TPMS monitor fault - Mustang Evolution

Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them here!
Old 03-22-2015, 05:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
Regular
 
roushMarlon831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Watsonville
Region: California
Posts: 427
Send a message via Yahoo to roushMarlon831
TPMS monitor fault

How do I get rid of this. Couldn't clear it with the tuner and I was going to train the cars tires but I guess I need a special device


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
roushMarlon831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-22-2015, 05:29 PM   #2
Registered Member
Regular
 
kgallowaypa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami
Region: Florida
Posts: 210
Did you go custom tunes? Maybe call up your company and see if they can manual ovveride the TPMS in the cluster
__________________
2014 Sterling Grey V6 Manual
PMods: Steeda CAI // MPT 93 Octane Tune // 3.73 Gears // Roush 4" Axelbacks // Ghost Cammed by MPT
AMods: Dome Bulbs // Mirror Covers // Hood Pin Kit // Roush Upper & Lower Grille
kgallowaypa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2015, 10:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
Regular
 
FastFord13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Montreal
Region: Canada
Posts: 4,258
Only way is to get tpms, or black electrical tape.

Sent from my LG-D852 using Mustang Evolution mobile app
FastFord13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-23-2015, 12:30 AM   #4
Registered Member
Regular
 
Waylap1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Region: New Hampshire
Posts: 820
I've had the Tpms learning tool and never needed it. I switch back and forth winter and summer wheels and don't do anything. Never had a light.
We need more info. Are these oem factory wheels with original Tpms or aftermarket wheels with tpms or no tpms?
Waylap1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 01:04 AM   #5
Registered Member
Regular
 
roushMarlon831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Watsonville
Region: California
Posts: 427
Send a message via Yahoo to roushMarlon831
These are original oem wheels. The thing is. I got a flat. So I went to go get it fixed and it was the air valve that was messed up so they switched it out, could it be that?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
roushMarlon831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 02:52 AM   #6
Registered Member

Regular
 
tym_v6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Suck it, Goodell
Region: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,340
Did they Robert out fool with your TPMS? Did you use Fix A Flat?

You can get the TPMS tool for under $40. I got a fault after switching to my winter wheels, even though I've done several winter/summer wheel swaps before without any problems. The tool cleared it.
__________________
2013 Grabber Blue V6 Premium auto | MCA | Performance Package | BMR/Shelby Panhard Bar | Steeda Rear End Links | BMR Rear LCAs | JLT Oil Sep | FRPP Diff Cover | DSS Aluminum Shaft | Adaptive Shift Delete | Cervini Type 4 Ram Air Hood
Order: 10/13/12 | VIN: 10/19/12 | Sticker: 11/3/12 | Build: 11/30/12 | Mine: 12/22/12!

Restoration project back on the road: my dad's 1969 Camaro SS 350
tym_v6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:03 AM   #7
Registered Member
Regular
 
derklink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Saint Louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 110
Sorry to chime in but I have kind of a similar problem. Switched to a set of OEM wheels and tires with TPMS. Bought the training tool and tried it many times. Just won't sync. Don't know what else to do.
derklink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 10:30 AM   #8
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by roushMarlon831 View Post
These are original oem wheels. The thing is. I got a flat. So I went to go get it fixed and it was the air valve that was messed up so they switched it out, could it be that?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
That would be the problem alright. The TPMS sensor is part of the valve. It is strange that they replaced it with a plain valve and did not tell you about it.
iguanaman3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 11:03 AM   #9
Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malvern, PA
Region: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,510
Quote:
Originally Posted by roushMarlon831 View Post
How do I get rid of this. Couldn't clear it with the tuner and I was going to train the cars tires but I guess I need a special device


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
Quote:
Originally Posted by derklink View Post
Sorry to chime in but I have kind of a similar problem. Switched to a set of OEM wheels and tires with TPMS. Bought the training tool and tried it many times. Just won't sync. Don't know what else to do.

Hey Guys,

Have either of you tried to drop about 15-20 lbs of air out of your driver side front tire and then attempt to have them relearn? If they worked previously they should be just fine! Give that a try and let me know how you're making out!

Alex
__________________
Alex Lazarus | AmericanMuscle.com
Toll Free: 1-866-363-4591
Bama Hotline: 888.226.9764 | M-F 9AM-5:30PM EST
WIN A SUPERCHARGED MUSTANG & 2017 RAPTOR!
Free Same-Day Shipping!
AMAlexLazarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 11:03 AM   #10
Staff

Regular
Staff
 
Strange Mud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Small Town
Region: Connecticut
Posts: 5,019
+1 on tape
__________________
2012 V6 with suspension, shifting, stopping and sound mods.
Strange Mud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 11:46 AM   #11
Registered Member
Regular
 
roushMarlon831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Watsonville
Region: California
Posts: 427
Send a message via Yahoo to roushMarlon831
Quote:
Originally Posted by iguanaman3 View Post
That would be the problem alright. The TPMS sensor is part of the valve. It is strange that they replaced it with a plain valve and did not tell you about it.

