Tpms - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-03-2013, 01:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
ashpow24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Region: Other
Posts: 266
Tpms

How does this sensor work? Can I swap rims and wheels and use the same sensors? Do I need to recalibrate?
__________________
Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?
ashpow24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2013, 02:03 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashpow24 View Post
How does this sensor work? Can I swap rims and wheels and use the same sensors? Do I need to recalibrate?
The sensors are placed on the rim. They can be carefully removed and placed on new rims and no need to recalibrated . If u buy new ones u can either buy the recalibration tool and calibrate them yourself its pretty easy.
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:40 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
dgrum04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 526
Wait, so you can take the TPMS sensors without taking the tire off?!?!?
__________________
2011 Kona Blue 3.7L. Stock motor. Roush Axle-Back. 19" x 8.5/10" Charcoal AMR's. GT500 Spoiler. Smoked Raxiom Tail Lights. MCA grille. Shorty antenna.

An outstanding DD
dgrum04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-03-2013, 08:47 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
PirateJohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Melbourne
Region: Florida
Posts: 73
When you buy new tires the tpms sensors and recal tool runs an additional $200 I believe. That seems unnecessary. Would it be cheaper to have them add sensors and calibrate at a dealer?

---------- Post added at 09:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:45 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by dgrum04 View Post
Wait, so you can take the TPMS sensors without taking the tire off?!?!?
I don't think so. The sensors are on the inside of the rim and covered by the tire. So they can sense the pressure.
__________________
2013 V6 Premium MT "Black Betty"
Electronics Package, Comfort Package
3.31, Airaid CAI, BAMA 93 Race Tune
PirateJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:56 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
I just thought I would throw it out there that you don't NEED tps. You will have to get a tuner or go to auto zone to get the tps code cleared so you don't have the lite on your dash. I'm pretty sure auto zone will do it for free too. I'm not saying tps is a bad idea, just want people who are not aware to know that you could live without them.
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:03 AM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Alabama
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
I just thought I would throw it out there that you don't NEED tps. You will have to get a tuner or go to auto zone to get the tps code cleared so you don't have the lite on your dash. I'm pretty sure auto zone will do it for free too. I'm not saying tps is a bad idea, just want people who are not aware to know that you could live without them.
Do you run tpms sensors?
DallasVictory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:10 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
rebeltx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 809
My stock tires still have them. I have another set that I take to the track that don't have tps.
__________________
"Turn the mic back on" -Winston Churchill
rebeltx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:12 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Houston
Region: Alabama
Posts: 62
If I wanted a second set, wheres the most inexpensive place to get some?
DallasVictory is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 02:37 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx View Post
I just thought I would throw it out there that you don't NEED tps. You will have to get a tuner or go to auto zone to get the tps code cleared so you don't have the lite on your dash. I'm pretty sure auto zone will do it for free too. I'm not saying tps is a bad idea, just want people who are not aware to know that you could live without them.
FALSE you cannot clear the TPS error code if u have new rims and didn't purchase new tps sensors. How do i know? Because i got new AMR's and didn't buy new TPS sensors and my check tire pressure light keeps coming up. Ive plugged in my tuner and told it to clear the codes and it detects no codes because it is not a check engine code its different from the codes it can read. So no you cant simply clear the codes ive tried and tried. The only thing i found semi effective is disconnecting the negative terminal on the battery for a few minutes leaving ur high beams on so it can clear the error codes. But eventually the car will learn again and the light will pop up again.
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 10:12 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
UltArc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,782
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebeltx
I just thought I would throw it out there that you don't NEED tps. You will have to get a tuner or go to auto zone to get the tps code cleared so you don't have the lite on your dash. I'm pretty sure auto zone will do it for free too. I'm not saying tps is a bad idea, just want people who are not aware to know that you could live without them.
Not legally. A reputable shop will not install them.
__________________
2012 Mustang EPA: 19/29
2012 AeroStang: 40/46

My sponsor, Tokkyo Nutrition, offers 50% off your entire order with the code "PowerHouse"
UltArc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:39 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
ashpow24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Germany
Region: Other
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

