Finally...swapping cluster - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-10-2015, 02:00 PM   #1
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Finally...swapping cluster

After combing the internet for days, i found a 2013 Premium cluster w/track apps. I also purchased the steering wheel switch on eBay.

The cluster i found was on car-parts.com.

They have a lot of 2013-2014 clusters/speedometers on there right now. You just gotta call the place that has it to see if its a base or premium because they don't specify. That is what i had to do. Bought the cluster for $150 and the switch for $50.

Lastly, I need the VCM tool now. I read through the forums but since i got my 2014 near the end of last year, i don't know which exact vcm tool will work. I see different versions, such as 86 and 90.

Does anyone know where I could find one for a good price that will indeed work on my car? Or does it not matter and the software updates to be compatible with the cars?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1420920038.589662.jpg
Views:	371
Size:	222.9 KB
ID:	173286Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1420920050.163535.jpg
Views:	326
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	173287
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2015, 02:58 PM   #2
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Most of the tools I find are similar to:

VCM2 For Ford VCM II IDS V86 OEM Multi-Language diagnostic interface

But everytime I read the description, it mentions 2013 and older models. So I am not sure if these work on 2014.

When you search car-parts.com, select Speedometer and then (cluster), MPH, 3.7L, ID DR33-10849-EA thru EJ and it will give you a lot of stores with the 2013-2014 clusters for sale.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2015, 03:56 PM   #3
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So after reading up further on this, you have to download the v91 software as v86 will not work with the 2014s. I would like to thank myself for answering my own questions. So any purchase of the VCM II tool is good as long as the vendor offers the v91 software.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2015, 04:21 PM   #4
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
So I ended up buying: Best Quality For Ford VCM II V86 Multi-Language Diagnostic Tool

Should be here by next weekend hopefully as well as the other stuff. Says it comes with the v91 software so we will see. With shipping (Picked DHL 3-5 days), came out to $164.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 01:41 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
paintmann111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: New London
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 549
I thought you needed the v93 software? The tool you posted states: "2.Please do not use original Ford V93.01 software,the device will not work."
paintmann111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 07:19 AM   #6
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I was reading other forums and people said they used v91.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 12:55 PM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
After combing the internet for days, i found a 2013 Premium cluster w/track apps. I also purchased the steering wheel switch on eBay.

The cluster i found was on car-parts.com.

They have a lot of 2013-2014 clusters/speedometers on there right now. You just gotta call the place that has it to see if its a base or premium because they don't specify. That is what i had to do. Bought the cluster for $150 and the switch for $50.

Lastly, I need the VCM tool now. I read through the forums but since i got my 2014 near the end of last year, i don't know which exact vcm tool will work. I see different versions, such as 86 and 90.

Does anyone know where I could find one for a good price that will indeed work on my car? Or does it not matter and the software updates to be compatible with the cars?Attachment 173286Attachment 173287
Hey Kevin, I'll order one today if you can help me find a cluster at that price!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 01:03 PM   #8
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
The website i listed, choose 2013 for the car year and pick speedometer. They will list choices of kph and mph. Choose mph for 3.7 liter with the model # i listed above. When selecting the speedometer from the 12 choices or so, it will be the 3rd from last.

Then you will just have to call each place and tell them you are calling about a mustang speedometer they have available online. They may ask for the stock # listed.

Make sure to get a pic of it and ask questions.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 01:56 PM   #9
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Couple of questions for you, I might have found one pretty close by but its marked as a 5.0 auto,will this still function with a 3.7 manual or do I have to find one specific to mine? It also doesn't specify premium cluster, I'm assuming I'll have to contact them to verify? And lastly will I be able to have my milage on the cluster or will it be the milage that's already on the new cluster?

Thanks again and sorry for all the questions.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 02:05 PM   #10
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Finally...swapping cluster

Some places can fix the mileage for you. Here in Austin, TX I already found a local shop to do it. Just google speedometer shops and your town, state.

From what i have seen for the newer mustang clusters, the v6 and gt go to 160mph and the rpms go to 8k. I do not see any cosmetic differences so i would assume they would function the same after you load your as built codes to it.

Some shops will ship the cluster to you, so make sure to ask. The one i bought from charged me $20 to ship me the cluster. And they were in Georgia.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 02:07 PM   #11
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It seems you will need a Windows XP laptop to use the VCM tool. Luckily for me, I work in IT so I can just build one out for temporary use.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 02:11 PM   #12
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just make sure to ask them if they have powered on the cluster to test it, ask for a pic to confirm it is a Premium cluster, and just in case, ask about exchange or return policy.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 02:36 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Thanks for the info, I sent them an email asking all kinds of questions. Now I'll search eBay for the steering wheel part! Thank again!

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 05:37 PM   #14
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You might find this helpful also:

http://youtu.be/in68335Qe2c
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 06:16 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
You might find this helpful also:

http://youtu.be/in68335Qe2c
Lol, thanks bud, I've already watched that one 3 times.
When do u think the install will take place? This is something I'll be doing 100℅. For me this was my only regret in not getting the premium.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 06:22 PM   #16
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am hoping my stuff arrives this coming Saturday. If not then, maybe the Monday after.

