Changing radio - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 07-19-2013, 07:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
TruTalent94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dexter
Region: Michigan
Posts: 31
Changing radio

Recently I got the 2013 v6 mustang as my first brand new car and I love everything except the radio! It's the base model nothing special and I wanna replace the entire system and add a sub. But I wanna do it in pieces since the overall cost is 1500 for the set up I wanna have, the question is is there a cheaper route to go and could I hook up new speakers and an amp without replacing the radio yet. Anyone have any really good products they like and I'm looking to get a double din head unit any recommendations?
TruTalent94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2013, 08:23 AM   #2
Sad Panda
Staff
 
silverskoundrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: TX
Region: Texas
Posts: 5,630
as far as putting a subwoofer on the stock radio this is something like what youll need

Xscorpion LC08A High to Low Line Output Converter w/ Gain Control


now for the double din I cant speak. I wanna say you have to change that whole face plate to put a double din in those newer cars but I have no clue!!
__________________
@silverskoundrel
05 TL Mustang Base (the silverskoundrel) - sold
05 TL Mustang GT - sold
98 UA Mustang GT - sold
10 CI Mustang GT - slow
silverskoundrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 11:57 AM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Yazoo city
Region: Mississippi
Posts: 72
I went with the sub first I put two 10in Memphis subs to my factory radio because the kit for a double din it's 200-300$
2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-19-2013, 12:36 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
silvrbullet2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Region: Texas
Posts: 622
I put a single 10" DD 500 series in mine hooked up to the factory radio. Still need to change my door and rear speakers. Cost me 50 bucks to install here.

I rather keep the stock radio cuz of someone walks by and sees an aftermarket radio they might break in. Call me paranoid but it's happened before on other cars I've had.
silvrbullet2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 12:53 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
TruTalent94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Dexter
Region: Michigan
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvrbullet2012 View Post
I put a single 10" DD 500 series in mine hooked up to the factory radio. Still need to change my door and rear speakers. Cost me 50 bucks to install here.

I rather keep the stock radio cuz of someone walks by and sees an aftermarket radio they might break in. Call me paranoid but it's happened before on other cars I've had.
Not paranoid I feel the same way. I just have never hooked up subs to a stock radio. It must need a power booster or amp to be able to push out the proper power
TruTalent94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 06:00 PM   #6
Road Trip!
 
dobypaw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Region: New York
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by TruTalent94 View Post
Recently I got the 2013 v6 mustang as my first brand new car and I love everything except the radio! It's the base model nothing special and I wanna replace the entire system and add a sub. But I wanna do it in pieces since the overall cost is 1500 for the set up I wanna have, the question is is there a cheaper route to go and could I hook up new speakers and an amp without replacing the radio yet. Anyone have any really good products they like and I'm looking to get a double din head unit any recommendations?
I haven't bought an after market sub in 10 years, but the last one i did, i bought and hooked it up to my stock radio. Google: Bazooka base tubes. You can get them in 6", 8", and 10" each one puts out base deeper than they are. The best part when you connect a powered Bazooka tube it takes a power and ground wire then you connect it directly to your factory speakers from way if low input. As soon as they detect harmonics they power up. The best part you can connect a non powered tube threw the output of the powered tube and you will have two 10" tubes that will shake the s**t out of your car. It will be like have two 12's except they take up a lot less space.
dobypaw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 09:29 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
I used a line input converter and I'm running a 15 in fozgate p3 with a 1000w Memphis amp it's really loud . Sounds good for a stock radio . Cost me about 15 off eBay
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 06:42 AM   #8
Registered User
Newbie
 
Thrundawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Landstuhl,germany
Region: Europe
Posts: 6
We're do you install the converter at?
Thrundawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:01 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chapel Hill
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 23
I would replaced the factory speakers first. They sound terribly flat. I replaced mine last weekend and sound so much better, I'll put off a head unit replacement. I do not listen at thundering volume though, and a sub would be a bonus, but I'll get by. Get those done first. Biggest improvement with the least amount of cash.
lcseds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 10:57 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrundawg View Post
We're do you install the converter at?
I actually learned about it from this site but it simply splices into one of your factory speaker wires .on one side and the other side has RCA out puts . I used the back speakers since its closest to my amp.
The way I listen to mine is adjust the bass of the radio how I like it and then adjust the bass knob to the amount you prefer .
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 12:07 PM   #11
Registered User
Newbie
 
Thrundawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Landstuhl,germany
Region: Europe
Posts: 6
So I need two converters? One for each rear speaker?
Thrundawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 02:16 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
No sir . Just one assuming you are only one amp for both subs
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 02:38 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
This is like the one I use works great
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1065693622.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	104.8 KB
ID:	119516   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1412757104.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	215.8 KB
ID:	119517  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1270159608.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	215.8 KB
ID:	119519  
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:04 PM   #14
Road Trip!
 
dobypaw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Region: New York
Posts: 1,146
Just save some money and get a 10" Bazooka bass tube. No converter needed. Hook up your power and ground the run wires from the stock or existing speakers into the input on the powered bass tube . And you are done. Much cheaper than a sub, box, converter and separate amp.
dobypaw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 03:15 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
Lol not sure where the glas of milk come from but it won't come off
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 04:29 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
dobypaw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Region: New York
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtin1991 View Post
Lol not sure where the glas of milk come from but it won't come off
Good things it's just a picture of a glass of milk. Could have been real embarrassing for you!!!
dobypaw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 04:33 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
You could hook up any sub to the factory speaker wires it's just not going to have much power pushing it. I know my sub wouldn't hit much at all
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 05:08 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastV6 View Post

Good things it's just a picture of a glass of milk. Could have been real embarrassing for you!!!
That is so true ! Lmao
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 05:14 PM   #19
Road Trip!
 
dobypaw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Region: New York
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtin1991 View Post
You could hook up any sub to the factory speaker wires it's just not going to have much power pushing it. I know my sub wouldn't hit much at all
That's why you hook up a powered sub to your speakers. A sub with out it's own power is useless.
dobypaw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 10:18 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
curtin1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Region: Alabama
Posts: 964
Send a message via ICQ to curtin1991
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastV6 View Post

That's why you hook up a powered sub to your speakers. A sub with out it's own power is useless.
Ok I didn't realize the bazooka tube had an amp. My bad man
__________________
Corey
curtin1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 03:04 PM   #21
Road Trip!
 
dobypaw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Region: New York
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtin1991 View Post

Ok I didn't realize the bazooka tube had an amp. My bad man
You can buy a powered Bazooka and a non powered Bazooka tube. You can also hook a non powered to a powered Bazooka for double the base.
dobypaw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:01 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
ToHellAndBack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Pompano Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 327
I wana get one of the NOS bottle bazooka tubes
__________________
"I'm not tailgating... I'm drafting"
ToHellAndBack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:20 PM   #23
Road Trip!
 
dobypaw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Upstate NY
Region: New York
Posts: 1,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by ToHellAndBack View Post
I wana get one of the NOS bottle bazooka tubes
That would be cool. get two and mount them side by side.
dobypaw3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



07:43 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.