Finally...swapping cluster - Page 2 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-13-2015, 04:49 PM   #36
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I did read that. I do not care so much for track apps at this point.

Maybe I am mistaken but I cannot seem to find any posts on any of the cluster swap threads were people have confirmed if this will affect their "already installed features" such as reverse sensors. And if the cluster is from a Standard, is it gonna wreck my Select Shift?
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2015, 07:20 PM   #37
Registered Member
Regular
 
sid719e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 436
From my understanding, you have to find a premium car with all of your options and use the ASBUILT data from that. I found a car on ebay and used the VIN from that.
sid719e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 07:40 PM   #38
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well i found one with similar options but cannot find a way to get what i need from it. PM me if you know a way to get the right codes.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2015, 03:31 PM   #39
Registered Member
Regular
 
sid719e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 436
Ford has locked the site that I used to get the asbuilt codes that I needed. I would post any questions that you may have in that I reference earlier. If you know anyone at a dealership, or have a good relationship with one, they may be willing to print the asbuilt codes for you. Just give them the vin that you want to use.
sid719e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 07:16 PM   #40
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So I have some good news. I got my 4 way switch in the mail today as well as the Premium LCD cluster.

I connected everything and MyColor works, Select Shift works, E-Brake is detectable, Pressure Gauges work, and Backup Sensor works. Weird part about the Backup Sensor is nothing shows up on the LCD but if I am backing up and get close to something, it goes off like normal. Track Apps does not display.

So now I am waiting for my VCM tool so I can reprogram the keys and I should be all set, besides getting the Odometer fixed. Tacking on 34k miles does not sound like a good time to me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0239.JPG
Views:	113
Size:	63.3 KB
ID:	173556   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0240.JPG
Views:	115
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	173557  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0241.JPG
Views:	123
Size:	79.3 KB
ID:	173558   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0243.JPG
Views:	118
Size:	82.2 KB
ID:	173559  

  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2015, 01:25 PM   #41
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I was able to get a temporary subscription to the Motorcraft website to get the AS Built info I needed to finish the setup. Now I am just waiting for my tool to come in the mail.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:09 AM   #42
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
I was able to get a temporary subscription to the Motorcraft website to get the AS Built info I needed to finish the setup. Now I am just waiting for my tool to come in the mail.
Keep us updated when you get it in and are able to test everything. I'd totally do this but I want to make sure of what I'm getting myself into lol. It should be simple on my car since it's a 2011 and no tech options.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:38 AM   #43
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I actually think the cluster swap is a little more involved on the 2011/12 if you are swapping a 13/14 cluster in.

Waiting for my VCM tool to come in still. Says it should be delivered today but we will see.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 07:35 PM   #44
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Cluster swap was a success. Only hard part was watching the loading bars while the software installed and for PATS.

Track apps worked after doing PATS. The backup sensor worked after entering the AS Built codes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 09:25 PM   #45
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Seems like the car already knew i had 3.31s with 19" wheels so that did not need to be fixed. Took the car for a test drive and everything worked ^_^
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 10:11 PM   #46
Registered Member
Regular
 
DiESeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Richmond
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,909
edit: Never mind. Answered my own concern lol.

Other than that, keep us updated when you find a fix for the mileage! This seems like a really cool upgrade to do for a reasonable amount of money.

What's your investment price so far?
DiESeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 10:39 PM   #47
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
For the cluster, about $400. Thats cluster, switch, temp subscription to motorcraft for AS Built codes, and vcm tool.

Not in any rush for the mileage since i wont be getting rid of the car at this point.

As far as the entire interior upgrade to Premium. Probably around $3,000.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 12:25 PM   #48
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Lastly, the v86 software with the Extended Programming was good enough for my Mustang. I did not use the v91 software.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 03:16 PM   #49
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Premium Cluster just went for sale on ebay:

2014 Mustang GT 5 0L Manual KM H Gauge Cluster Only 6500km | eBay
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 03:19 PM   #50
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Yuck, km/hr and ridiculous price lol

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 09:13 PM   #51
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You can always get the custom faceplate from blackcat i believe they are called? The odometer will still read kilometers but thats not as bad.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 09:18 PM   #52
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
http://www.blackcatcustom.com/ford_mustang-3.htm


With the faceplate it wouldnt be so bad. However, with the total cost, would be easier just to get one from Ford.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 09:18 PM   #53
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 10
You can change the odometer reading in the settings


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
thegreystang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 09:18 PM   #54
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well there you go then that and the faceplate and you are set.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 07:22 PM   #55
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
So after all the great info and help from Kevin I just ordered a premium cluster with a navigation switch for the steering wheel. When i was buying my car my only regret was not getting this cluster but at the time money was tight.So excited I'll post pics. ance:

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 07:47 PM   #56
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastFord13 View Post
So after all the great info and help from Kevin I just ordered a premium cluster with a navigation switch for the steering wheel. When i was buying my car my only regret was not getting this cluster but at the time money was tight.So excited I'll post pics. ance:

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Let us know how it goes! I may look into doing this.

