Car wont turn... - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-07-2013, 04:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: California
Car wont turn...

For the past few weeks its been hit and miss with my car. Its a 2012 v6 premium and you can see the Mods on signature. Some times when I turn the key in my car it sounds like it wants to turn on but it wont, when it does start it will be ok for a few days. I took it to the Ford dealership today 10/07/2013 and they told me it was my fuel pump. I guess it went bad. Does that sound right? I mean I am not a mechanic and the car is being covered under warranty ( yes, even with the tune and mods) but will that cause a car to not start? The battery is good too.
Advertisement

Old 10-07-2013, 05:05 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: New Mexico
That's a very reasonable diagnosis. Bad pump, low fuel pressure, no start. Being electrical it could be intermittent.
Six7One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 06:19 AM   #3
Admin

Supporter
Admin

Region: Florida
Keep in mind the fuel pressure system used by Ford is a single line pressure system. What this means is that there's a fuel pressure sensor in the fuel rail (fuel rail is what feeds the fuel injectors). This fuel pressure sensor tells the fuel module to turn on/turn off the fuel pump. So low fuel pressure can be the fuel pressure sensor, the fuel module, or the fuel pump.
The fuel pump is in the fuel tank, and is cooled by the gas within the gas tank. This is why its good practice to never run your fuel tank to complete empty. I've read here where some folks do this; they want to check their "miles to empty" indicator. Not a wise thing to do, as it can overheat the fuel pump and cause it to fail prematurely.