CAI or Drop in filter?? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 05-17-2013, 01:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
CAI or Drop in filter??

I'm new to this world and I have read mixed reviews online so I finally figured I'd come ask you experts...

Is a CAI worth the $$$ or just get a drop-in replacement filter??

Thanks in advance guys!
RocknCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-17-2013, 01:48 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocknCali View Post
I'm new to this world and I have read mixed reviews online so I finally figured I'd come ask you experts...

Is a CAI worth the $$$ or just get a drop-in replacement filter??

Thanks in advance guys!
Definitely CAI!
dugemac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2013, 05:06 AM   #3
Admin

Supporter
Admin

Region: Florida
A CAI is only worth the money if you get one that works with a tuner. There are many sold that do not require a tuner; these provide nice under the hood looks, and a sound (like the sound tube installed on the GT's) that folks like to hear, but do little in added air flow. Ford did a great job with the stock airbox; it flows great. They installed a "muffler" in the stock tube side that drowns out the sound folks like to hear when they stomp the pedal.

If you plan to buy a CAI for cosmetics, or for the sound, than any CAI will work for you. If you want all that plus some performace gains, buy a CAI that works with a tuner, as that's whats going to give you the best of all worlds.
Personally, I'd avoid any CAI that states "does not require a tuner", as these are basically stock replacements for looks and sound only. If your creative, you could cut the muffler (sound deadner) off of your stock setup, fiberglass the hole, then repaint.