Yea I'm sure it's the valve. Do I just get a new one and replace it?


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
roushMarlon831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 12:15 PM   #12
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 326
Replacing it is what the shop should have done but they would probably have soaked you for the cost of the part. A new one is available for $22.50 on Ebay. I would buy that and make the shop replace it and do the "relearning".2010 2014 Mustang GT V6 Genuine Ford Motorcraft Valve Stem TPMS Sensor | eBay
iguanaman3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 12:23 PM   #13
Registered Member
Regular
 
roushMarlon831's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Watsonville
Region: California
Posts: 427
Send a message via Yahoo to roushMarlon831
Quote:
Originally Posted by iguanaman3 View Post
Replacing it is what the shop should have done but they would probably have soaked you for the cost of the part. A new one is available for $22.50 on Ebay. I would buy that and make the shop replace it and do the "relearning".2010 2014 Mustang GT V6 Genuine Ford Motorcraft Valve Stem TPMS Sensor | eBay

Thanks for the help man.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
roushMarlon831 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 01:06 PM   #14
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 326
You're welcome. That's what this place is for.
iguanaman3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:45 PM   #15
Registered Member
Regular
 
derklink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Saint Louis
Region: Missouri
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMAlexLazarus View Post
Hey Guys,

Have either of you tried to drop about 15-20 lbs of air out of your driver side front tire and then attempt to have them relearn? If they worked previously they should be just fine! Give that a try and let me know how you're making out!

Alex
Thank you, Alex! I will try that.
derklink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 08:48 PM   #16
Registered Member
Regular
 
sticks123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Bourbonnais
Region: Illinois
Posts: 518
I had a fault on mine and took it to the ford dealership and they reprogrammed it and it worked fine and NO charge.


Sent from my iPhone using Mustang Evolution
sticks123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 10:32 PM   #17
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
No need for the TPMS sync tool on our cars.
This works just fine:



Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByMustang Evolution1430105548.781399.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	128.8 KB
ID:	181202


Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2015, 10:59 PM   #18
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 326
Except 2012 or older Mustangs don't have the same TPMS system. Mine does not tell you which tire is low, you have to figure it out. No LCD screen either for this learning trick. It's good to know that newer systems are more accurate and I was wondering how the system could know which tire was low. You must have to do this "relearn" when you rotate your tires too. Thanks for posting it.
iguanaman3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 03:06 AM   #19
Registered Member
Regular
 
Midnight2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: So Cal
Region: California
Posts: 790
TPMS monitor fault

Mine is a 2012 and when I push the emergency button 6 times the relearn info appears on the dash near the tach and speedo. No LCD screen needed. It appears like your warning symbols that you don't see until they are needed. Via LED warnings. It doesn't tell you which tire is low. It just syncs each TPMS individually to your computer. And no you CAN rotate without re-syncing. It just knows a tire is low, not which one.
If it didn't work then it wouldn't appear on my dash for relearning and it indeed does.
Try it on yours and you will see, you don't have to follow through just turn the key off and don't go thru the process.
Can't be sure but I doubt you have to re-sync on the ones that know which tire is low either. Each TPMS doesn't have a different frequency. It's saying which tire you are syncing so you know which one to let the air out of is all.



Sent from my iPad using Mustang Evolution
Midnight2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2015, 08:45 AM   #20
Registered Member
Regular
 
iguanaman3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bokeelia
Region: Florida
Posts: 326
Cool. I will try that.
iguanaman3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Lower Navigation
Go Back   Mustang Evolution > 4 Cylinder | V6 | Classic Mustangs || Tech and Talk > 2011-2014 V6 Mustang

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TPMS fault Eric5oh 2011-2014 Mustang GT 4 02-16-2015 06:14 AM
Tire pressure sensor fault Rileychan01 2011-2014 V6 Mustang 12 06-17-2014 04:59 PM
Tire Pressure Sensor Fault? Black8thElement Mustang Wheels & Tires 4 04-28-2014 08:31 AM
Crack cover, not my fault! Who the hell doesnt torque the bolts down on IRS brace! drusmith 1996-2004 Mustang GT 12 03-16-2011 06:33 PM
I was involved in an accident that wasn't my fault, any suggestions what to do now? Attorney? avsalom Classic Mustangs 3 08-24-2009 05:40 AM

» Like Us On Facebook



09:41 PM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0

MustangEvolution.com is in no way associated with or endorsed by Ford Motor Company.