Any here with this double din radio adapter/kit - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 10-25-2014, 10:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toydos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Region: Other
Posts: 245
Any here with this double din radio adapter/kit

Like to know/feedback/pictures/comments on this dash kit Metra 99 5823CH Ford Mustang 2010 Up Double DIN Radio Dash Kit | eBay any info will be welcome
__________________
[SIGPIC] My other toy and babe
Toydos is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2014, 11:22 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: wyoming
Region: Wyoming
Posts: 54
that's the old model metra. I have the new model with touch screen and it works well. simple installation
Boss227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 02:48 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
Geok.91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Glen burnie
Region: Maryland
Posts: 239
Wow 240 dollars for a piece of plastic that is a lot of money for a dash kit
Geok.91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-25-2014, 04:41 PM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
iantrusive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: LA
Posts: 195
I have the schoche, but I wish I had this one. The schoche looks and acts cheaply made. I probably spelled the name wrong too.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
iantrusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 05:52 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
bazinga11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Burbs
Region: Canada
Posts: 1,404
^^ one reason I haven't upgraded my stereo system yet. Aftermarket dash kits are pricey as fawwk and look like shiet! Not to mention extra money you have to spend to keep your steering wheel controls and sync.


|| ~BlackOnBlack~ ||
bazinga11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2014, 10:46 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toydos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Region: Other
Posts: 245
I am not completely sold on the METRA kit, the few reviews on net do not favor the display electronics.
__________________
[SIGPIC] My other toy and babe
Toydos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 11:45 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
How does it compare to the Raxiom unit? I know that one isn't exactly audio focused.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 12:35 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
forceflow2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rensselaer
Region: New York
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyM91 View Post
How does it compare to the Raxiom unit? I know that one isn't exactly audio focused.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
The only difference between the basic OEM system and the Raxiom is that it adds a screen and has navigation. It uses the same radio internals and everything, you just tuck them into the dash.

When I initially installed my Raxiom unit, I was extremely pleased with it. However, as time has gone by, I have been noticing more and more issues. It doesn't have any single major issue (unless you got one of the ones with a bum GPS unit), but it does have a metric ton of minor issues that add up. After American Muscle backtracked on the free map updates, I have been looking at just replacing it and getting something I trust more (just got back from a trip around New England and it was a disaster. New maps probably help, but since they were supposed to be free, I can't bring myself to pay for them). Haven't found anything yet, though (and the fact that it places the screen at the top instead of the bottom was another big win in my book and I don't know of anything else that does that). The Raxiom unit is probably the best if you are only looking at adding navigation to a non-nav sync system, but taking into account the competing products, that really isn't saying much.

The Metra unit (both the old and new) really does look like crap. The screen on the new unit is about the size of a smartphone. I have heard there is a firmware update that fixes some of its more glaring issues though. I really just want the knob controls for climate as it's easier to manage while driving, but there doesn't seem to be anything other than the OEM and Raxiom that has those.
__________________
2013 V6 Premium GHIG purchased 01/16/13
forceflow2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 07:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
BigCiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Region: California
Posts: 101
I'm in the same boat. I have the raxiom which is better than nothing. The only other option is the idatalink maestro but that requires a Kenwood head unit. With the maestro and a compatible Kenwood, you'll run north of $1000 pretty easily.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
BigCiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 09:48 PM   #10
Registered Member
Regular
 
14mustang v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: dallas tx
Region: Texas
Posts: 539
I'm gonna buy this I like that the screen is up more and there is a pocket!! The Kenwood screen is the cheapest I could find that would work with it.. and tbh it has the best reviews of all the Kenwood screens



Sent from my HTC One using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1414378092484.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	59.3 KB
ID:	168554  
__________________
2014 v6 blacked out.. the only way to do it. Airaid cai, bbk tb, 93htune, 3.73 gears, and magnaflow competition exhaust
14mustang v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2014, 10:01 PM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
Lambo345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Mount airy
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 112
Anybody consider getting the pioneer avh 4000?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Lambo345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 03:59 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo345 View Post
Anybody consider getting the pioneer avh 4000?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Can't use it with MUS1/Maestro RR combo as it does not have a climate screen. Also does not have Vehicle Info, or Gauges.


Just Sync retention and data on top display with that radio.
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 04:03 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
Lambo345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Mount airy
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 112
You still can't use it, even if the climate is on the dash kit?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Lambo345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 04:05 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lambo345 View Post
You still can't use it, even if the climate is on the dash kit?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
You can use that radio with the Metra or Scosche dash kits, but not with the Maestro one. Those dash kits work with any radio as they have climate control built in them.
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Canada
maestro.idatalink.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 04:12 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
Lambo345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Mount airy
Region: North Carolina
Posts: 112
Which one do you consider better? Metra or the other one?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Lambo345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 09:15 AM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
Toydos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: USA
Region: Other
Posts: 245
So, the consensus is that this Metra unit is not a good choice . Guess i'll live with the Fomoco radio and just do a speaker upgrade
__________________
[SIGPIC] My other toy and babe
Toydos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 10:11 AM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: wyoming
Region: Wyoming
Posts: 54
the metra works fine. I've had no trouble with mine and if you buy a stereo from crutchfield you get the dash kit for 1/2 price. I got a stereo, dash kit, and streering wheel control adaptor and antenna adaptor for $400
Boss227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 09:59 AM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
LUDAKRS526's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Uniondale
Region: New York
Posts: 29
I just got the idatalink maestro with the Mus1 dash kit and I'm highly impressed with, glad I pulled the trigger on this purchase


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
LUDAKRS526 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing single din to double din Mfore33 Mustang Audio & Video 0 08-18-2014 10:24 AM
Double din radio ZangStang02 Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 0 12-10-2013 10:36 PM
1990 GT double din radio. Yes it is possible. SlickRick5oh Mustang Audio & Video 2 03-29-2013 01:39 PM
Double Din/ Half Din Justasix98 Mustang Audio & Video 1 02-20-2012 02:25 AM
Eclipse CD3100 + wiring harness & double din adapter jimmy_beaner Mustang Parts for Sale and Wanted 2 04-07-2008 07:56 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:31 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.