Bama Tuner Major Issues - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-06-2013, 12:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Iowa
Bama Tuner Major Issues

I guess I'm mostly venting here, but this is a problem that I've been stewing over for several months. I didn't want to make a big deal out of it, but it is a big deal to me.

Here is what happened.

In April I purchased 3:73 gears, CAI, and Diablo InTune tuner with tunes from AM. Gears are awesome, CAI perfect. No issues there. The problem is entirely with the tunes. I needed it because you can't use stock tunes with 3:73 gears on a V6 -- period. Plus tunes were cool, right? Not so much. This is why.

For one it took three weeks and nine separate tries with tunes that were downright DANGEROUS!! I sent them all requested info. When I loaded the tunes right off the bat I got a non-responding speedometer. Like didn't work at all regardless of speed. And this is the scary part -- the car would accelerate without touching the accelerator. I don't mean gently, either.

I contacted AM/Bama immediately. They set me up with a new street tune. I tested. Same thing. Rinse and repeat a few more times. I have to use stock tune in the mean time -- speedo is way off but at least I can control the car. Then AM/Bam tells my they don't know what's going on and that I should go talk to Diablo Sport.

All this time, I need to be able to freakin' drive my car, right? It's my DD. I NEED this to work and not kill anybody. Especially me. So I check out the Diablo InTune's stock tunes already on the tuner. I account for CAI and my gear ratio and viola. My car feels and runs like a beast. It's controllable. And the speedo WORKS.