Major issue - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 06-28-2013, 09:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
elliottxspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Whitehaven pa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 35
Major issue

So I have a 13 pp auto with an airaid intake and tonight I was driving home like normal . I had it in sport mode for a little bit then put it back to regular drive , about 30 seconds later I noticed that it was becoming unresponsive , I would give it gas and wouldn't recognize it for about 4 seconds but would lose power . I then noticed on my screen that it would not indicate it was in drive . I pulled over , turned the car off and started it up again. Once again it would not recognize what gear it was is on the screen (p n r d ) it would also not respond correctly . If I put it into sport mode it would work though . So I got home disconnected the battery and it still is doing the same . Sounds like a computer problem to me . Anyone else have this issue??
__________________
2013 Candy Red Metallic PP V6 - Airaid CAI - Roush Axle Back - 20% tint all around - GT Grille with MMD fog Delete
elliottxspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2013, 09:30 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
fordfan100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 607
You should still be under warranty I would call your dealer and get it looked at
fordfan100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:32 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
elliottxspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Whitehaven pa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordfan100 View Post
You should still be under warranty I would call your dealer and get it looked at
Yea I'm going to try , I just don't want them giving me crap about the intake
__________________
2013 Candy Red Metallic PP V6 - Airaid CAI - Roush Axle Back - 20% tint all around - GT Grille with MMD fog Delete
elliottxspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2013, 09:37 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
fordfan100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Region: South Carolina
Posts: 607
They honestly can't not unless they can prove it caused the issue
fordfan100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
elliottxspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Whitehaven pa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordfan100 View Post
They honestly can't not unless they can prove it caused the issue
True , I don't think it would have caused the issue . It just seems like a computer issue it's weird . I'm afraid to drive it until I can get it to the dealer ,
__________________
2013 Candy Red Metallic PP V6 - Airaid CAI - Roush Axle Back - 20% tint all around - GT Grille with MMD fog Delete
elliottxspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:41 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Fort Myers
Region: Florida
Posts: 61
I feel like I have read of these similar issues when the throttle body has gone bad. Keep us posted on what the dealer says and if they give your trouble with your mod!
SigStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 09:59 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
elliottxspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Whitehaven pa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by SigStang View Post
I feel like I have read of these similar issues when the throttle body has gone bad. Keep us posted on what the dealer says and if they give your trouble with your mod!
Do you think I should put my stock intake in so they don't give me an issue with the throttle body?
__________________
2013 Candy Red Metallic PP V6 - Airaid CAI - Roush Axle Back - 20% tint all around - GT Grille with MMD fog Delete
elliottxspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 12:11 AM   #8
VIG
Registered Member
Regular
 
VIG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmington
Region: Delaware
Posts: 1,238
I honestly don't think they're going to bust your chops for a CAI. If it gives you peace of mind though you could take the 20 minutes and put the stock air box back in. The throttle body is a pretty well known issue in our 3.7s.
__________________
IG: workshardplayshard
VIG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 04:56 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
elliottxspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Whitehaven pa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 35
Ok ill prolly bring it in Monday . It's just weird that the gear selected doesn't show on the display that's what is confusing me
__________________
2013 Candy Red Metallic PP V6 - Airaid CAI - Roush Axle Back - 20% tint all around - GT Grille with MMD fog Delete
elliottxspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 08:24 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Fort Myers
Region: Florida
Posts: 61
I just called my dealer and spoke with an advisor about adding a CAI and he said I should have no issues with the warranty with this. He also added as long as its not messing with the existing sensors you should be fine. If your really concerned put it back to stock before you take her in.
SigStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 03:39 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
elliottxspyder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Whitehaven pa
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by SigStang View Post
I just called my dealer and spoke with an advisor about adding a CAI and he said I should have no issues with the warranty with this. He also added as long as its not messing with the existing sensors you should be fine. If your really concerned put it back to stock before you take her in.
Well I found out what one of the problems was. So I decided to unplug the battery for 30 minutes to see if that would help and when examining the intake I notices the MAF sensor was hanging out of the intake. Apparently at some point the screws must have got loose and feel out leaving the sensor just sitting and hanging causing the lag. I still have no clue how they came out considering they were as tight as can be and I only put 3000 miles on the intake. Long story short got that fixed and it drives like new. The issue that still remains is on my small display on my speedometer it still wont say when its in park , drive, etc, only when in sport mode. Im assuming thats computer related and nothing major, since the car is now running fine.
__________________
2013 Candy Red Metallic PP V6 - Airaid CAI - Roush Axle Back - 20% tint all around - GT Grille with MMD fog Delete
elliottxspyder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2013, 05:52 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Fort Myers
Region: Florida
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliottxspyder View Post

