Finally...swapping cluster - Page 3 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-30-2015, 06:37 AM   #71
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Just noticed that the 14 cluster differs from the 13 cluster in appearance. Looks like I'll have a Frankenstein lol

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2015, 08:14 AM   #72
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yea same here. I got a 14 with a 13 cluster. But the still do the same thing for me as far as the LCD and MyColor are concerned. Unless the next owner is familiar with Mustangs, they won't know. But then again, I do not plan on trading my car in for a LONG time, if at all.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 08:26 AM   #73
Registered Member
Regular
 
Deadreckoning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warwick
Region: Rhode Island
Posts: 23
Wuts actually different between the 13 and 14 cluster I've never seen a 13 one but just assumed they where the same


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Deadreckoning is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-30-2015, 08:28 AM   #74
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
On the 13 premium cluster, the is a fairly big white ring around both sides of the gauges that illuminate with MyColor. On the 14, it is a very thin white ring.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 09:57 AM   #75
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
On the 13 premium cluster, the is a fairly big white ring around both sides of the gauges that illuminate with MyColor. On the 14, it is a very thin white ring.
Exactly. Not a huge difference but I thought they were the same. I kinda like the 13 a little better but happy either way.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 02:51 PM   #76
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Most of the tools I find are similar to:

VCM2 For Ford VCM II IDS V86 OEM Multi-Language diagnostic interface

But everytime I read the description, it mentions 2013 and older models. So I am not sure if these work on 2014.

When you search car-parts.com, select Speedometer and then (cluster), MPH, 3.7L, ID DR33-10849-EA thru EJ and it will give you a lot of stores with the 2013-2014 clusters for sale.
Is this the VCM you purchased? Newer mind I see which one you got.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:04 PM   #77
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The install of the IDS software is pretty straight forward. Just very time consuming. Even with a higher end laptop, setting up all of the software took about 30 minutes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:09 PM   #78
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Thinking about going the same route as you did. My ford dealer wants 100$ to do the keys when I can get the tool for about 190cdn. With this tool can the milage be adjusted also?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 03:36 PM   #79
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unfortunately not. Till today, I cannot find a tool that will do the mileage. The site I got my VCM from it was $165. That was with the 5 day DHL shipping.

The VCM will allow you to correct your speedometer if you change wheel or gear size. It will let you program keys. It will clear codes for you. It will let you enter AS Built codes into the car. As well as many other things.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2015, 11:34 PM   #80
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Unfortunately not. Till today, I cannot find a tool that will do the mileage. The site I got my VCM from it was $165. That was with the 5 day DHL shipping.

The VCM will allow you to correct your speedometer if you change wheel or gear size. It will let you program keys. It will clear codes for you. It will let you enter AS Built codes into the car. As well as many other things.
Out of curiosity, I do need an IDS flash to make my boss 302 steering wheel ' s audio controls function. Do you think the VCM tool would be able to do that with the as built codes from a 302?

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 11:15 AM   #81
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Maybe. Does the button layout match the previous wheels? If not, could be wiring.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2015, 12:19 PM   #82
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Maybe. Does the button layout match the previous wheels? If not, could be wiring.
No, I have a base car. The articles I've read on it says Ford can do it with AS built codes through IDS since the Boss 302 had the same base stereo. It didn't have the Shaker system.

I was just curious if I could do it through the VCM tool. I've asked the ford dealer in my town and they just look at me like I'm crazy lol they've obviously never done it.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 12:18 PM   #83
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
you could always hook up the vcm tool and enter codes and see what happens.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 05:40 AM   #84
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Well my cluster should arrive today. My car is stored in my garage for the winter, but I want to at least plug in the cluster to make sure everything works on it. I know it won't start because of the security but by putting in the cluster and in ganging the key will I still be able to put the old cluster back in with no I'll effects and start up fine? Thanks.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 09:06 AM   #85
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You should be able to turn the car on with the old cluster, swap in the new cluster to test functionality, and then swap back out the cluster. You MIGHT get an oil change error (I think this is normal). You may also see Track Apps not displaying. That should be fixed after either programming the keys or entering AS Built codes.

