Tach/Speedo placement - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-27-2013, 10:07 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cresco
Region: Iowa
Posts: 5
Tach/Speedo placement

Anyone else not like the placement of the tach and speedometer on their '12 Mustang? I would prefer the speedometer on the right for easier sight. Is there an easy way to change the positions?
ljoiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2013, 07:32 AM   #2
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
easy fix

insert key ( do not start car)
hold in reset
Start car ( still holding in reset button)
test will come up ( let go of reset button)
Now just press reset to scroll to SPEEDOMETER

Now you have a nice easy to see digital speedometer.
The only problem is you will have to do this every time you start your car.

as far as putting the speedometer on the right and tach on the left. I don't know but I'm pretty sure it would not be cheap if it could be done at all.

Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 07:56 AM   #3
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cresco
Region: Iowa
Posts: 5
Tach/Speedo placement

thank you... sounds like I need to try this... yes, I think actually physically changing positions will be very difficult...
ljoiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-29-2013, 04:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
ArtU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,067
I have a 2013, from reading a few of these posts about a Speedo readout, I can't find a reset or a way to get Speed on the 2013 computer screen in the center between the large RPM and Speedo gauges.
Escort 9500ix Blue solved that for me, it reads out my GPS speed.
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 05:09 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
BlackedStang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtU
I have a 2013, from reading a few of these posts about a Speedo readout, I can't find a reset or a way to get Speed on the 2013 computer screen in the center between the large RPM and Speedo gauges.
Escort 9500ix Blue solved that for me, it reads out my GPS speed.
There is a video on YouTube...somewhere...explaining how to do it on a '13. Lemme see if I can find it for you...


Here it is :
__________________
2012 V6 Performance Package
BlackedStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 06:19 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
ArtU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NW Ohio
Region: Ohio
Posts: 1,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedStang View Post
There is a video on YouTube...somewhere...explaining how to do it on a '13. Lemme see if I can find it for you...


Here it is :
Thanks, that engineering mode looks like it reads out lots of the PIDs.
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 03:57 PM   #7
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cresco
Region: Iowa
Posts: 5
Tach/Speedo placement

I have a '12, not a '13, and I don't have digital dash, so this does not help.. question was to move actual speedo to the left in dash pod and put tach on the right.. has anyone done this? Is it possible?
ljoiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:57 AM   #8
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by ljoiner View Post
I have a '12, not a '13, and I don't have digital dash, so this does not help.. question was to move actual speedo to the left in dash pod and put tach on the right.. has anyone done this? Is it possible?
Not easily, as the two guages are connected to the printed wiring circuit board within the dash cluster assembly. It would require some serious rearrangement of the printed circuit board to make this work.

But to answer your question, anything is possible. How good are you at modifying a printed wiring circuit board, or do you know someone that can do this for you?
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 12:09 PM   #9
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
He can always just put it upside down.

Just Joking,
Bucko is probably 100% correct again. Everything is computer controled and uses printed circut boards.

I'm guessing that ljoiner will just have to live with the way Ford designed the instruments.

Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:55 PM   #10
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Cresco
Region: Iowa
Posts: 5
@ronnie948

I think you are correct... will just have to live with it... oh well, other than that, the car is great!
ljoiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:06 AM   #11
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
Don't Worry

You will get used to it.

Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:09 AM   #12
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
I gotta say, I rarely ever look down at my tach with the automatic trans I have. I listen to the engines RPM's, so a tach is simply a visual aid.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
I gotta say, I rarely ever look down at my tach with the automatic trans I have. I listen to the engines RPM's, so a tach is simply a visual aid.
I never needed a tach with a manual.
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 08:01 AM   #14
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Another thought could be an external guage, such as a "SCANGUAGE" that plugs into the OBDII portits many outputs it can provide is a digital tach.

It provides a bunch more, including reading and clearing check engine type messages.
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Members Mustangs

RED

jmeigs

Hubbs

hubbs
Add your Mustang
» Like Us On Facebook



03:40 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.