Mpg on V6 - Page 5 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 08-23-2013, 07:02 PM   #141
Registered Member
Regular
 
813floridaracin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 153
Something's wrong with my 2000, I get 13mpg city & close to 19 mpg highway. Any suggestions to help increase fuel economy? I don't floor it, I drive the speed limit because I get such sh**y gas mileage. Only performance mod is cold air intake.
Should I replace the spark plugs? I'm at a loss of why my mpg is so bad
813floridaracin is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2013, 07:30 PM   #142
Registered Member
Regular
 
RocknCali's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Oceanside
Region: California
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by 813floridaracin View Post
Something's wrong with my 2000, I get 13mpg city & close to 19 mpg highway. Any suggestions to help increase fuel economy? I don't floor it, I drive the speed limit because I get such sh**y gas mileage. Only performance mod is cold air intake.
Should I replace the spark plugs? I'm at a loss of why my mpg is so bad
buy a 14'
RocknCali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 07:38 PM   #143
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black on Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Perry, GA
Region: Georgia
Posts: 7,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 813floridaracin View Post
Something's wrong with my 2000, I get 13mpg city & close to 19 mpg highway. Any suggestions to help increase fuel economy? I don't floor it, I drive the speed limit because I get such sh**y gas mileage. Only performance mod is cold air intake.
Should I replace the spark plugs? I'm at a loss of why my mpg is so bad
Replace plugs and wires, fuel filter, clean and re oil your CAI, use ethanol free gas.
Black on Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-23-2013, 08:52 PM   #144
Registered Member
Regular
 
813floridaracin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocknCali View Post

buy a 14'
Haha I wish, I don't have the money for that...why can't my car just be 'over hauled'

---------- Post added at 07:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:51 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Black on Boss View Post

Replace plugs and wires, fuel filter, clean and re oil your CAI, use ethanol free gas.
When I replace plugs and wires should I replace coil pack too? I saw one on American muscle for $80 screaming demon I think. il also do the rest you mentioned, thanks for the advice!
813floridaracin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 09:00 PM   #145
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black on Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Perry, GA
Region: Georgia
Posts: 7,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 813floridaracin View Post

Haha I wish, I don't have the money for that...why can't my car just be 'over hauled'

---------- Post added at 07:52 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:51 PM ----------



When I replace plugs and wires should I replace coil pack too? I saw one on American muscle for $80 screaming demon I think. il also do the rest you mentioned, thanks for the advice!
No problem. I did these on my '04 3.9 and it improved mine. I didn't replace the coil pack, but it definitely wouldn't hurt if you have the $80 to spare.
Black on Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:06 PM   #146
Registered Member
Regular
 
813floridaracin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black on Boss View Post

No problem. I did these on my '04 3.9 and it improved mine. I didn't replace the coil pack, but it definitely wouldn't hurt if you have the $80 to spare.
il replace them all with the next paycheck haha only problem is, I can't find wires that are blue! They all seem to be either red or black
813floridaracin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:08 PM   #147
Registered Member
Regular
 
Black on Boss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Perry, GA
Region: Georgia
Posts: 7,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by 813floridaracin View Post

il replace them all with the next paycheck haha only problem is, I can't find wires that are blue! They all seem to be either red or black
Motorcraft don't have blue wires?
Black on Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2013, 12:12 AM   #148
Registered Member
Regular
 
813floridaracin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Black on Boss View Post

Motorcraft don't have blue wires?
Just any blue wires haha can't find decent prices ones on the web. I have a whole blue and black theme with my car and red wires would throw it off and black wires are too dull
813floridaracin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


» Like Us On Facebook



02:48 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.