Just testing the cluster will not affect the way your car starts with the old cluster. Unless you reprogram the keys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 10:02 AM   #86
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Thanks Kevin. Do you know where I can find the wire harness if I wanted the ambient lighting.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 10:05 AM   #87
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I do not unfortunately at this time. I did see the full MyColor harness once on eBay a while back. But I didn't see it a couple of weeks ago when I checked. Doesn't hurt to search on there though.

My problem would have been fishing it through the different parts of the car. Such as through to the doors. I dont know if you have looked at it, but fishing things through the little tube thing going into the door isn't exactly a simple task.

Either way - Good Luck!
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 10:59 AM   #88
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I just checked ebay again and did not see the wire harness for MyColor.

But I did find a MyColor cupholder for an Automatic on there. It's one of the only ones on there. The rest are for Manual Trans.

2010 2014 Mustang Center Console Inner Lid Cup Holder Interior My Color Auto | eBay
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 03:37 PM   #89
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Received my switch today and going to install everything temporary to make sure everything works other than the car starting of coarse lol. I'll post some pics tonight.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1423517781588.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	175102  
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 03:39 PM   #90
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Congrats! I know how excited you must be. This part is only half the fun and a teaser at the same time.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:09 PM   #91
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Well this must have been the easiest mode I've done to my car lol. Only took 15 minutes to install the switch and remove the old cluster and swap in the new one. I am a little confused though, my new cluster is from a 14 GT that I thought started coming with track apps standard, but I don't see it there. I can't believe the difference with the new cluster!!!
BTW thanks Kevin for all your help and time!!!! Much appreciated! Now I just have to wait till mid march to get the keys programmed.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1423530178265.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	175111   Click image for larger version

Name:	1423530194272.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	41.1 KB
ID:	175112  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1423530210145.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	175113  
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:13 PM   #92
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 20
Looking for the same for my 14 v6. Can't find a premium cluster anywhere!


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
hansford1333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 07:52 PM   #93
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yea the clusters are super hard to find. I was just lucky in finding that one for FastFord13.

FastFord13: the track apps rarely show up when you first install the cluster. It will either show up when you program the keys (which mine did), or when you enter the AS Built codes.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:37 PM   #94
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Yea the clusters are super hard to find. I was just lucky in finding that one for FastFord13.

FastFord13: the track apps rarely show up when you first install the cluster. It will either show up when you program the keys (which mine did), or when you enter the AS Built codes.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
+1, if you didn't post this cluster I might have never found one in kms. They are super rare as it is! I over paid (400cdn shipped) but I wasn't letting this get away. He was asking 400 U.S which was 500cdn so I did get 20% off I guess lol. You the man Kevin, I can't thank you enough thumbs! IMO its soooo worth it! I suggest to anyone who is toying with the idea to do it if you can find one.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:40 PM   #95
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Another PIC.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1423535975931.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	175117  
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 08:41 PM   #96
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
BTW I put the old cluster back in and the car started right up, so you Kevin were correct sir!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 09:09 PM   #97
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Have you got confirmation that a dealer will do the keys and maybe the as built codes?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 10:30 PM   #98
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Very cool. Still looking into trying a 13 or 14 cluster with my 11 but it's considerably more involved lol. I'm considering just grabbing an 11 or 12 premium cluster for the my color and extra gauges and calling it a day.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:08 AM   #99
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yeai f I had a 11/12 I would just get the Premium cluster for those years. To be honest, now that I have settled into the new cluster, I only use it for MyColor and the fancy avg MPG screen. I used track apps maybe a couple of times and the virtual gauges almost never. On top of the MyColor, I set the color and stopped messing with it.

It is nice to have but may not be worth ripping your hair out for. Up to you on how much of a challenge you like.
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:10 AM   #100
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Yeai f I had a 11/12 I would just get the Premium cluster for those years. To be honest, now that I have settled into the new cluster, I only use it for MyColor and the fancy avg MPG screen. I used track apps maybe a couple of times and the virtual gauges almost never. On top of the MyColor, I set the color and stopped messing with it.

