Help with 2014 Stereo Wiring! - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-21-2014, 11:26 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Help with 2014 Stereo Wiring!

I have tried searching everywhere for this info but everything that comes up shows older s197 models which have different wiring colors.

My question is...

I purchased an 8" subwoofer and amplifier and will be using the high level inputs on the back of it, the problem is, i don't know what wires are positive (+) and negative (-) for the rear deck speakers.

Does anyone know the polarity of the rear speaker wires for a 2014 Mustang V6 with the base 4 speaker stereo (NOT the Shaker system).
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2014, 01:12 PM   #2
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
This should help

Take a look:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wiring.PNG
Views:	11208
Size:	99.7 KB
ID:	168228  
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 01:14 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucko View Post
Take a look:
I'm pretty sure this is the same diagram i found online with the wrong wire colors (must have changed the colors in later years i guess). I'll have to double check later but i think they are different.

I appreciate your help nonetheless!
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-21-2014, 04:38 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
dj2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Fe
Region: Texas
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstang1 View Post
I'm pretty sure this is the same diagram i found online with the wrong wire colors (must have changed the colors in later years i guess). I'll have to double check later but i think they are different.

I appreciate your help nonetheless!
You CAN use this diagram. I am looking at the 2014 diagram and the wire colors are the same.
__________________
2014 Ruby Red V6 Premium, Pony Package, Magnaflow Street Axle-backs, MMD Hood Struts, SCT X4 with Steeda lifetime tunes, Boss 302 Strut tower brace, JLT Oil Separator, OEM extended range remote start, Raxiom Navigation.
dj2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 05:12 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj2014 View Post
You CAN use this diagram. I am looking at the 2014 diagram and the wire colors are the same.
Can you post the 2014 diagram?

I just checked my car and the right rear speaker has brown/blue and brown/yellow wires... the left rear has brown/yellow, green/white.
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 05:17 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
dj2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Fe
Region: Texas
Posts: 127
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140916_174005.jpg
Views:	8535
Size:	779.4 KB
ID:	168240

I just checked my wiring and it's dead on with the diagram.
__________________
2014 Ruby Red V6 Premium, Pony Package, Magnaflow Street Axle-backs, MMD Hood Struts, SCT X4 with Steeda lifetime tunes, Boss 302 Strut tower brace, JLT Oil Separator, OEM extended range remote start, Raxiom Navigation.
dj2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2014, 06:49 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj2014 View Post
Attachment 168240

I just checked my wiring and it's dead on with the diagram.
I apologize. I was reading the diagram wrong... i was trying to look at the color of the wires but didn't realize there are abbreviations on top of the wires.

Thank you for your help! (Thanks to Bucko too!)
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 03:43 AM   #8
Admin

Supporter
Admin
 
bucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Lake Mary
Region: Florida
Posts: 5,822
It all worked out!
__________________
It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt.
bucko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2014, 04:08 AM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
dj2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Fe
Region: Texas
Posts: 127
Yes it did.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2014 Ruby Red V6 Premium, Pony Package, Magnaflow Street Axle-backs, MMD Hood Struts, SCT X4 with Steeda lifetime tunes, Boss 302 Strut tower brace, JLT Oil Separator, OEM extended range remote start, Raxiom Navigation.
dj2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 06:19 AM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Does the back of the stock stereo have inputs for the amp or did you have to splice into some wires?
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 08:33 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
Does the back of the stock stereo have inputs for the amp or did you have to splice into some wires?

Unfortunately, no. I don't think any stock stereo's come with sw out rca ports, it's mostly an aftermarket thing. You could do two things... You can tap into the rear speaker high level input and plug them directly into the amp (if your amp has that feature), or buy a cheap line output converter and splice into the front or rear speakers to create rca ports. I had this on my last car and the sound quality was terrible. Hopefully when I get my amp installed completely, the high level inputs to the amp will work a bit better.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 08:43 AM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
What's the sound quality like in your current car with your setup?
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:06 AM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
What's the sound quality like in your current car with your setup?
Great question! I wish i could give you an answer but i haven't had enough time to finish installing my sub and amp. I will let you know when i do.
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 02:34 AM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Yeah, please post when you get it installed.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 07:00 AM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
I had mine installed a few weeks ago. Hooked the line output converter up near the stock headunit so incase i go afternaket i wont hav to re-run my rca's. Sounds great with stock headunit ::
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 07:29 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by somedopebeats View Post
I had mine installed a few weeks ago. Hooked the line output converter up near the stock headunit so incase i go afternaket i wont hav to re-run my rca's. Sounds great with stock headunit ::
Are you sure you tested your system with "somedopebeats" playing?

