Sync is not working? - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-03-2014, 02:39 AM   #1
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Sync is not working?

Hey guys, my bad for not searching but I'm somewhat at work and driving at the same time? Lol anyways earlier the port in the center console lost power, didn't think anything of it until now that I pressed aux and it goes to the am channels... Meaning none of the auxiliary, including Bluetooth and sync work.

What could it be?

Sent from my HTC One Max using Tapatalk.
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2014, 09:55 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushGotti View Post
Hey guys, my bad for not searching but I'm somewhat at work and driving at the same time? Lol anyways earlier the port in the center console lost power, didn't think anything of it until now that I pressed aux and it goes to the am channels... Meaning none of the auxiliary, including Bluetooth and sync work.

What could it be?

Sent from my HTC One Max using Tapatalk.
I had the exact same symptoms when I got a new phone. Maybe when you lost power to the console the system forgot your phone. Try re-pairing your phone, as if it was new. The instructions are on page 11 of the Sync manual. Hopefully this will solve your problem.
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:57 AM   #3
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakib View Post
I had the exact same symptoms when I got a new phone. Maybe when you lost power to the console the system forgot your phone. Try re-pairing your phone, as if it was new. The instructions are on page 11 of the Sync manual. Hopefully this will solve your problem.
No, When I press "Aux" it goes blank and moves to the AM/FM stations...

Like, The port doesn't have power, No sync line in pops up, no bluetooth, nothing!
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-03-2014, 11:01 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushGotti View Post
No, When I press "Aux" it goes blank and moves to the AM/FM stations...

Like, The port doesn't have power, No sync line in pops up, no bluetooth, nothing!


I understood that. The same thing would happen to mine. Aux won't do anything if there is no phone or device plugged in, and it will go back to radio. You pair the phone by holding the phone button on the steering wheel. That's the first step, I don't remember the rest of the steps off the top of my head. You'll have to check the instructions on page 11 of the manual. I looked up the page number before I came to work because I saw your post.
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 11:15 AM   #5
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sakib View Post
I understood that. The same thing would happen to mine. Aux won't do anything if there is no phone or device plugged in, and it will go back to radio. You pair the phone by holding the phone button on the steering wheel. That's the first step, I don't remember the rest of the steps off the top of my head. You'll have to check the instructions on page 11 of the manual. I looked up the page number before I came to work because I saw your post.
Oh, Okay! My bad. =P

I just got home right now, I'll go try it out in a bit!

Although I'm not sure why that would cause the port to lose power (Fail to charge the phone), But I'll try it out!
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 02:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushGotti View Post
Oh, Okay! My bad. =P

I just got home right now, I'll go try it out in a bit!

Although I'm not sure why that would cause the port to lose power (Fail to charge the phone), But I'll try it out!
Yeah, I'm not sure either. That is weird. The symptoms of your problem are the same as mine, but not necessarily the root cause, so it might not work for you. I hope it does..

Sent from my HTCONE using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 01:44 AM   #7
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Okay, just tried it and the controls on the steering wheel no longer work either.

Do the main sound processor and sync module use the same fuse? I'm at work again but I'm about to look for the diagram online so I can check it after work.

Sent from my HTC One Max using Tapatalk.
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2014, 03:12 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Socal stangman knows a lot about this stuff.

Sent from my HTCONE using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 02:38 PM   #9
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
...Ugh. Took me a while, But I checked the fuses and that wasn't the problem.

Even though the fuses were good, I still changed the SYNC and AUX ones to be 100% sure and nothing.... =/

I'll contact Socal Stangman and see if he knows what else it could be. Thanks.
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 02:57 PM   #10
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Did you try swapping out the cables?
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 03:08 PM   #11
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal Stangman View Post
Did you try swapping out the cables?
Which cables should I be swapping out exactly?

If you're talking about the USB cable I use to connect my phone, Then yes. I tried 3 different ones and none worked. =/
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 03:21 PM   #12
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushGotti View Post
Which cables should I be swapping out exactly?

If you're talking about the USB cable I use to connect my phone, Then yes. I tried 3 different ones and none worked. =/

Ok...and you havent taken apart the center console for anything?
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 03:30 PM   #13
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by Socal Stangman View Post
Ok...and you havent taken apart the center console for anything?
Nope, It was working and I stopped by the DMV, Left a cellphone connected to the USB while I went inside, Came out and it no longer worked....
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 03:32 PM   #14
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Have you tried unplugging your battery? If not unplug it for at least 20 mins. to reset the computer..

