Mustang Evolution Forum banner

Raxiom Puddle lamps / install and review

4K views 22 replies 11 participants last post by  au01st 
#1 · (Edited)
So i picked up a set of the Raxiom Puddle lamps for my mother's 5.0, and figured i'd do a little install / how to / and give my impressions of the product.

Raxiom Mustang Puddle Lamp Kit – Blue 3590-B-RAXIOM (13-14 All) - Free Shipping

So the raxiom instructions are, for the most part, pretty good. I really only struggled when it came to removing the glass from the mirror since i have never done this before. That particular task is the type where the first will take you an hour and the second will take you 5 minutes once you know what you are doing. So, my slight set back with not wanting to break the mirror included, this whole install took me just over an hour, and can be completed with really just some basic tools.

First step obviously is to remove the panel covering the bolts for the mirror. My dad got these nifty soft touch tools for christmas so i figured i'd give them a try. They're pretty nice and certainly worth having if you do interior work, but i've always just used the dull side of a butter knife if you dont have these.

So, basically a little pop pop and you're looking at this.

Raxiom will now tell you to use a socket wrench to remove these bolts, but i'll tell you now i really dont think thats an option...

Nothing a 7/16 or 11mm wrench cant fix though. Just make sure you're paying attention and dont drop the mirror ... that would be bad.

So once the mirror is removed from the car you move to really the only difficult part of the install: removing the glass. Raxiom's pictures are a blurry black and white and really dont give you much to go off of, so you're kind of just having to wing it. That, and i'm fairly certain the clips in the '13 5.0 were different than whatever they were using as an example... i could be completely wrong, but luckily the task is rather self explanatory so it can be figured out.