Mass air flow sensors - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 09-30-2014, 10:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Michigan
Mass air flow sensors

I am an engineering student and for one of my assignments I have to compare 5 blow dryers. I have to come up with a series of tests and record the results. My idea was to use the mass air flow sensor and record how much air each blow dryer moves I did a little bit of research on how mass airflow sensors work and from the few sites I looked at it has to do with how much current it takes to keep the sensor at a certain temperature. Would I be able to replicate this outside of the car or use the cars computer to get a reading? I do have the track apps so that might have something in it.

Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Brandneutral is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-01-2014, 07:48 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular

Region: Texas
You're pretty much spot on on the current. A constant 5v is fed through a node, and basically the return voltage after air passes over it (the MAF also has an ambient temp probe for further density accuracy) is your measured MAF voltage for a given point.

As far as measuring it on the car, i'm not sure... I know the MAF has readings at accessories on, although i've never tried blowing air over it to see if they adjust. I wouldn't recommend trying it with the car on (running) but with just the accessories it may be worth a shot.