The vXX software seems to be important in regards to when your car was built. I checked the Manufactured sticker in my drivers door and mine was built/made on 12/2013. So i should be ok.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 06:28 PM   #17
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I am mainly worried about how fast the vcm tool will get here. I picked DHL 3-5 days but since its coming from across seas, i am skeptical.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 06:33 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
Is that tool you ordered a one shot deal, meaning do you still have a use for it after its done?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 06:45 PM   #19
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
It is able to be used even after. Same tool as everyone else on here is using. Because I doubt anyone ponied up $2,000 for the licensed tool from Ford.

This tool is useful for several other things besides programming keys. You can reconfigure the speed governor and clear trouble codes.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 06:59 PM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,259
I'm just debating if I should purchase this also as I'm sure my local ford dealer might charge me 100-150 anyways.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 07:08 PM   #21
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
This tool can let you do the keys and as built data for Track Apps. I doubt the dealer will do the mileage for an used cluster. You will need to search for an online shop to do that or a local place.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 07:10 PM   #22
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You might be able to get the dealer to program the keys. More unlikely to get them to do the track apps unless you explain/show them everything. That still is a long shot. And about a 0% chance they will do the miles.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 08:18 AM   #23
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you do not get a reply by afternoon today via email from the places you sent emails to, call them. 90% of the time I do not get emails back when sending inquiries.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 01:27 PM   #24
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Just built a Windows XP Pro SP. 3 laptop, so that is ready to go. And my items have shipped. So at this point I am just waiting.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 01:58 PM   #25
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Probably use 1ZVBP8AM6E5261709 for AS BUILT codes. It has the Performance package like my car as well as the backup sensors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 02:21 PM   #26
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I cannot seem to find where we can look up AS Built codes. Does anyone have a way to find this out? If so, PM me.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 06:53 PM   #27
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 10
I noticed you said you were in Austin, was wondering if you'd mind sharing that VCM and helping me do the install on mine.
thegreystang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 07:26 PM   #28
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If my project is a success then maybe....for a small fee

You will need to get the parts and as built codes for your Mustang.

The only thing I have been able to find on how to get the codes, is now you have to pay ford for temporary access to their database for the codes.

Like $30 for 72 hours. And it gets pricier depending on how long you need access.

http://www.motorcraftservice.com/vdi...ageid=&gutsid=
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 07:39 PM   #29
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Also, once your cluster is done, you might wanna check out http://www.rapidtransitservices.com/...epair.php#2713
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 07:57 PM   #30
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin.Cook View Post
Also, once your cluster is done, you might wanna check out http://www.rapidtransitservices.com/...epair.php#2713
that link didn't work, it 404ed. but yeah i can do a small fee, does the VCM also allow you to change the miles on the cluster? I'm going to start looking for a cluster tomorrow. Probably going to wait for your success post before purchasing though
thegreystang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 08:34 PM   #31
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unfortunately, i cannot find an over the counter tool to change mileage, Bama, Hypertech, nor the VCM allows this.

There are a couple local shops to do this and there are some places online that you can send the cluster to.

Just do a google search for Speedometer shop austin, tx
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 09:21 PM   #32
Registered User
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Texas
Region: Texas
Posts: 10
Also I may be able to get you the as built codes, i know a couple guys that work service for Ford.
thegreystang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 09:33 PM   #33
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you can get them for 1ZVBP8AM6E5261709 i would help you with the vcm for free if my cluster is a success.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 04:27 PM   #34
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Without being able to locate the right AS Built codes, this project might have hit a brick wall.

I am not sure if using codes from Manual mustang will matter if yours is Auto? Also not sure if features like Reverse Sensors and Select Shift will be affected.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2015, 04:39 PM   #35
Registered Member
Regular
 
sid719e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Region: Florida
Posts: 436
I did the swap on my 2014 and used version 86 of the IDS software. One important thing to do is use the FordExtendProgr.exe file located here Index of /FORD.

Also, if you have not done so, I would read this thread (definitely the first 12 - 13 pages) How to install a 2013 Mustang Track Apps Instrument Cluster in a 2013 Base model GT

It was pretty simple once I ran the FordExtendProgr.exe file - and it doesn't matter if it's a GT or a V6. Mine was a V6 and it worked as advertised.
sid719e is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swapping Instrument Cluster Kevin.Cook 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 5 01-06-2015 07:21 AM
2014 V6 Base Cluster to Premium Cluster sid719e 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 11 08-17-2014 01:23 AM
Ford Electronics/Programming Expert? Swapping 2013 Premium Cluster to 2013 Base doofoo 2011-2014 Mustang GT 2 07-16-2012 05:29 PM
The Official V6Stangs File Swapping Thread! ItWouldAppearSo The Bar 21 10-22-2003 05:30 PM
Swapping brakes Rellik Pre-2005 V6 Mustang 11 10-16-2003 08:06 PM

» Like Us On Facebook



11:58 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.