Sorry, i had too.

---------- Post added at 07:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:28 AM ----------

Will do, hopefully i will have everything hooked up and working this Sunday!
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 09:49 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Help with wiring!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstang1 View Post
Are you sure you tested your system with "somedopebeats" playing?



Sorry, i had too.

---------- Post added at 07:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:28 AM ----------

Will do, hopefully i will have everything hooked up and working this Sunday!

They were the dopest of beats. Hahahah

So dope infact, that i blew a sub my first day having it hooked up
Luckily i had 2 of them and was only running one in a box so i just swapped em out. Its pounds pretty damn good and sounds hella minty. No rattles either ::
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 10:09 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by somedopebeats View Post
I had mine installed a few weeks ago. Hooked the line output converter up near the stock headunit so incase i go afternaket i wont hav to re-run my rca's. Sounds great with stock headunit ::
Where did you run the power wire for your amp? Picture?
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 10:11 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by somedopebeats View Post
They were the dopest of beats. Hahahah

So dope infact, that i blew a sub my first day having it hooked up
Luckily i had 2 of them and was only running one in a box so i just swapped em out. Its pounds pretty damn good and sounds hella minty. No rattles either ::
Lol, i guess your forum handle is right on!
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 10:12 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
Where did you run the power wire for your amp? Picture?
This is where i am getting all of the information for my install. The guy has a great writeup on this link (How To: Add a sub and amp to a 2013 - MustangForums.com).
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 11:10 AM   #21
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstang1 View Post
This is where i am getting all of the information for my install. The guy has a great writeup on this link (How To: Add a sub and amp to a 2013 - MustangForums.com).
Thank you kind sir.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 01:07 PM   #22
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
Where did you run the power wire for your amp? Picture?

Ill take onr after work. Theres a real easy spot to get thru the firewall on the drivers side
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:35 PM   #23
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
Where did you run the power wire for your amp? Picture?

Thats the grommet there, i just wrapped my power cable so it didnt stick out like a sore thumb. No way any water will get in that one my friend
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1414701200.614096.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	654.7 KB
ID:	168815
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 03:37 PM   #24
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Sorry forgot to mention its just to the right of the brake fluid reservoir
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 02:09 PM   #25
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Well, I just finished installing everything and it's not working. The sub makes sounds like a scifi movie and it's not playing loudly. It makes popping sounds and I have checked all my connections. Sonic electronix is calling me monday. Anyone have any suggestions?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 10:03 PM   #26
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstang1 View Post
Well, I just finished installing everything and it's not working. The sub makes sounds like a scifi movie and it's not playing loudly. It makes popping sounds and I have checked all my connections. Sonic electronix is calling me monday. Anyone have any suggestions?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Sorry to hear that. I just installed my amp and 10" sub today, everything works fine. I found an unopened in line converter and amp wire kit I bought a couple years ago to install in my malibu, so I spent a couple hours installing it today in the stang. The only thing I did different was I didn't remove the bottom rear seat. I used the semi rigid/ flexible end of an old fishing pole to pull the wire through. I just shoved the fishing pole under the rear seat from the trunk side until it showed on the other side of the seat, taped the wire to it and pulled it through. Sounds great, enough bass to satisfy my hunger for the lows, and not so much that the trunk rattles. I'm not 16 anymore so I don't care if you can here me 3 blocks away.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 06:47 AM   #27
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
Sorry to hear that. I just installed my amp and 10" sub today, everything works fine. I found an unopened in line converter and amp wire kit I bought a couple years ago to install in my malibu, so I spent a couple hours installing it today in the stang. The only thing I did different was I didn't remove the bottom rear seat. I used the semi rigid/ flexible end of an old fishing pole to pull the wire through. I just shoved the fishing pole under the rear seat from the trunk side until it showed on the other side of the seat, taped the wire to it and pulled it through. Sounds great, enough bass to satisfy my hunger for the lows, and not so much that the trunk rattles. I'm not 16 anymore so I don't care if you can here me 3 blocks away.

