Different Brand Tunders - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-25-2014, 07:42 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia
Different Brand Tunders

I am just learning about tunes, etc. What are the differences, pros and cons of the SCT tuner or the Diablo tuners.
Advertisement

Old 01-25-2014, 08:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Ohio
The Diablo* (the InTune model) tuner takes 23-27 mins to put in a new tune, the SCT about 5-7 mins. The SCT tuner has been used on these new mustangs for years, and the tune shops know what they are doing with them. The Diablo is still new (for the new Mustangs) , and not everything has been learned yet in my humble opinion. [Edit, more tune shops support the SCT also since its been around longer, as years go by that may or may not change]

While the Diablo says you can data log, the CPU is so slow you can't truly log everything you need to, mine would quit and lock up after 5 pids. The SCT needs you to add a laptop to datalog in the car but you can actually get all the PIDS recorded you need.

The touchscreen was resistive and not like a table smartphone with Capactive screens. In the summer I had to keep pressing over an over again in the heat to get the screen to move to the next item. The SCT is using no touch screen, just LCD display and real push buttons you can hit in 97 degree weather without a problem.

I returned my Diablo for an SCT (thank you AM) I also use "Torque" on an Andriod phone with a ODBII bluetooth dongle to data log all my PIDS plus GOogle map tracks of the runs made. $5 app Torque is and dongles run about $25-$30 on Amazon.
ArtU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 08:44 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Georgia