Just got an Intune - Anyone had these issues before? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 02-18-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
Just got an Intune - Anyone had these issues before?

So, I ordered up an Airaid CAI and Diablosport Intune from American Muscle a bit ago and finally got a chance to put them to use on my V6. Wondering if anyone might have any ideas regarding this. I checked around the Diablosport forums, but from what I can tell their CS is pretty unresponsive for the most part and I couldn't find anything directly regarding this. On the plus side, the 87 Custom Street tune from Bama that I am using has changed the car completely. There's no more acceleration hesitation and it now works how I always though a Mustang should (except for a couple of things which I mention below).

However, for whatever reason when idling my RPMs fluctuate between 500-750 or so (sometimes less and sometimes more, but that's the major range). It does this for maybe 5-10 seconds before settling into the 750 range. I saw others with this issue and they said check for CAI leaks and do the idle relearn. I couldn't find any leaks so I did the relearn and nothing changed. Put my car back to stock and the problem instantly disappeared. I read that checking the default RPM on the tune would be a good idea so I attempted to do so, but for some reason the InTune doesn't prompt me to modify the tune before building/writing like the directions say it will and the Adjustable Parameters option doesn't do anything, it just writes the tune. I've run all the InTune updates and it says I have the latest.

Another issue is when traveling, especially in the 30-40mph range, the engine now makes a sound like my CAI is vibrating horribly (the CAI is the area it is coming from). If I decrease my speed even for an instance, this noise immediately stops and doesn't seem to re-occur again until I leave and re-enter the range (it's not a hard 30-40 mph range, but it's close). It doesn't do this with the stock tune, so I don't think it is a CAI install issue.

Also, not directly related to my issue, but something I was unhappy about - half of the menu items just present you with a box that says it hasn't been implemented yet and when it prompts you to verify you selected the right tune if you tell it no and select a tune again, it freezes...every time. Did I really pay $400 for this thing?
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2013, 12:24 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
sprdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: GTA
Region: Canada
Posts: 148
If I was you I would go on the diablo support site.There is a diablo
support rep on there who could probably help you.
sprdave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2013, 02:39 PM   #3
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
I'm sorry to hear about the issues you're having with your inTune. I understand how frustrating it can be when you spend that type of money on a brand new part and run into issues!

I'm going to get you squared away. It sounds like you didn't have any luck finding a vacuum leak and the idle relearn didn't help, also the issue goes away when your revert back to stock. Somethings going within the idle table that we can fix for you in just a few moments!

Shoot me a PM with your order number included and I'll have my head tuning specialist Mike Wilson contact you directly! He'll be able to fix any issues you're having and help you troubleshoot with the freezing screen you're experiencing!

Hang in there, I look forward to hearing from you!

-Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2013, 11:43 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDanBailer View Post
I'm sorry to hear about the issues you're having with your inTune. I understand how frustrating it can be when you spend that type of money on a brand new part and run into issues!

I'm going to get you squared away. It sounds like you didn't have any luck finding a vacuum leak and the idle relearn didn't help, also the issue goes away when your revert back to stock. Somethings going within the idle table that we can fix for you in just a few moments!

Shoot me a PM with your order number included and I'll have my head tuning specialist Mike Wilson contact you directly! He'll be able to fix any issues you're having and help you troubleshoot with the freezing screen you're experiencing!

Hang in there, I look forward to hearing from you!

-Dan
And this folks is why AM is simply the best. Customer service like this is the benchmark for what others need to follow.
tthompson79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 01:09 PM   #5
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by tthompson79 View Post
And this folks is why AM is simply the best. Customer service like this is the benchmark for what others need to follow.
Thank you for the kind words, we really appreciate it! We will always do whatever it takes to make sure all of our customers are in good hands and satisfied.

I received your PM and sent your information over to my head tuning Specialist, Mike Wilson. He will be looking into your file and will send you out new tunes very shortly!

- Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:35 PM   #6
Registered User
Newbie
 
Obokky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 12
Any update, OP - are you all squared away now? What was the fix?
__________________
---
2013 3.7 MT82 Prem/Perf/MCA
Obokky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:16 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
I got an email from Mike from Bama with an updated tune, but when I loaded it on my InTune it said it wasn't a valid file and would attempt to load it after it rebooted. On reboot it doesn't mention anything about the file, but it's gone from the device. Writing the tune to the car results in the same one as before according to the last loaded tune backup it makes so it obviously didn't load it successfully. Looking at the file itself, the header of the file indicates it's for a Predator, which I have been lead to believe is not valid for the InTune.
I responded to Mike's email earlier today, but haven't heard back yet. He mentioned he was out with an illness for a while and that's why it took a day to get an initial response so I wouldn't be surprised if he made it a short day or something. Not a big deal, I'm sure I'll hear back soon enough. People get sick, can't fault them for that.
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:37 AM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Obokky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 12
Okay, thanks. I'm getting really nervous as mine is scheduled to arrive tomorrow and you aren't the only one that has had issues this week on the new inTune. I know they are getting up to speed with their processes and hiccups happen, but that doesn't make it any less nerve-racking. The customer service for everyone experiencing issues does appear to be very good - which is why I decided to take the plunge.
__________________
---
2013 3.7 MT82 Prem/Perf/MCA
Obokky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:56 AM   #9
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by forceflow2 View Post
I got an email from Mike from Bama with an updated tune, but when I loaded it on my InTune it said it wasn't a valid file and would attempt to load it after it rebooted. On reboot it doesn't mention anything about the file, but it's gone from the device. Writing the tune to the car results in the same one as before according to the last loaded tune backup it makes so it obviously didn't load it successfully. Looking at the file itself, the header of the file indicates it's for a Predator, which I have been lead to believe is not valid for the InTune.
I responded to Mike's email earlier today, but haven't heard back yet. He mentioned he was out with an illness for a while and that's why it took a day to get an initial response so I wouldn't be surprised if he made it a short day or something. Not a big deal, I'm sure I'll hear back soon enough. People get sick, can't fault them for that.
I'm really sorry that this issue is still going on. I've notified Mike of this and he will be contacting you again now!

-Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:15 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
Thanks for the followup, Dan. Seems my email didn't make it to Mike for some reason. I've received his and sent a response. Hopefully that one gets through.
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:46 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
After a bit of effort (Mike apparently had to rebuild the tune using my car's original settings file because I guess it was being a pain), my tune issues are now sorted out (and it's prompting me to edit the tune prior to flashing again, no clue why that suddenly reappeared, but I won't question it). Thanks Dan and Mike!
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:05 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
ArtU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDanBailer View Post
I'm really sorry that this issue is still going on. I've notified Mike of this and he will be contacting you again now!

-Dan
Hi Dan, can you help clear up a feature I heard about the nItune. In another post a forum member stated that Diablo In-tune was "Undetectable", per Diablo by the dealer if you removed the tune and put it stock. How can this be with what we know today? Or was the poster misinformed? I just want to be on-tract about that while looking for product.

Original OP, sorry for the momentary segway in topic, I apologize.
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:25 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Obokky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: DFW
Region: Texas
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by forceflow2 View Post
After a bit of effort (Mike apparently had to rebuild the tune using my car's original settings file because I guess it was being a pain), my tune issues are now sorted out (and it's prompting me to edit the tune prior to flashing again, no clue why that suddenly reappeared, but I won't question it). Thanks Dan and Mike!
Great news - and there's that excellent customer service that gave me the confidence to pull the trigger as well!

Thanks for the update.
__________________
---
2013 3.7 MT82 Prem/Perf/MCA
Obokky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:02 AM   #14
AmericanMuscle.com
Sponsor
 
AMDanBailer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtU View Post
Hi Dan, can you help clear up a feature I heard about the nItune. In another post a forum member stated that Diablo In-tune was "Undetectable", per Diablo by the dealer if you removed the tune and put it stock. How can this be with what we know today? Or was the poster misinformed? I just want to be on-tract about that while looking for product.

Original OP, sorry for the momentary segway in topic, I apologize.
I can definitely do my best to clear this up for you. We have heard that the inTune is "undetectable", however I can't confirm or deny this information. Your best bet would be to contact Diablo directly with this question, They will be able to answer any questions you may have!

We don't usually recommend attempting to "hide" from the dealer. If you're worried about your warranty, Just ask the dealer if they're willing to work with you! Some dealers understand the fine lines in a warranty and understand that a tune isn't the cause for any of the issues your car may experience.

I hope this helps!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obokky View Post
Great news - and there's that excellent customer service that gave me the confidence to pull the trigger as well!

Thanks for the update.
Obokky,

I'm glad to hear we've given you some confidence! You're going to be very happy with your tune, I guarantee it. We will also only be one phone call away, the entire time! Just let me know anytime you have a question, concern, need some assistance etc.. and I'll gladly get you squared away.

-Dan
__________________
Dan Bailer | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266| Mon-Fri 9AM-9PM Sat 10AM-4PM EST
Bama Direct: 888.226.9764| Mon-Fri 9AM-5:30PM EST
FREE SAME-DAY SHIPPING IN THE US-48 AND PRICE MATCHING!
AMDanBailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 05:45 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
13 stang22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: fort worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 1,006
hey Dan! how do I get that discount mustang evolution gives when you hit 50 posts or so for AM. the parts I want are quite pricey. any discount would be nice

thanks alot
13 stang22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:55 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
JAC20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Region: Tennessee
Posts: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtU View Post

Hi Dan, can you help clear up a feature I heard about the nItune. In another post a forum member stated that Diablo In-tune was "Undetectable", per Diablo by the dealer if you removed the tune and put it stock. How can this be with what we know today? Or was the poster misinformed? I just want to be on-tract about that while looking for product.

Original OP, sorry for the momentary segway in topic, I apologize.
On afm the rep said that the diablo sport tuners don't reset the key count when tuning so it is undetectable. 99% sure that is what he said.
JAC20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:54 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
ArtU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAC20 View Post
On afm the rep said that the diablo sport tuners don't reset the key count when tuning so it is undetectable. 99% sure that is what he said.
Thanks, I am not actually considering a tune until my warranty is over but I want to be knowledgeable about the issue.
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:51 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
willb2305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LA county
Region: California
Posts: 149
OP my car does the same exact thing the rpms go up and down but only while my car is in park. This started happening with just my longtube headers x pipe and exhaust. I didnt put my intake on for another 500 miles after the header install and it still does the same thing I just learned to live with it cause im used it lol. But I did notice on the AirRaid intake the top hole with the grommet that connects the hose to the manifold isnt 100% sealed against the intake. The weight from the hose seems to keep it from being 100% flush against the rubber grommet. I will take a pic tomorrow to show exactly what im talking about.
__________________
2012 V6
AirRaid CAI, BBK Ceramic LT Headers, BBK Catted X Pipe, Borla ATAK, MPT 93/97 Tune, Steeda LCA's and UCA, Steeda Relocation Brackets, 373 gears, WaveTrac LSD, Dynotech Driveshaft. Prothane Motor Mounts, Whiteline adjustable panhard bar & brace.Ground Control Coilovers with Koni's custom valved. Coming soon Circle D 3800 Stall and Lone Wolf Intake Manifold.
willb2305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



04:26 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.