I think I either got faulty equipment or I should have used a Line out converter instead of plugging directly into the amp.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 11:41 AM   #28
Registered Member
Regular
 
somedopebeats's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Toronto, canada
Region: Canada
Posts: 699
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstang1 View Post
I think I either got faulty equipment or I should have used a Line out converter instead of plugging directly into the amp.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution

You'll need a line output converter to run your rca cables if youre using factory headunit
somedopebeats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 01:55 PM   #29
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by somedopebeats View Post
You'll need a line output converter to run your rca cables if youre using factory headunit

My amp has a hi level input converter built in though. I don't know how well it works though.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 02:07 PM   #30
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackstang1 View Post
My amp has a hi level input converter built in though. I don't know how well it works though.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
I thought the high level on the amp was for your highs, not the sub. You can get an in line converter pretty cheap. I think I paid about $7 for mine on Amazon a couple years ago.
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 03:29 PM   #31
Registered Member
Regular
 
dj2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Santa Fe
Region: Texas
Posts: 127
This is what I used. Pac-Audio.com Product Details | iPod Integration for your car and More by Pac-Audio - Connecting you to the future
__________________
2014 Ruby Red V6 Premium, Pony Package, Magnaflow Street Axle-backs, MMD Hood Struts, SCT X4 with Steeda lifetime tunes, Boss 302 Strut tower brace, JLT Oil Separator, OEM extended range remote start, Raxiom Navigation.
dj2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 07:25 PM   #32
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
I thought the high level on the amp was for your highs, not the sub. You can get an in line converter pretty cheap. I think I paid about $7 for mine on Amazon a couple years ago.
This is my amp;

NVX MVPA1 Micro-V 300W RMS Mono Car Amp with Small Footprint

I am using the plug on the input side for the speaker inputs that converts the high level signal into a low level for the output. It's basically like having the converter built in.
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 07:28 PM   #33
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
This is cool (and pretty pricey!) but i didn't want to remove my head unit or center console at all for this installation. That's the reason i tapped into the rear speakers. Anyway's, they are sending me another amplifier because they said it might be faulty so ill keep you posted.
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 10:24 PM   #34
Registered Member
Regular
 
Cooolbreeez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Arizona
Region: Arizona
Posts: 789
You get that problem fixed yet?
Cooolbreeez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 10:39 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
blackstang1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Northern Illinois
Region: Illinois
Posts: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cooolbreeez View Post
You get that problem fixed yet?
Yeah! Sorry i forgot to post. They sent me a new amplifier, i tried it out and it worked! I then mounted it using the screws provided into the rear seat and it kept going into protection mode. To make a long story short, the design of the mounting holes on the amplifier were causing it to short itself (i have no idea why). I unmounted it and used velcro instead and it has worked ever since.

It is fully working now but i am finding the performance to be lackluster. I have the bass turned all the way up on the head unit, i have the amp gain at ~75% and it still only bumps when i turn the volume up past half way.

I was thinking it was a signal issue, so instead of using the high level inputs built into the amp, i bought a line out converter and tied it into the rear speakers. It helped a bit but it still isn't what i was expecting. I think it has something to do with the speaker signal being sent to the rear speakers by the head unit because if i move the fader to the rear only, the subwoofer sounds really good and punchy, but when i move the fader back to the front, it is almost inaudible because the rest of the sound overpowers it.

So, in short, it has been a mixed bag and a giant hassle.
__________________
2014 Mustang V6 w/Technology package, 6MT

Mods: Airaid CAI w/ Synthamax filter, 18" black AMR wheels
blackstang1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Replacement Front & Rear Speakers for 2014 Base Coupe base stereo GT 1 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 8 07-05-2014 11:42 AM
2014 convertible stereo connections? SonicBlue Mustang Audio & Video 4 03-22-2014 10:50 PM
Help new stereo wiring? Vazqueza90 1979-1995 Mustang GT 3 05-07-2013 03:05 AM
Did Ford change the stereo wiring from 2011 to 2012 in the Mustang? birtingr Mustang Audio & Video 1 07-19-2011 03:13 AM
2000 Mustang V6 Wiring Door panel wiring problem wyatt-00' Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 3 11-30-2009 01:43 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



12:01 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.