Instrument cluster - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-19-2014, 09:49 PM   #1
Registered User
Newbie
 
Official.Keaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Region: Texas
Posts: 13
Instrument cluster

Is it possible to get digital gauges for the speed, gas, rpm. Etc.
Official.Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-20-2014, 06:15 AM   #2
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
Anything is possible. The key is to start searching using Google to see if a kit is already available that is "plug and play". I tried this and came up with nothing in the way of a complete digital replacement cluster. The closest thing to it was that you can get a digital readout in the information center below the tach. While the link below is for a 99 Cobra, I believe the steps described also work for our 2011 and up Mustangs. It resets to normal when the engine is shut off, but easily sets up again with the procedure:

Mustangworld HEC Instrument Cluster Diagnostics
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2014, 12:55 PM   #3
Evolution's Finest
Supporter
 
ronnie948's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Daytona Beach
Region: Florida
Posts: 3,960
I have a Garmin GPS that tell your speed.

It tells what the speed limit is on the road your on and also tells how fast your going. I just got it and I think there is a feature that will beep when you go over the limit. I don't think I need that because I never speed. The speed sign icon does turn red when you do go over the limit though. It works off the GPS so I'm guessing it is probably pretty close to how fast your really going.
The one on the car that is in the dash is crap. It spins the 10ths. so fast it gets on my nerves. You also have to go through turning it on every time you start the car.
You would think that someone would come out with a nice looking digital unit to just plug into the CPU.
Insert the key hold in reset start the car test will come up on screen immediately let go of the reset button. Then continue to press reset to scroll to speedometer.

I do remember this:>Digital speedometer?

It did work on my 2012 but like I said, The spinning was making me goofy. Well, Goofier then normal.
Ronnie
__________________
2012-candy red- V-6 MCA, Automatic Trans. CFM Valve cover breather. MMD blackTail light trim.Magnaflow axle back street mufflers, JLT oil catch can.MMD hood struts.
Airaid Cold Air intake. red caliper covers, 3.7L performance engine cover, Flat black hood spears.Boss 302 strut brace, CDC rear panel, Trunk Cargo net,--Dash carpet cover,
Viser stickers to cover ugly yellow warning crap,Aluminum driveshafft and Swarr Bar.
ronnie948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2014, 06:55 AM   #4
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
I also have to say, I never got used to digital readouts. With an analog guage, your eyesight will focus on the position of the needle within the guage, and you know if that's withing the correct reading. For example the oil pressure; if the needle is half way or better, then your brain tells you thats good.

If I look at a "value" rather then a needle, I have to think for a moment, if that value is correct, or within spec.

Again, this may just be my old age. The plan fact is that my brain neurons do not fire as quick as they used to, but for me the good old analog guages work. If I ignore them, the info center sends me a noise warning to inform me that something is wrong, and to look down at the guages.

However, the digital readouts, with the colors they can be programmed in, are cool; my son has a guage pod full of them in his Subaru WRX STi, and they light up, change color, and perform some entertainment to me on those rare days he comes to visit (and does not ask for money) and offers to drive me around (this I like).
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base model GT Deerslayer 2011-2014 Mustang GT 960 12-05-2017 09:33 PM
Instrument Cluster Lights mo9wsu 1996-2004 Mustang GT 5 02-24-2014 11:42 PM
MyColor Instrument Cluster Switch Kustumb General Mustang Discussion 19 02-03-2014 07:07 PM
Proj Detroit-Like Computer Instrument Cluster kenny9091 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 1 09-26-2012 08:02 PM
Instrument cluster question matthoffman22 1979-1995 Mustang GT 3 06-25-2011 09:11 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



02:17 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.