FALSE you cannot clear the TPS error code if u have new rims and didn't purchase new tps sensors. How do i know? Because i got new AMR's and didn't buy new TPS sensors and my check tire pressure light keeps coming up. Ive plugged in my tuner and told it to clear the codes and it detects no codes because it is not a check engine code its different from the codes it can read. So no you cant simply clear the codes ive tried and tried. The only thing i found semi effective is disconnecting the negative terminal on the battery for a few minutes leaving ur high beams on so it can clear the error codes. But eventually the car will learn again and the light will pop up again.
So basically I need to spend the 200 to buy new ones and the calibrater before I put on my new wheels?
__________________
Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?
ashpow24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:41 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sanguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: London
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 1,623
Make a TPMS pipe bomb. Get a can you can pressurize to 30psi. Throw 4 tpms in it, calibrate them to the car, pressurize the "pipe bomb" and toss it in the spare tire well. You'll never need to buy TPMS sensors again.
__________________
'13 'Stang V6 - MT82 - GHIG Ordered: 5/31 Pickup: 7/3
35% Tint, Homemade Intake (1, 2), GT500 Heat Extractor/Splash Guards, Custom Gas Cap
Barton Shifter Bracket, GHIG Shift Knob


'98 Grand Prix GTP - New Project for DD
Sanguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 11:48 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashpow24 View Post

So basically I need to spend the 200 to buy new ones and the calibrater before I put on my new wheels?
Use ur stock ones on ur new wheels or use them to make a TPS pipe bomb as mentioned ive seen one done on these forums before
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:24 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
DigitalBman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze
Region: Florida
Posts: 154
How do the TPS sensors "speak" with the car??
DigitalBman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:30 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalBman View Post
How do the TPS sensors "speak" with the car??
The car will periodically just check with the tps via bluetooth or some kind of wireless way to check the tire pressure. I know for sure it doesn't happen when u start ur car cuz when i reset my car it takes a couple days for the car to notice i don't have any tps sensors on my tires lol
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:33 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
DigitalBman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Gulf Breeze
Region: Florida
Posts: 154
Are there batteries in there or Sumthin??


What does the sensor look like?
DigitalBman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:35 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalBman View Post
Are there batteries in there or Sumthin??

What does the sensor look like?
I have no clue mine are still on my stock tires hahaha
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:36 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
dgrum04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by PirateJohn View Post
I don't think so. The sensors are on the inside of the rim and covered by the tire. So they can sense the pressure.
Yea, that's what I thought, but Charlie threw me off in his comment where he used the word, carefully.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasVictory View Post
If I wanted a second set, wheres the most inexpensive place to get some?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashpow24 View Post
So basically I need to spend the 200 to buy new ones and the calibrater before I put on my new wheels?
Ebay. Ebay. Ebay. Set for four, $70. If I don't go with the AM package for my new rims/tires, that's where I'm going for TPMS.
__________________
2011 Kona Blue 3.7L. Stock motor. Roush Axle-Back. 19" x 8.5/10" Charcoal AMR's. GT500 Spoiler. Smoked Raxiom Tail Lights. MCA grille. Shorty antenna.

An outstanding DD
dgrum04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 12:18 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigClaunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 63
Why havent everyone who bought new wheels just use the stock tpms? Sounds way less complicated
BigClaunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:07 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigClaunch View Post
Why havent everyone who bought new wheels just use the stock tpms? Sounds way less complicated
Chance of breaking them high and.... AINT NOBODY GOT TIME FO DAT!!
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:09 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigClaunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Savannah
Region: Georgia
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie_santos View Post

Chance of breaking them high and.... AINT NOBODY GOT TIME FO DAT!!
Lol well if it saves you mula then I do...
BigClaunch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 01:13 AM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Charlie_santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Region: Texas
Posts: 3,824
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigClaunch View Post

Lol well if it saves you mula then I do...
Hahaha save me mula? Hahaha i haven't boughten them so no mula spent!! Hahahaha
Charlie_santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:14 AM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
dgrum04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Region: Illinois
Posts: 526
When I was trying to beat the AM tire/rim package that is the number one thing that I was trying to get rid of was having to pay $200 bucks for TPMS because I know I can get them cheaper. (Or just use my current set)

In the end it all evens out because I would have to buy the rims and tires separate, unmount my current set, take the TPMS out of the old set, have them put those in my new set and then mount/balance my new set.
__________________
2011 Kona Blue 3.7L. Stock motor. Roush Axle-Back. 19" x 8.5/10" Charcoal AMR's. GT500 Spoiler. Smoked Raxiom Tail Lights. MCA grille. Shorty antenna.

An outstanding DD
dgrum04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:33 AM   #24
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
You can re-use them.

They look like this:


American Muscle sell'e the tool to program the sensors. Go to their site and look it up. They also show instructions on how to use it.

It is good to have the tool anyway, Not often but there are times when you need to reset the sensors when just rotating the tires.

Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



09:02 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.