Do you have a warranty? This might be an issue for Ford to deal with...
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 04:26 PM   #15
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
Hadn't tried that, Just unplugged it and let it sit for 30 minutes, plugged back in and same issue.

Yeah, I think I still do. It's a 2013 with 28,000 miles... When I go take it for the emissions recall, I'll ask them about it... =/

Thanks!
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:10 PM   #16
Road Trip!
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Region: California
Posts: 370
@Socal Stangman

That must have done the trick, Although it didn't work immediately, I drove to get some food and halfway there decided to press AUX and it actually worked again.

Thank you for your help!! I appreciate you taking the time to help me troubleshoot this !
RushGotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2014, 06:26 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Just like fixing computers... if all else fails, restart, haha
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 01:09 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
GrabberBlue1993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Malverne
Region: New York
Posts: 2,275
I would just bring it in to the dealer and have them check to make sure it doesn't happen again or nothing is wrong. Might as well have them check now for free rather than it be fine for a few months then "conveniently" stop working again right after your warranty is up

Sent from my 831C using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
"At least it isn't a Honda"
GrabberBlue1993 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 01:43 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
jonyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sunnyvale,CA
Region: California
Posts: 232
I agree with grabber. This same thing happened to me but I did the battery trick, worked ever since. I would be more worried if I was as close to warranty as you were. There is a Sync TSB however. So I'd say just go ahead and get it checked out for free.
TSB 13-09-22 - Effective Sep 25 2013
SYNC - Various vehicles equipped with SYNC may exhibit concerns related to SYNC features. Refer to the vehicle list to determine applicable vehicle lines and build dates located in the Service Procedure Section along with complete symptom details
__________________
2014 V6 Performance Package Sterling Grey
MPT Tuned.
Airaid CAI, BBK Shorty Headers, Borla S-types, Stubby Antenna, JLT Catch Can, MMD hood struts, GT500 spoiler, Oracle Halos on GT Grille, Dynotech One piece Aluminum Driveshaft.
jonyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 01:44 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
Fintile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Boston
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,830
SAKIB just sent me to take a look. I have been dealing with this issue off an on now the past 2 years. i just thought it was normal. SYNC is a product of Microsoft and we all know how they are. Now this TSB. Will I be able to get this done no charge? I'm past the 40k miles now so not sure what is covered still. either way 3 years in a car made in 2012 shouldnt get problems like this that the manufacturer wont fix.
Fintile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 02:00 PM   #21
Registered Member

Regular
 
Socal Stangman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Temecula Ca.
Region: California
Posts: 1,872
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushGotti View Post
@Socal Stangman

That must have done the trick, Although it didn't work immediately, I drove to get some food and halfway there decided to press AUX and it actually worked again.

Thank you for your help!! I appreciate you taking the time to help me troubleshoot this !
Cool Im glad it worked.
Socal Stangman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 03:45 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
Sakib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Bryan
Region: Texas
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fintile View Post
SAKIB just sent me to take a look. I have been dealing with this issue off an on now the past 2 years. i just thought it was normal. SYNC is a product of Microsoft and we all know how they are. Now this TSB. Will I be able to get this done no charge? I'm past the 40k miles now so not sure what is covered still. either way 3 years in a car made in 2012 shouldnt get problems like this that the manufacturer wont fix.
I should get the tsb checked out too. Although I didn't have that problem, Sync in my car just plain sucks. People can never understand me when I talk on it, they always complain and I end up just talking normally on my phone and they go, "Oh, that's much better."
Sakib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 11:32 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
jonyou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Sunnyvale,CA
Region: California
Posts: 232
If there is a TSB on it and your symptoms sound similar to the problem they should fix it whether you are in warranty or not. At least that's what Bucko said.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2014 V6 Performance Package Sterling Grey
MPT Tuned.
Airaid CAI, BBK Shorty Headers, Borla S-types, Stubby Antenna, JLT Catch Can, MMD hood struts, GT500 spoiler, Oracle Halos on GT Grille, Dynotech One piece Aluminum Driveshaft.
jonyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync Apps not finding apps iPhone Mlarv5 Mustang Audio & Video 7 06-08-2013 11:47 PM
Iphone 5 new sync not working Ratraget Mustang Audio & Video 6 01-12-2013 09:01 AM
Sync not working JJB82 2011-2014 Mustang GT 3 09-22-2012 01:26 AM
A\C working then not working Bohogin Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 07-14-2011 02:44 PM
1976 ford mustang will not start, not headlights come on, it is not the battery, why? eifion Classic Mustangs 6 08-24-2009 04:12 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



07:36 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.