Switched out gauges in my 2012 - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 01-19-2015, 02:58 AM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Switched out gauges in my 2012

I have a base v6 mustang. Recently purchased a premium gauge cluster off of ebay for 60 dollars. Have some before and after pics to show. The two new gauges (Voltage and Oil temp) aren't exactly working? the battery gauge is red and the oil temp isn't on. However I haven't taken this to the ford dealer to get it programmed. Hoping it works after it gets reset and programmed to my car.

Hoping to get it programmed this coming week. It is a very simple relatively cheap mod that can be done to spruce up a base v6 interior.

Took all of 10 minutes to get the old gauge cluster out and new one in to test out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-6.JPG
Views:	111
Size:	1.47 MB
ID:	173799   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-5.JPG
Views:	105
Size:	1.41 MB
ID:	173800  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-3.JPG
Views:	115
Size:	1.75 MB
ID:	173801   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-7.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	1.66 MB
ID:	173802  

RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2015, 03:07 AM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
DiESeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Richmond
Region: Virginia
Posts: 1,909
Are you stuck to that color combination?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
DiESeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 08:28 AM   #3
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
You might need to enter the AS Built codes for the 2011/2012 for the ABS And IPC so everything talks to each other. Your car still thinks you have a base cluster and it is not sending the extra info to the cluster. Also, if MyColor is not working, then this may be why as well.
  Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2015, 08:30 AM   #4
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
A VCM II tool will be required to make this change. I believe the dealer will only enter the codes if you supply them AND if the mileage of the swapped cluster matchers your old one. Even then, some dealers may be not willing to do this. This is why most people here buy their own VCM tool.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 12:19 PM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
Color on gauges still retain full ability to switch, you can see in the picture its purple. Obviously ambient lighting ect doesn't work for me.

From a little research it seems like ford charges just as much as the tool actually cost to switch over the gauge cluster, definitely going to look into that. I do have to send out the cluster for a mileage change. (3k difference).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo-9.JPG
Views:	92
Size:	1.77 MB
ID:	173811  
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 12:54 PM   #6
Registered Member
Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Elizabethtown
Region: Kentucky
Posts: 108
thats actually the next thing i wanted to do; ive been combing through ebay looking....good find on your part!
raykrieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 01:04 PM   #7
Kevin.Cook
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Were you able to pick up a new headlamp switch bezel with the Info button? You will need this to navigate the little menu it has.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2015, 01:20 PM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
RomanG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Whittier
Region: California
Posts: 163
I was actually navigating and switching colors fine with the stock switch. everything worked great
RomanG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched from Poly to Spherical LCAs Napoleon85 2011-2014 Mustang GT 6 07-19-2013 09:40 PM
Switched 5V source? Jukens 2011-2014 Mustang GT 5 01-20-2013 10:44 AM
2012 Camaro SS, 2012 Mustang Boss 302, or 2012 Mustang Gt Premium? iseabail General Mustang Discussion 4 07-18-2011 11:12 PM
2012 Stang :: 2012 Ford Mustang dacriss Member Garages 0 06-15-2011 01:02 PM
check out my gauges! fast64 Pictures and Videos 20 03-23-2005 06:13 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



08:32 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.