Well I found out what one of the problems was. So I decided to unplug the battery for 30 minutes to see if that would help and when examining the intake I notices the MAF sensor was hanging out of the intake. Apparently at some point the screws must have got loose and feel out leaving the sensor just sitting and hanging causing the lag. I still have no clue how they came out considering they were as tight as can be and I only put 3000 miles on the intake. Long story short got that fixed and it drives like new. The issue that still remains is on my small display on my speedometer it still wont say when its in park , drive, etc, only when in sport mode. Im assuming thats computer related and nothing major, since the car is now running fine.
Great to here you got atleast one part figured out!
SigStang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:51 PM   #13
Registered User
Newbie
 
Hotpocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Paramus
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 3
My stang on sports mode doesnt shift up but shifts down.. It just stopped working. It worked fine when i put my CAI but after a couple 100 miles it just wants to stop shifting up.. Anyone no why?
Hotpocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:22 AM   #14
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliottxspyder View Post

Well I found out what one of the problems was. So I decided to unplug the battery for 30 minutes to see if that would help and when examining the intake I notices the MAF sensor was hanging out of the intake. Apparently at some point the screws must have got loose and feel out leaving the sensor just sitting and hanging causing the lag. I still have no clue how they came out considering they were as tight as can be and I only put 3000 miles on the intake. Long story short got that fixed and it drives like new. The issue that still remains is on my small display on my speedometer it still wont say when its in park , drive, etc, only when in sport mode. Im assuming thats computer related and nothing major, since the car is now running fine.
I don't think that any Mustangs display the gear/park etc in the display so nothing wrong with thst
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:29 AM   #15
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotpocket View Post
My stang on sports mode doesnt shift up but shifts down.. It just stopped working. It worked fine when i put my CAI but after a couple 100 miles it just wants to stop shifting up.. Anyone no why?
Did you hit the +/- button? If so then you advanced to manual mode. It will ddownshift like an automatic but you have to upshift. If you just go to S mode and don't touch the +/- it will be automatic with a more aggressive shift tune and OD is locked out.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:33 AM   #16
Registered User
Newbie
 
Hotpocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Paramus
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post

Did you hit the +/- button? If so then you advanced to manual mode. It will ddownshift like an automatic but you have to upshift. If you just go to S mode and don't touch the +/- it will be automatic with a more aggressive shift tune and OD is locked out.
I do hit the +/- but it doesnt shift up.. When i hit the - it down shifts when i hit + it doesnt budge at all
Hotpocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:25 AM   #17
Registered Member

Regular
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Michigan
Posts: 1,223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotpocket View Post

I do hit the +/- but it doesnt shift up.. When i hit the - it down shifts when i hit + it doesnt budge at all
Does it shift on its own when you just go to S and don't hit the +/-? It sounds like a program issue or a problem with the button. If it will shift as a S automatic then I suspect a problem with the button.
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 09:53 AM   #18
Registered User
Newbie
 
Hotpocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Paramus
Region: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post

Does it shift on its own when you just go to S and don't hit the +/-? It sounds like a program issue or a problem with the button. If it will shift as a S automatic then I suspect a problem with the button.
No it doesnt shift on its own.. I think its a program issue too but when i hold it hard it shifts but it doesnt make any sense cuz it just stopped working well idk if a tuner can fix it or back to the dealer but they're gonna ***** about my exhaust and intake
Hotpocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:47 AM   #19
Site Sponsor
Sponsor
 
AMWill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Malvern
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimC View Post
I don't think that any Mustangs display the gear/park etc in the display so nothing wrong with thst
OP,

I was under the same impression as JimC, too. Now you're making me double guess myself lol.

I'm glad you figured out the issue though. If you want to insure the MAF is secure for the future, I do have one suggestion. Pick up a small tube of Blue lock-tight and apply a little to the bolts. This will definitely keep the bolts from backing out in the future, but won't cause the threads the be stripped if the MAF is taken out again.

Hope this helps!

Shane
__________________
Will Levantovsky | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 866.727.1266
Bama Hotline: 888.226.9764 | M-F 9AM-5:30PM EST
WIN A $1500 MMD STYLING PACKAGE
Free Same-Day Shipping!
AMWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



08:03 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.