune, I'd do it. Look at it this way, if you follow directions and something goes wrong, who's to blame? The manufacturer. If you don't follow directions and something goes wrong, who's to blame? You are, and you can only hope the manufacturer will continue to support your mistake, at a price you can live with.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:22 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Aruiz42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 411
I said I did it by accident so that's why I'm asking.... The question remains what are the consequences if any? Can someone with some knowledge of the subject answer?
Aruiz42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 01:26 PM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
Legacy
Regular
 
SpectorV's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Region: Alabama
Posts: 26,049
Send a message via AIM to SpectorV
For my 2003 I dont have to revert back to stock, I can just upload a new tune to the vehicle. The factory tune is backed up in the programmer
__________________
2003 Cobra Vert (Redfire) #3938 of 5082 @ 05/27/2003
472rwhp/493rwtq -Modification List - Dyno Sheet
2012 Mustang 3.7L M6 (Kona Blue)
2011 Ford Edge Sport (Red Metallic)
SpectorV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 06:47 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
GrabberBlue305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectorV View Post
For my 2003 I dont have to revert back to stock, I can just upload a new tune to the vehicle. The factory tune is backed up in the programmer
Exactly
__________________
2011 Mustang 3.7 * Grabber Blue * 3.55 FRPP GEARS *20" Dyno in BF G-Force TA KDW * BBK CAI * Roush Axelbacks * BBR 93 Race Tune
GrabberBlue305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:37 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.