If a 13-14 cluster doesn't work well for an 11-12, I'll probably just shoot for a premium 11-12 for the extra gauges and mycolor.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:08 PM   #57
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Seems like the car already knew i had 3.31s with 19" wheels so that did not need to be fixed. Took the car for a test drive and everything worked ^_^
Question for ya. I'm tuned, will that have anything to do with the new cluster? Its from a 14 GT. I'll put it back to stock when I get the keys done, was just wondering if it would be a problem.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:07 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeyM91 View Post
Let us know how it goes! I may look into doing this.

If a 13-14 cluster doesn't work well for an 11-12, I'll probably just shoot for a premium 11-12 for the extra gauges and mycolor.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Will do, I'm excitedly nervous. Lol.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:20 PM   #58
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would restore stock tune before the swap. If there is any problems with the new cluster and tune, have bama rewrite your tunes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:22 PM   #59
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Buying the stuff is the boring part. Waiting for the stuff to come in for the install, now that is the part that will make your anxiety go crazy!
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 08:57 PM   #60
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Have you thought about or looked into trying to install the ambient lighting to work with the new cluster such as in the doors ect just like the premium? Or is it just not possible.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:07 PM   #61
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes it is possible to wire the cluster to the rest of the mycolor components. However, you would need to locate the wiring harness needed and purchase it. Then you would need to run said harness through the car. To the rest of the mycolor hardware. I looked into this but decided No because running wire through to the door seems tricky.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:09 PM   #62
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deadreckoning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warwick
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 23
I've been wanting to do the same thing to my 14 just can't find the dam cluster but reading this thread might help me a lot thanks for putting this info up


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Deadreckoning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:12 PM   #63
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I spliced all if the mycolor hardware to enable the blue lighting which is my favorite color. That being said, I have no desire to change it so the setup I have seems complete to me. And i do have all of the Mycolor stuff (door sills, cluster, cupholder, footwells, backseat area, and door handles).
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2015, 09:13 PM   #64
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you wanna see any pics of my whole car, go to my page on here and check out My Garage. Idk if you can see it on the mobile app though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 12:24 AM   #65
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deadreckoning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warwick
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 23
Looks like I got to go on pc to check out the pics but where did you get ambient lighting system that's what I been looking to do to mine but the more impotent part for me is the cluster with the my track apps lol


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Deadreckoning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:18 AM   #66
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deadreckoning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warwick
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 23
wow just checked out your pics that's one hell of job you did on the interior looks great basically what I've been thinking of doing glad to see its actually possible.
Deadreckoning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 01:50 AM   #67
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The parts I collected piece by piece off ebay. Took alot of searching and patience because stuff like the door panels dont always go up for sale.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 02:40 AM   #68
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deadreckoning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warwick
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 23
Ya I've been having a ***** if a time trying to find the dam cluster got to a point where I just said **** it lol but I do have a buddy that works at my local ford dealership that might b able to get one but been putting it off cuz o know I'm gonna pay out the *** there -_-


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Deadreckoning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:32 AM   #69
Registered Member
Regular
 
Noodles76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Central FL
Region: Florida
Posts: 1,198
If I have a base gt would the premium cluster be plug and play or what else would I need to do to get it functional and show the correct mileage?


2014 5.OHHHHHH
Noodles76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 04:46 AM   #70
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
To get the correct mileage displayed, you would have to mail it to one of the companies that corrects odometers on newer cars. I am not familiar with any off the top of my head. You may have to get the dealer to input the AS Built codes if some of the features are missing. You will need to supply the codes to them as most dealers wont know what to do.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping Instrument Cluster Kevin.Cook 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 5 01-06-2015 07:21 AM
2014 V6 Base Cluster to Premium Cluster sid719e 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 11 08-17-2014 01:23 AM
Ford Electronics/Programming Expert? Swapping 2013 Premium Cluster to 2013 Base doofoo 2011-2014 Mustang GT 2 07-16-2012 05:29 PM
The Official V6Stangs File Swapping Thread! ItWouldAppearSo The Bar 21 10-22-2003 05:30 PM
Swapping brakes Rellik Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 11 10-16-2003 08:06 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



05:57 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.