13' V6 wanting to upgrade, need ideas - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 11-01-2013, 07:16 AM   #1

Region: Florida
13' V6 wanting to upgrade, need ideas

Hey y'all, this is my first post on here so help me out! I just got a 2013 3.7 v6 6 speed mustang and want to upgrade it a little after Christmas. I believe it to have exhaust on it being flow master tips but not sure 100%. I know to start off with the cold air intake just not sure which brand. K&n always stands out because of name but have heard good things about other brands also. I'm new to cars so don't know much about them always had jacked up trucks but I'm loving my stang! Any feedback would be great!
TDaniel41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-01-2013, 07:37 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Illinois
If I knew your goals + budget, I can give much better advice.
Also, is it manual or auto? And are you willing to part with the warranty (if there is one)?

That said, a cold air intake is a fine start. You won't see huge gains, but it sounds and looks cool.
If you are willing to tune the car too, it can help you get a bit more power. I went with the Airraid, since it didn't need a tune, and it is pretty awesome. However, if I'd be down to tune, I would have definitely gone with the Steeda CAI; it is said to have better flow, and thus require a tune. And it looks cooler

In terms of power, the 3.7 prob benefits most from gears/tune/CAI. The potential from there on depends much on the budget.
In the handling department, an easy first step is a tower strut brace. It really should be stock and firms up the ride nicely. From there, the options are again endless, limited only by your budget... Lowering spring, suspension upgrades, etc etc.