It is nice to have but may not be worth ripping your hair out for. Up to you on how much of a challenge you like.
Well my research into it shows that you need an entirely different $400 ABS module for the track apps to function. The rest functions fine. I did read about some work around but I don't think I would be too keen to splice into anything like the ABS sensor lol

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 08:35 AM   #101
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yea, throwing money at something is alot easier on the mind then potentially causing other things to break as far as splicing goes. The only thing that scares me with those 11/12 swaps, is the info button swap from the dash to steering wheel. I heard you are supposed to rewire something?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 09:25 AM   #102
Registered Member
Regular
 
JoeyM91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Shawnee
Region: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Yea, throwing money at something is alot easier on the mind then potentially causing other things to break as far as splicing goes. The only thing that scares me with those 11/12 swaps, is the info button swap from the dash to steering wheel. I heard you are supposed to rewire something?
For the 13/14 cluster swap to an 11/12 I believe you do. For the 11/12 premium there is just the my color wiring and then load as built data for the extra 2 gauges to function.

I could be wrong though. I'll have to look at that article again.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Mustang Evolution mobile app
__________________
2011 V6 Race Red - Airaid CAI , BBK 73mm Throttle Body, 3.73 FRPP Gears, BBK Longtube Headers , BBK Off Road X-Pipe , Borla ATAKs , SR Performance Strut Tower Brace, MPT 91R Tune, Powerstop Rotors and pads, JLT Oil Seperator, Koni STR.T Struts & Shocks, Eibach Pro Line Springs, BMR Adjustable Panhard Bar, J&M Caster Camber Plates, Mickey Thompson Street Comps on 19" Laguna Seca Hyper Black Wheels, Several other aesthetic mods
JoeyM91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 08:26 AM   #103
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Lastly, the v86 software with the Extended Programming was good enough for my Mustang. I did not use the v91 software.
Hi Kevin,
Going to order the tool today v86, but what is the Extended programming you speak of? I'll have a 13 car with a 14 cluster.

2013 Candy Apple Red 3.7, Roush Axel Backs, Airaid CAI, BBK shorty headers,Barton shifter bracket, Bama tuned, SR lowering Springs, J&M adjustable pan hard bar, 3.73 Ford Racing gears, GT 500 spoiler, Upper and lower modern billit grill, 2010 GT Premium 19" wheels, GT 500 stripes, Painted mirror covers, MMD Billitt fuel door. 2014 Premium cluster, Chrome mustang shifter knob,
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 09:04 AM   #104
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This is from post #35 on this thread:


I did the swap on my 2014 and used version 86 of the IDS software. One important thing to do is use the FordExtendProgr.exe file located here Index of /FORD.

Also, if you have not done so, I would read this thread (definitely the first 12 - 13 pages) How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base model GT

It was pretty simple once I ran the FordExtendProgr.exe file - and it doesn't matter if it's a GT or a V6. Mine was a V6 and it worked as advertised.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app

---------- Post added at 09:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:03 AM ----------

Well, seems my hyperlink broke, but if you go back to that post, it should work.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Mustang Evolution mobile app
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2015, 09:08 AM   #105
Registered Member
Regular
 
JohnnyBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 83
Looks great man! When I first purchased my 13' premium I thought they all came stock with that but I later found out by a buddy of mine who has a 14' I guess base and he didn't have the cluster like mine. Ford is now implementing it on all 15s makes the car actually feel more "premium" if you all can I'd highly suggest doing it. It great and it adds a nice touch to your stang.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
JohnnyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping Instrument Cluster Kevin.Cook 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 5 01-06-2015 07:21 AM
2014 V6 Base Cluster to Premium Cluster sid719e 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 11 08-17-2014 01:23 AM
Ford Electronics/Programming Expert? Swapping 2013 Premium Cluster to 2013 Base doofoo 2011-2014 Mustang GT 2 07-16-2012 05:29 PM
The Official V6Stangs File Swapping Thread! ItWouldAppearSo The Bar 21 10-22-2003 05:30 PM
Swapping brakes Rellik Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 11 10-16-2003 08:06 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:17 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.